We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alexander Arms Hotel

Alexander Arms Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Limavady
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alexander Arms Hotel
Save
You added Alexander Arms Hotel to your Saves list
34 Main Street, Limavady BT49 0EU, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 Limavady B&B and Inns
Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Good value meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We ate at the Alexander Arms (we didn't stay there). While the restaurant is fairly bland in appearance, the meal is good value and the quantity plentiful. It isn't fine dining, but it's honest and good value pub fare. The service was OK.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    8
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
9
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

food wasnt great..
...plus the hours wait didnt help.... then the order came out wrong..
(wasnt busy)
having to listen to staff "give off" about the place while we ate didnt help either i suppose..
maybe we just got them on a bad day. but dont think we will be back to check

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymoney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I am doing a review only of a dining experience at this hotel..we called in for a bite to eat at 3pm in afternoon and were very impressed with the food served..it was of a high standard and fantastic value for money...4 of us went for chicken stacks with champ, pepper sauce and tobacco onions..it was delicious and at around £6 per dinner great value for money..i will definitely be back to dine here when back in Limavady

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

When i arrived I was told the room did not have a unsuite. That was OK. A very pleasant member of staff showed me to my room. She told me I could turn on an electric heater to heat the room. There was no light above bed - the bulb was missing. Dangerous if there was a child. Before going to bed the lights blew. I reported this to the member of staff. She was very nice and after going to contact her boss told me the lights would probably not be fixed until the morning. However, they did come on later.The bed was clean but slightly damp. In the morning I decided to have a shower. There was just a shower head but there was no where to turn it on. It was just there for view. The 2 litre milk carton was left out for breakfast and the carton of orange juice. I was asked if I wanted tea or coffee. I asked for tea. No toast or anything of that nature appeared or was I asked if I wanted toast. The member of staff at this time was not on the ball.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
100 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 5 nights and had a very pleasant stay. The hotel staff went out of their way to make it as good as it could be and the Ulster Fry for breakfast is truly huge. Our room was on the first floor and quite basic. The room didn't have an en suite however there is a bathroom and toilet Just across the hall. There is a basin, kettle, hairdryer and TV in the room and also an electric radiator which heated the room quickly. If you want something luxurious don't stay in this hotel however if you're looking for something central and good value then I would recommend the Alexander Arms.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2007

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights over a weekend - a few points:

-Hotel is right in the centre of town, perfect location.

-Hotel was cheap standard rate is £45 per room per night.

-Small hotel (only 6 rooms) staff are nice and friendly

-Cheap drinks in the bar and food in the restaurant was fantastic breakfast / lunch / dinner available.

-Rooms are not en-suite so be prepared for this, however the bathroom had a bath and over bath shower and the friendly cleaner lady comes round every day so it was nice and clean.

-Rooms are a decent size, double bed, sink, kettle and a t.v.

-Overall very good value for money!

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2006

Very good location in centre of town. Staff very friendly. Food was adequate. Overall a good basic clean hotel. Rates where very reasonable.
Would have liked a non smoking part in the restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Limavady
10.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel
13.3 mi away
Premier Inn Derry / Londonderry
13.3 mi away
The Belfray Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Beech Hill Country House Hotel
13.3 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#9 of 11 in Derry
4.0 of 5 stars 359 reviews
2.4 mi away
Drummond Hotel
Drummond Hotel
#4 of 7 in Limavady
4.0 of 5 stars 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Arms Hotel

Address: 34 Main Street, Limavady BT49 0EU, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Limavady
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Limavady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Alexander Arms Hotel Limavady, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexander Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.