We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forty years of delight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roe Valley Country Park

Roe Valley Country Park
Dogleap Road | Limavady-Dungiven Road, Limavady BT49 9NN, Northern Ireland
44-28-7772-2074
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 9 attractions in Limavady
Type: Parks
Attraction Details
Portstewart, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Forty years of delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I've lived not far away from this gorgeous spot for over forty years and it still has the ability to enchant. I never miss a chance to call in.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    20
    2
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Lovely place great food and lovely staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I was given a voucher to go here for my birthday so a friend and myself went here for a weekend. It was great. Central for going to a lot of places. Hotel is great food was very good . The staff were very helpful and nothing was a bother to them. I found it much improved from a previous visit

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

just a lovely place well worth a visit it seems to have the right attitude this place has a lot to offer

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

The Roe Valley Park is a very beautiful well kept secret! We walked from the Radisson hotel through to the visitors centre, a lovely relaxing walk with plenty of places to see the flowing river. We had a lovely lunch in the restaurant at the visitors centre served by very pleasant, friendly staff. We continued on down the river bank and the scenery just got better and better. We could have watched the fast flowing river for hours and also had an opportunity to get some lovely photos taken at special places. There were only a few visitors when we were there and it was lovely to take the time to appreciate nature and stop off at various points on the walk. We walked back on the other side of the river and it was just as beautiful. The park is well worth a visit and we spent over 4 hours there.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limavady, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Diamond in the Roe Valley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Just driving too, or walking to the Roe Valley Country Park, puts a traveller in the most beautiful scenery, this valley being a fertile one , between the hills and mountains of Co.Derry. At the Country Park there is an interesting Visitors Centre, an excellent Museum, showing how this area was once important in the Linen Industry, and anyone visiting these would go home having learned some History, Legend, and Natural History; and feeling good about the experience. There is also an quality place for a cup of tea, or something more if required, and all of this in an area of beauty and peace...But the real diamond in the Roe Valley is the walks along the fast flowing River Roe, in either direction from the Visitor Centre; allowing views of both rapids, and calmer areas of this Salmon River, flowing from the Sperrin Mountains beyond, then past Dungiven, down into the Town Of Limavady, skirting around its edge, to escape into Lough Foyle and the open sea beyond. Here is nature at work in the trees, and ecosystem along the valley, and there is much wildlife too. Look out along the river's faster, rocky, places for the little bird called the Dipper; a native here in the wild places, and worth watching for a while. In Spring there are many Bluebells, and Wild Garlic, and in every season a change. We have walked here often, and never tire of the sounds, the smells, and the sights. If you want your children to appreciate nature, then bring them here...If you love nature come yourself. As I say, this is the Diamond in the Roe Valley, reflecting the Beauty all around it.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roe Valley Country Park also viewed

Limavady, County Londonderry
Limavady, County Londonderry
 
Castlerock, County Londonderry
Limavady, County Londonderry
 

Been to Roe Valley Country Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roe Valley Country Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Roe Valley Country Park to your Saves list