We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pub and great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bugle Inn

The Bugle Inn
Park Lane | Winchester, Twyford, Winchester SO21 1QT, England
+44 1962 714888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Twyford
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: The Bugle Inn is an 18th Century coaching inn located 2 miles from the Historic city of Winchester. Soon to be taken back to its original inn status with B&B rooms opening in January 2014. The Bugle inn is famous for it's locally sourced organic produce, daily changing menu & very locally brewed real ales. The Bugle inn is a training ground for young chefs to develop the skills required for British/French cuisine.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good pub and great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We have eaten here a few times now and have never had a poor meal.The service is very good and the menu is better than your standard pub fare.well done to all the front of house and to the chefs,(there must be more than one to cook great food in a short time).

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    391
    104
    20
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent meal, friendly staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We went for a meal last night and it was fantastic! I has been wanting to go for ages because of all the good reviews and we were not disappointed. The staff were very welcoming and the food was excellent. All locally sourced produce and the steak was amazing! All 4 of us agreed we would not hesitate to go back. An excellent venue for a nice meal.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A jewel of Hampshire”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Just had one of the besteals ever at the bugle. First time for Hamphire mozzarella and it was delicious and fresh. Char grill chicken was so juicy with a great sweet salad. Crumble was like my mums, so top marks here. Wish it was closer.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A special family meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

I went to the bugle inn on Saturday 2nd August for a family celebration meal. We stayed in Winchester overnight and got a taxi to the venue.
Our slight annoyance of having to get a cab was quickly overlooked as we had the best family dinner/evening we have ever had. Staff were so friendly, even when they were extremely busy. The food was just "wow", not just for me but for all the table. My brother in law uses the bugle a lot now he and my sister live in Winchester. I recommend the pork belly & pigs cheeks, the trio of chocolate and the local bitter called IPA. Top night, looking forward to going back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Too much food and lacked flavour”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We went for a Birthday meal with some friends. The staff were attentive and polite. Worrying when you arrive for a meal to read a board outside wanting Staff! The presentation of the food was good but it was very ordinary and didn't excite the taste buds. Won't be going back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bugle Inn also viewed

Winchester, Hampshire
Winchester, Hampshire
 
Winchester, Hampshire
Winchester, Hampshire
 

Been to The Bugle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bugle Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.