We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a welcoming hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Drummond Hotel

Drummond Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Drummond Hotel to your Saves list
Drummond Hotel
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   481 Clooney Road | Ballykelly, Limavady BT49 9HP, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Limavady B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bunbeg, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Such a welcoming hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

Myself & my parents stayed at this lovely hotel when our flight was cancelled out of Derry Airport on 18th Dec due to snow. We had stayed at a different hotel the night before, but when we went to book in again for an extra night, they put up the prices by nearly a third! A very helpful and friendly Roberta from the airport, sorted us out with rooms at the Drummond Hotel and from the moment we walked in the owners and staff could not be more helpful. There were big open coal fires in the lounge area's and the rooms were warm and cosy.

There was a Christmas Party on in the hotel in the evening and there was a lovely, festive atmosphere in the bar. We were not disturbed at all by the music as they staff had given us very quiet rooms.

Breakfast was the best I have tasted in a long time and plenty of choice.

I would definitely stay here again and recommend anyone who is flying from Derry airport to use this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    27
    15
    6
    5
See reviews for
29
33
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

This hotel is a very well run, clean & comfortable, with lovely staff. Best hotel breakfast I've had for a long time & a good meal also in the Bistro.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2010

Last year my wife and I stayed in the Drummond for four nights and we had a most enjoyable and relaxing time. The staff were very pleasant and extremely helpful. I have travelled extensively over the globe and stayed in numerous well known hotels and I would rate this one up there with them, I would recommend it to any one. In fact I will be staying there again this year.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

Went to Drummond Hotel over Easter 2010 Myself, Husband 2 Children aged 5 & 2 and my Husbands Mum & Dad, Staff are so welcoming and friendly. We ate at the restuarant, large portions and food was brilliant would recommend. Youngest daughter was ill and staff were so helpful, breakfast was very good plenty to choose from hot or cold. Would reccommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2009

spent 2 nights here, better than the reviews we've read, nice sized room, good breakfast and good food in the bar, friendly staff, relaxed atmosphere, well worth a visit

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2009

We went to visit family/friends and stayed in a Family Room. Only 10 mins drive from the local City of Derry Airport.

The room was clean, light and airey, good sized bathroom with seperate shower. 32" LCD Screen on the wall, tea/coffee making facilities. More than adequate for what we needed which was a base to visit family/friends.

Ate in the restaurant/bar on the two nights we were there and the food was good, served hot etc.......has a number of reception rooms down in the lobby area with plenty of seating if you want to take it easy with a book or something.

Helpful and friendly staff.

Second time we've stayed and would do so again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2009

Stayed here Aug 08. Hotel frontage fine, beyond that....... Thankfully now the memory has subsided. Room - poor, cold, noisy plumbing all night, and general noise levels throughout!,
service from reception - dry, humourless, unfriendly, in fact downrite rude! Decor - dated and dingy, Morning breakfast a disastrous collection of all thats nasty and greasy in an ulster fry, including leftover cocktail sausages from last nights wedding buffet! Finally coffee stewed to death in grimy cups which were cold in 5 minutes. Thankfully the worst parts of the night here have been blanked from my memory, so what you read here represent the lesser bad memorys. In conclusion, I sent a letter of complaint, which never recieved a reply. Now I thank trip advisor for this opportunity to express my feelings. I would relish contact from this hotel! Appalling!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Drummond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drummond Hotel

Address: 481 Clooney Road | Ballykelly, Limavady BT49 9HP, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Limavady
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Limavady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Drummond Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Drummond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drummond Hotel Limavady, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drummond Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.