We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect position, fantastic hospitality, wonderful breakfast! Just great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Nous

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portstewart
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chez Nous
Save
You added Chez Nous to your Saves list
1 Victoria Tce, Portstewart BT55 7BA, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 15 Portstewart B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect position, fantastic hospitality, wonderful breakfast! Just great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We were made to feel at home and welcome the minute Mervyn opened the door. We couldn't recommend this B&B highly enough! We are 2 Australians who were travelling by car around Ireland, Mervyn was a wealth of knowledge and provided us with the most fantastic information on where to go, what to see and exactly how to get there. He was also able to answer all our questions about Ireland/history etc. Portstewart and the whole area of the Causeway Coast is an absolutely stunning part of the world. We would thoroughly recommend a visit!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

This was our stop for visiting the Giants Causeway and the D castle. We were told by local firends to stay in Port Stewart to avoid the crowds of Portrush. At this time of the year, I think avoiding crowds is almost impossible anywhere along the northern Ireland coast. That said, we had a very nice stay here for two nights. It's not the most modern place we stayed, but it certainly ranked right up there as one of the friendliest places we visited.

Yes we did have to walk up to the 3rd floor. The room was absolutely clean, but a little small. Still, we had hot showers, quiet sleeping and great breakfasts at a price that didn't hurt the budget at all. Chatting with the family gave us ideas of things to do during our stay, and their restaurant suggestions fit the bill nightly. The Ice House was great, but make a res upstairs if possible.

Ironically, one of the highlights of the stay was sitting out on their front patio and chatting with neighbors walking by both morning and evening. There was one couple that headed out for a morning swim everyday - in spite of water temps in the mid 50;s F. There was another nice couple who normally live in the States but own a house in the block and spend summers there. If I could escape Florida every summer, I could consier this option,

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at Chez Nous for two nights and can't recommend the it enough! Sharon gave us a warm welcome and made sure we had everything we needed, including some top tips for where to eat and drink locally. We met Mervyn in the morning when he cheerfully served us a massive and hearty Ulster fry up which was beautiful! They are very friendly and easy going hosts and nothing was too much of an ask. We hired bikes from a local bike hire company who couldn't collect the bikes from Chez Nous until the following morning and Mervyn was more than happy to safely store them for us overnight. The room and en suite were clean and comfortable and it's only a short walk to the front beach. All in all it's a winner of a B&B - five stars!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

Chez Nous B&B is an absolute gem of a B&B in the lovely little seaside town of Port Stewart in Northern Ireland. The B&B hosts, Mervyn and Sharon Nicholl, were so warm, friendly, and generous that we felt like long-time friends in no time. Mervyn takes great pride in offering any type of assistance that will make his guests stay in the Antrim coast area and in Northern Ireland, a special one. The B&B house is cozy, homey, and exudes such warmth, and our room was comfortable and clean. Port Stewart rests along the beautiful sealine, and has great seafood restaurants. The location of the Chez Nous B&B makes it a perfect base from which to explore Northern Ireland. We had so much fun exploring Derry and Belfast during the day, and we loved spending time in the Giant's Causeway, at Dunluce Castle and the Carrick-a-Rede Rope Bridge, and at many other spectacular Antrim coastal places. Mervyn had many more great sites in mind for us to visit within easy reach of Port Stewart, but sadly, we just ran short of time. We would enthusiastically recommend the Chez Nous B&B to anyone who would enjoy spending time in a very beautiful area with fabulous hosts. We hated to leave Mervyn, Sharon, their adorable daughter Anna, and their wonderful home. What a fabulous B&B this is!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chez Nous? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Nous

Address: 1 Victoria Tce, Portstewart BT55 7BA, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Portstewart
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Portstewart
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Chez Nous Portstewart, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Nous, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.