We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect b and b” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ballycarton House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Limavady
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ballycarton House
239 Seacoast Road, Limavady BT49 OHZ , Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Limavady B&B and Inns
West Midlands England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A perfect b and b”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We arrived at Ballycarton Guest House to a warm greeting from Patricia, Henry and their 2 grandchildren. She immediately served us coffee,tea and biscuits to enjoy in their lovely garden. The rooms were spotless and the house is beautiful. We had taken a vintage car over on a trailer for a wedding and this was accommodated perfectly,even as to finding a space for it under cover.The breakfasts were delicious and beautifully presented. Patricia went out of her way to be helpful in every way, without being intrusive. She even phoned and met us when she realised that we had left a laptop behind. All in all it was a fantastic stay and we shall definitely recommend Ballycarton to friends and family. We will also will revisit next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
triciaIreland, Owner at Ballycarton House, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Hi both, thank you for your lovely review.
I am so glad you got the old girl home safely ( you know who I mean!) I was worried you were going to miss the ferry after all the backtracking to get the iPad, would love to see you back here again sometime, maybe for a christening?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
14
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

I have so much good to say about this place, Patricia was very friendly and helpful, room was nice, clean and comfortable. Wifi was first class great speeds and reliable. The gardens were lovely and breakfast was excellent for variety and choice. There was one negative point in that the shower in our room was useless, very poor pressure and impossible to regulate temperature, I stay away a lot and a poor shower is a deal breaker for me. I'm the first reviewer not to give them an excellent rating, but I assure you the shower is the only reason, and I'd give them another chance I might just have got the bad room.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
triciaIreland, Owner at Ballycarton House, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for your review.
I am saddened that your recent stay did not completely satisfy you, I'm also a little mystified by your comments about the shower in your room as the room didn't have a shower but had a bath instead!
We have 5 en suite rooms here, 4 of the rooms have dedicated shower cabinets with power showers and 1 room has a bath with mixer taps and shower hose attached for shampooing hair, we keep this room with the bath simply because some guests prefer this arrangement. Having the twin room with the bath is not "a bad room" it is in fact one of the nicest rooms here,( photos on Trip Advisor).
When you were shown into the room you did not express any preference for a room with a shower nor did you mention any problem during your stay or on departure.
Customer relations are important to me in my business and I would really have appreciated it if you had chosen to discuss this "deal breaker" problem with me face to face rather than airing it in this fashion, but I guess that's life!
Could I point out that your original booking was for 3 persons -1 double en suite room ( with power shower) and 1 single occupancy of a twin room ( bath), at the last minute you downsized your booking to 2 persons, cancelling the double room (with power shower) and choosing instead to share the twin room, although this cancellation was last minute at the height of the season I did not charge for the cancelled room although legally entitled to, preferring instead to treat you in a fair manner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebron, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed at Ballycarton House last week. Absolutely everything...without exception was terrific. The house is spotless, beautifully decorated, and very comfortable. Our breakfast was delicious.
Patricia is a super hostess. We highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
triciaIreland, Owner at Ballycarton House, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Hi "snowmen", thank you for your lovely review,
One of the perks of this job is getting to meet some great people. Hope you had a good journey home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretton
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed for three nights with Patricia at the end of June while visiting relatives nearby. The house is set in the country between Limavady and Benone beach and is very tranquil. We were really made to feel at home by Patricia, the room was good and the breakfasts excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this lovely B&B.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
triciaIreland, Owner at Ballycarton House, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Really appreciate you taking the time to write such a nice review, thanks so much, you are most welcome back anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I needed to stop driving and sent my wife to check it out. Just perfect a warm welcome, very nice and clean room all there and just the way to enjoy all of it. Quiet and comfortable great facilities
just the place to stay on and on. Great breakfast and very nice hosts. Almost too nice for us but still very affordable so we will be back one day! Patricia was a bit surprised that we were just game enough to eventually head into the republic but she gave us good advice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
triciaIreland, Owner at Ballycarton House, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Hi guys, thanks for the great review, good to hear you enjoyed your trip to Ireland and my advice was useful, it's beautiful here North and South (& east and west)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

A stunning setting, more than matched by the hospitality and facilities. Our party of 4 (2 double rooms) have stayed in the best B&B we have ever encountered...no equal. Patricia provided the perfect stay and the Ulster fry was a real treat for 2 "Exiles"! The rooms are very well appointed and spotlessly clean and the lounge ambience is equivalent to a lottery win. The honesty bar with beverages and drinks is a terrific touch.Thanks a million for a perfect stay and the best recommendation we can offer is that we will be back!

Room Tip: There cannot be any other than GOOD rooms at Ballycarton House.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
triciaIreland, Owner at Ballycarton House, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Hi all, thank you for your lovely review. I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Haven't won the lottery yet, but if I do you will definitely know cause there will be a great big heated swimming pool in the back garden!
Come back again soon and hopefully bring some swimming togs!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

From the moment we arrived until we checked out, we had first class treatment!
mrs craig is a very special host, in the fact that she will go more than the extra mile!
We enjoyed superb comfort, followed by a breakfast fit for a queen.
In the late evening sunshine we relaxed in the glorious gardens just chilling out and revelling in the stunning scenery!
Thank you Patricia for a wonderful weekend we will be seeing you again very soon!

Room Tip: as this is such a secluded location all rooms are quiet with wonderful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
triciaIreland, Owner at Ballycarton House, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you for your very kind review, hope to see you back here very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ballycarton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballycarton House

Address: 239 Seacoast Road, Limavady BT49 OHZ , Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Limavady
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Limavady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendliness, comfort and good food are assured at Ballycarton House, with 5 en suite bedrooms, a beautiful lounge (log fires in the winter), complimentary wifi access throughout, large gardens and ample car parking we have everything the discerning traveler could need. Whether you visit is for business, sightseeing or just chilling out, we will aim to make your stay a pleasant and relaxing one.Situated in an area of outstanding natural beauty, the house is perfectly positioned to explore the stunning North Coast and its many attractions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ballycarton House Limavady, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ballycarton House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ballycarton House to your Saves list