We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roe park resort” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Roe Park Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Roe Park Resort to your Saves list
Roe Park Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   40 Drumrane Road, Limavady BT49 9LB, Northern Ireland (Formerly Radisson Blu Roe Park Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Limavady
Belfast
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Roe park resort”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel on 18th January, the approach was a bit confusing it was like entering in the back door, once we were inside it looked nice & we checked in, I had booked a superior room but looked just like the standard room I saw on their website, I rang reception & was told our room was a superior room & the room shown on their website was not a superior room,( I think you call that false advertisement & a waste of £14 extra) we then went & got a lite bite at the coach house which was fine & a pleasant drink over in the main bar, later we went for our dinner in Green's restaurant most of it was fine until my husband got the saddest looking steak dinner, it had the total of 4 semi chunky chips & a little pot of some kind of garlic butter to accompany his steak! Next morning we had to stand in a queue for about 20 minutes for breakfast, Overall the staff are pleasant & it was always a night away from the kids!

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roe_Park_Resort, Manager at Roe Park Resort, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Hi Lisa, Many thanks for your review. Greens Restaurant serves more modern and contemporary dishes and the Coach House Brasserie is more bistro in style. We appreciate your constructive criticism and hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    178
    75
    20
    11
See reviews for
164
316
8
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor Northern Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We arrived at the hotel for 3pm on Sunday 19th ...parking wasn't great really busy due to there being a bridal show on. After eventually getting parked we went to the main entrance,to be greeted by a lady who was showing people a different route to the reception(bridal show was on in the lobby at reception therefore couldn't use this route), which was fine however she did make sure to say to make sure to give the models plenty of room...as paying guests this made us feel a bit like 2nd class citizens,obviously we weren't going to get in there way. After checking in, we went to our room, read the guest book where it said to ring for your robes. Tried ringing this number 3 times without answer and then reception once, no answer.Eventually we got through on the 4th go and the lady said she was alone in the spa and she would send somebody up from reception with the robes for the spa. 20 minutes later still nothing, rang reception again who advise they would be right up, 15 minutes still nothing so had to ring again and ask how long it would be, I was reassured that they were on there way -no apology for the delay tho. Eventually we got them and went to the spa.We thought the spa was disappointing,felt more like the local leisure centre rather than a 4 star resort - changing rooms didn't feel/look the cleanest.To use the jacuzzi you had to get out and hit the switch was located on the wall, plastic decking chairs to sit on,compared to other spas of similar rating it just felt cheap and not as clean.Highlight was the food, dinner was lovely (the coach house) as was breakfast no problem getting a table. They overcharged us for dinner though and upon checking out, I queried what the extra was for...the receptionist responded by saying "if you would give me a minute I will find out" which she then admitted they had duplicated our drinks order...again no apology. Rooms were nice enough, although decor did feel a bit dated. To me it feels more like a 3 star resort & should maybe look closer at other spas/resorts to try and seek improvement. I think if your main reason for stay was for golf then you could accept the spa as an addition, however as this was our reason for the trip we felt disappointed and with the mistakes and attitude of the staff, I wouldn't recommend people to travel specific to stay here however if you live close by and get a good deal then fair enough.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roe_Park_Resort, Manager at Roe Park Resort, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Mark, Many thanks for your review. Our wedding fair is an annual event and lasts only from 1pm - 5pm on a Sunday in January which is one of our quieter days. I apologize if the wedding fair impacted on your check-in experience but the hotel returned to its original layout as soon as the event was over. Your comments regarding spa are actually referring to our Fairways Leisure changing rooms as our Spa facilities have recently been refurbished. We hope this does not deter you from future visits and we hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Down
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Received a voucher for the hotel as a gift. Booked a superior room and it had a lovely corner site. Great view over to the town and the golf course. The room was excellent with all you needed. Went for a drink in the bar and as this was were I feel the hotel lets it self down . Either they do not stock a lot of each wine or they open to many different bottles of the same grape but not the same producer. Twice I went to the bar for a glass of wine and twice they said "Oh no more of that brand left" . I suggest only 1 house wine of each grape in large bottles (to be bought by the glass). In my opinion it was poor service. Breakfast was excellent. We did think of booking in February but the reception staff was not that helpful. Plenty of hotels ...................................

Room Tip: Go for a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roe_Park_Resort, Manager at Roe Park Resort, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Gavin, thank you for your review. I am pleased you were more than happy with your room during your stay at the Roe Park. I apologise for any inconvenience caused in O'Cahan's bar regarding wine. You comments have been passed on to management to review. We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

