We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
House
House
House
Hallway
Kitchen
View from Living Area
Bedroom 2
Castlerock
|
Rental Home – 
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sandra m
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Home from Home but with fantastic views of the ocean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We travelled with our four teenage children and were absolutely delighted with the house. We found the house modern, clean and very well equipped. We spent many happy hours in the rocking chairs looking out over the ocean to Donegal. Our children spent many happy hours on the beach even in October/November. Location is fantastic, the beach is literally across the road. We will certainly return.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Home was clean and modern. Location superb
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
N_Ireland...
N.Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Fabulous house, breathtaking location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012 for a stay in December 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We have spent many New Years at the North coast and always rent high standard accommodation there, usually Bushmills/Portrush area. However, this year we wanted to bring our new dog with us and struggled to find the same standard which would accept pets. We were delighted when we came across this beautiful house in Downhill and our family who visited said it was the best we had stayed in! We thoroughly enjoyed our time there, the cottage was clean, warm, beautifully decorated and well situated for some great walks which our dog Sascha loved. Favourite was driving to Benone and walking along the amazing beach to Downhill and back, with views of cliffs, waterfalls, Mussenden temple, raging sea, snow on hills in Donegal....need I say more! The design of the cottage was perfect for coming back from walks with sandy wellington boots and sascha was able to sleep in the utility room downstairs. Weather this year was very wet and blustery but sitting reading and looking out at the ever changing views in front of the wood burning stove was wonderful!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Design and standard of cottage, providing best of views from cliffs to sea and further to Donegal
Liked least: Weather but expected in December, warm cottage great to come back to
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Lucy_Lath...
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“A home from home with spectacular views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011 for a stay in November 2011

We stayed for a long weekend to celebrate a family birthday. The property comfortably slept six adults and a baby. The main attraction of the property was the open plan kitchen, living and dining area which makes it a perfect place for a social occasion. The large windows makes the living area bright and airy and it also provides fantastic views of the ocean. The woodburner makes the house ideal for a winter getaway as cold evenings are made warm and cosy. Equally, it would be an amazing summer retreat as it as an outdoor seating/dining area and has miles of sandy beach just a few minutes away.

Everything you needed was already there such as a hairdryer, iron, dvd player, lots of cooking utensils & tableware, vacuum cleaner, extra bedding etc. There appeared to be nothing that hadn't been thought of, making the house feel like home. There was also a high chair, travel cot, stair gate and toys for a baby/toddler.

We struggled to find any drawbacks to this property and would definitely return. If you want tranquillity, amazing views and a little bit of luxury then it ticks all the boxes.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The views, location and spacious open plan kitchen & living area
Liked least: It doesn't have a bath which is only an issue if you don't like showers
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
Rates have not been provided for this property. Please contact the owner/manager for total price.
Make Inquiry
Owner
Paul and Teresa M
44 7703 559167
Speaks English
Listed since : Jun 2011
Response Rate: 20 %
Response Time: Within a few days
Calendar Updated: 10 days ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing