We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Sunday lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Huff Cap - CLOSED

The Huff Cap
Spernall Lane | Great Alne, Alcester B49 6HY, England
+44 1789 488800
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: THE HUFF CAP IS CLOSED. THANK YOU TO ALL OUR FORMER CUSTOMERS FOR THEIR SUPPORT AND CUSTOM.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Lovely Sunday lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Have just enjoyed an excellent Sunday lunch at the Huff Cap, service was friendly and efficient, the surroundings pleasant and the food very good. My only (minor) criticism is that the chef was over liberal with the salt than is to my taste, but I do appreciate that others may prefer it that way.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    29
    13
    18
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“What a nice surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We attended a family party here and having not been here for several years we were very pleasantly surprised. The staff were both friendly and helpful and what's more very patient with the small children who were rushing about.
The buffet, Italian themed was really good, plenty to eat and all of it tasty.
We plan to rebook on our own very soon as we thoroughly enjoyed it.
I can not comment on prices as we were guests.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Huff Cap”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

The sticky floors have gone, the skittles have gone, but so too has the cheap bar snack menu! What we have here is a gastro pub. I had liver, which was good but much too much liver, veg were good, my friend had mushroom gnocchi, this had hard bits in, not good! We had a main each, a soft drink and a coffee, the bill was about £40! The service was good, the atmosphere was relaxed, but I thought they could have made a goodwill gesture re gnocchi ( which we did mention!! ) Have been before and the fish and chips looked good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

We ate here for lunch with family and our party of 8 had wonderful service and superb food. We shared 3 of the sharing platters which could not be faulted and were thoroughly enjoyed. Main courses were beautifully cooked and service was friendly and attentive. Pity I do not live closer because I could become a regular

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warks
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great meal - very well prepared”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We arrived with reservations as to how our lunch would turn out and it was great to be surprised.

The pub itself seemed to lack atmosphere and the outside seating area was untidy and not the cleanest.

However, the staff were friendly, attentive and we guess were doing their best.

The meal was excellent and despite the pressures on the chefs who were visible to the diners, they managed a smile as we entered. I ordered Hake and both taste and presentation were excellent. The portion was also exceptionally large. It was so good we returned the following week
with similar results. Not badly proved either. Well done chefs and team.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Huff Cap also viewed

Alcester, Warwickshire
Alcester, Warwickshire
 
Alcester, Warwickshire
Alcester, Warwickshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Huff Cap, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.