My wife booked this hotel for my birthday and we both where looking forward to a nice break so we researched the hotel on line and via TripAdvisor. Firstly let me start with all the pros on the hotel, the location was perfect and the buildings, layout and style are just amazing, on a really warm day you would think you are in Florida. The staff where all very friendly and the décor, rooms etc are excellent, there was a wedding show on but it did not interfere with the class of the hotel. Our room was ready at 3pm, we arrived at 12 noon but had lunch in the coach house which was Ok. Overall the hotel has a lot to offer but on the flip side it does need some attention. The negs if you have time to read them ( you really should) No where on the web site or even at confirmation of booking was it mentioned that Greens restaurant was not available for an evening meal, we had already viewed the menus and liked Greens menu. However we did have breakfast in Greens on the day of our departure and found it to be very good and probably would have been nice for a couples dinner. My wife had asked 3 different members of staff in the reception area and coach house dining area to have a desert or cupcake with a candle as a surprise for my birthday, needless to say it never happened. The food was just average in the coach house, nothing special and what you would expect in any average pub. The Caesar salad had no taste other than that of ham & chicken but very dry and lacked that "Caesar" taste, all the other food we had was very bland. The most disturbing thing was the lack of organization with the staff in the restaurant, although very polite there was no leadership and they all seemed to be running around like lost sheep. Within a 4 table range of us we seen and heard 3 order mistakes at different tables, we even had to debate over our table which we booked at 1pm that day as we where going to be given a table that was not suitable. We sat for 1-2 hours over our meal and in that time all the tables around us which had been vacated for over a half hour still had all the used dishes and food still not cleared away, napkins on the floor and believe me there was plenty of staff around but no sense of urgency. We then decided to go the bar at the reception area for a night cap, again tables where not cleared or even wiped clean of stains etc. Overall the coach house was the low point of the stay, we couldn't say if we will be back again but you never know. A good strong leader in the coach house may help.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roe_Park_Resort, Manager at Roe Park Resort, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Guest, Many thanks for your review. I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay with us at the Roe Park Resort. It is disappointing that the Coach House Brasserie did not meet expectations, however we appreciate your constructive criticism and hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Stayed here for a weekend to recuperate. We had a really enjoyable and relaxing time. The meal in the restaurant was lovely as was the breakfast the following morning. The hotel was clean and tidy and staff were very helpful. Would definitely return.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roe_Park_Resort, Manager at Roe Park Resort, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Guest, Many thanks for your kind review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and everything was to your satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit. Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Stayed in Roe Park Resort from 13th - 15th January for a much needed and well-deserved break! From the moment we arrived, we felt very welcome. Far too often, the staff in hotels give the impression that check-in is the least favourite and most dreaded part of their day. At Roe Park, the reception staff were chatty, friendly and incredibly open to any queries or questions we had.

Our room on a high floor (as requested) overlooked the surrounded greens of the golf course, which was perfect for us. As we stayed in a standard guest room, we expected a generic and basic space. However, the room was very large and the bed was certainly bigger than a double! As is expected in friendly NI, tea and coffee facilities were provided, as well as some tasty biscuits. There was also an iron, soaps and shampoos and a selection of towels.

We stayed as part of a two-night special offer. This included breakfast on both days and a four-course meal on the night of our choosing in one of two on-site restaurants. Breakfast was a buffet. We found that this perfectly suited our needs and was a great start to the day. Cereals, fruit, breads and cooked breakfast were provided. Dinner, however, was the highlight. We chose to dine in the Coach House Brasserie and the food was fantastic. The hotel, as it is after Christmas, was very quiet and our food was served incredibly quickly. Presentation was A+ standard and the pints were very cheap compared to what we're used to in Belfast (£3.30 for Stella!).

We moved from dinner to O'Cahan's bar on both nights. It is a lovely spot. Unfortunately, as the hotel was very quiet, we were often the only two there! As a young couple, we would enjoy a bit more craic but we did choose mid-week and the weekends are apparently very lively. In the end, though, we really enjoyed the quiet space and the attention from the friendly bar staff. They were the nicest staff we encountered (the drinks were also great!).

We made use of the gym and the swimming pool areas. Both were of excellent standard. Be aware that swimming caps must be worn at all times in the pool, so I'd recommend bringing your own from home instead of buying one there!

The country park is a hop, skip and a jump from the hotel and is a beautiful spot for a stroll on a nice day.

Overall, we would definitely recommend the hotel. Happy relaxing!

Room Tip: Higher rooms facing golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roe_Park_Resort, Manager at Roe Park Resort, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Clare, Many thanks for your detailed review. I am delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your recent stay at the Roe Park Resort and we look forward to welcoming you again throughout 2014. Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

During our tour of N. Ireland last June we came up , via Internet, The Roe Park resort out in the easily accessible country side between Derry and Belfast. While primarily a golf resort, we found the price per night (70E ) to be of excellent value as it included a wonderful Irish breakfast . We did not partake of the golf but the price quoted was inexpensive for a round and had we had the time would surely have loved to sample this feature. The room was in excellent condition and of generous size and very clean. The emphasis is on gold in this resort and it has a terrific pro shop As we had arrived in the early evening we enquired about walking paths & were directed to an enchanting riverside pathway that went on for several Km's...where we encountered friendly locals having a swim and jumping off a bridge

The next day we were pleasantly surprised to discover that we were within an hour's drive of the Causeway and Rope bridge tourist attractions and had a wonderful drive along the coastal route under sunny skies . I found this hotel to be very well located for a 2-4 day stay given that you can drive back and forth to a number of tourist attractions ( about an hour each way or less ) as well as play golf and relax , as Ireland can be exhausting touring from hotel to hotel by car everyday.

Room Tip: worth staying a few days to recoup from road tripping...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roe_Park_Resort, Manager at Roe Park Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Timothy, Many thanks for your recent email. We are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay at the Roe Park Resort and in particular the close proximity to the local tourist attractions on the north coast. We look forward to your next visit. Kindest Regards, Roe Park Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Roe Park Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roe Park Resort

Address: 40 Drumrane Road, Limavady BT49 9LB, Northern Ireland (Formerly Radisson Blu Roe Park Resort)
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Limavady
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Limavady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Roe Park Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Roe Park Resort – one of Northern Ireland's premiere golf and spa resorts. Overlooking its own stunning 18 hole golf course and set amidst the gorgeous surroundings of the Roe Valley Country Park, this 4 star luxury hotel boasts 118 stylish en suite rooms that blend the charm of a country house estate with the modern luxuries and conveniences you'd expect from a 4-star luxury hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Roe Park Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roe Park Hotel Limavady
Radisson Hotel Limavady
Radisson Limavady
Radisson Sas Roe Park Hotel
Limavady Radisson
Radisson Roe Park
Roe Park Resort Limavady, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roe Park Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.