We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Functional and Clean” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Alexander Arms Hotel

Alexander Arms Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Limavady
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alexander Arms Hotel
Save Saved
You added Alexander Arms Hotel to your Saves list
34 Main Street, Limavady BT49 0EU, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 7 Limavady B&B and Inns
Munich, Bayern, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Functional and Clean”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Seems to be the only B&B in Limavady, so you take what you get. Rooms were functional but clean, although some of the room could use a little renovating. Shared bathroom and toilet for 4 rooms on each floor. Breakfast was basic, the breakfast room had an air of old hospital cantine, but the service was ok, although maybe some more sleep would have brightend the mood of our waitress.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
5
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We ate at the Alexander Arms (we didn't stay there). While the restaurant is fairly bland in appearance, the meal is good value and the quantity plentiful. It isn't fine dining, but it's honest and good value pub fare. The service was OK.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

food wasnt great..
...plus the hours wait didnt help.... then the order came out wrong..
(wasnt busy)
having to listen to staff "give off" about the place while we ate didnt help either i suppose..
maybe we just got them on a bad day. but dont think we will be back to check

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymoney, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I am doing a review only of a dining experience at this hotel..we called in for a bite to eat at 3pm in afternoon and were very impressed with the food served..it was of a high standard and fantastic value for money...4 of us went for chicken stacks with champ, pepper sauce and tobacco onions..it was delicious and at around £6 per dinner great value for money..i will definitely be back to dine here when back in Limavady

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

When i arrived I was told the room did not have a unsuite. That was OK. A very pleasant member of staff showed me to my room. She told me I could turn on an electric heater to heat the room. There was no light above bed - the bulb was missing. Dangerous if there was a child. Before going to bed the lights blew. I reported this to the member of staff. She was very nice and after going to contact her boss told me the lights would probably not be fixed until the morning. However, they did come on later.The bed was clean but slightly damp. In the morning I decided to have a shower. There was just a shower head but there was no where to turn it on. It was just there for view. The 2 litre milk carton was left out for breakfast and the carton of orange juice. I was asked if I wanted tea or coffee. I asked for tea. No toast or anything of that nature appeared or was I asked if I wanted toast. The member of staff at this time was not on the ball.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Limavady hotels

Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 5 nights and had a very pleasant stay. The hotel staff went out of their way to make it as good as it could be and the Ulster Fry for breakfast is truly huge. Our room was on the first floor and quite basic. The room didn't have an en suite however there is a bathroom and toilet Just across the hall. There is a basin, kettle, hairdryer and TV in the room and also an electric radiator which heated the room quickly. If you want something luxurious don't stay in this hotel however if you're looking for something central and good value then I would recommend the Alexander Arms.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2007

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights over a weekend - a few points:

-Hotel is right in the centre of town, perfect location.

-Hotel was cheap standard rate is £45 per room per night.

-Small hotel (only 6 rooms) staff are nice and friendly

-Cheap drinks in the bar and food in the restaurant was fantastic breakfast / lunch / dinner available.

-Rooms are not en-suite so be prepared for this, however the bathroom had a bath and over bath shower and the friendly cleaner lady comes round every day so it was nice and clean.

-Rooms are a decent size, double bed, sink, kettle and a t.v.

-Overall very good value for money!

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alexander Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Arms Hotel

Address: 34 Main Street, Limavady BT49 0EU, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Limavady
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Limavady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Alexander Arms Hotel Limavady, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexander Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.