We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never fails to live up to expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bugle Inn

The Bugle Inn
Park Lane | Winchester, Twyford, Winchester SO21 1QT, England
+44 1962 714888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Twyford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Bugle Inn is an 18th Century coaching inn located 2 miles from the Historic city of Winchester. Soon to be taken back to its original inn status with B&B rooms opening in January 2014. The Bugle inn is famous for it's locally sourced organic produce, daily changing menu & very locally brewed real ales. The Bugle inn is a training ground for young chefs to develop the skills required for British/French cuisine.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Never fails to live up to expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

I have frequently eaten here over the past few years and food quality and service are consistently excellent. The menu is focused on local, seasonal ingredients including the best mussels I have ever eaten. The only downside is that it's so good, you can rarely get a table without booking!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    432
    129
    26
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“lunch at the Bugle Twyford Hants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Had lunch with friends which was very good, staff were very helpful and there is a good choice of local ales. The menu selection was good of which you can have half portions at half the menu price(portions were good). I did not have a starter but the dessert was good and presentation of this was second to none, would go again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

caution: to get us to the address stated on the website, our satnav oddly guided us down a series of narrow, potholed lanes which nearly broke our axle. This pub is near the corner of Twyford High Street and Park Lane so try to make sure you approach via the main road – the B3335 – rather than “Park Lane”.

If we came again we would use the nearby Phoenix Inn’s address: High St, Twyford, Winchester SO21 1RF

Once we got over all the jolting and bumping down those lanes, the food was superb. The Duo of Battered Fish (haddock and cod) was crispy and generous and the posh chips were superb. The Crab, Avocado and Prawn salad available as starter or main was generous either way and so fresh! Portions were so large we couldn’t manage a dessert.

Service from several pretty young ladies was friendly and very helpful.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good pub and great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We have eaten here a few times now and have never had a poor meal.The service is very good and the menu is better than your standard pub fare.well done to all the front of house and to the chefs,(there must be more than one to cook great food in a short time).

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Excellent meal, friendly staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We went for a meal last night and it was fantastic! I has been wanting to go for ages because of all the good reviews and we were not disappointed. The staff were very welcoming and the food was excellent. All locally sourced produce and the steak was amazing! All 4 of us agreed we would not hesitate to go back. An excellent venue for a nice meal.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bugle Inn also viewed

Winchester, Hampshire
Winchester, Hampshire
 
Winchester, Hampshire
Winchester, Hampshire
 

Been to The Bugle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bugle Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.