We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Potentially a well organised themed 'Cheese & Chutney' event, just shame about the weather....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coughton Court

Coughton Court
Coughton, Alcester B49 5JA, England
+44 1789 400777
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 14 things to do in Alcester
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Coughton Court has been home to the Throckmorton family for 600 years, this finest of Tudor houses stands testament to a family's courage in maintaining their beliefs. From a position of high favour to one of fear and oppression post-Reformation, the Throckmortons were leaders in a dangerous age, helping to bring about Catholic emancipation in the 19th century. Explore this story of fascinating personalities through the 'family album' of portraits and Catholic treasures around the house. Coughton is still very much a family home with an intimate feel: the Throckmorton family live here, managing the stunning gardens which they have created.
Warwickshire, U.K.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Potentially a well organised themed 'Cheese & Chutney' event, just shame about the weather....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Well organised day out, sampling and possibly buying some Cheese & Chutney. In addition, free cooking instruction courtesy of Stratford College, Morris Men on the lawn, Brass Band courtesy of the Bretforton Silver Band, Warwick Boys School Band and the Warwick Brass Quintet. Free Wine Tasting, Real Ales and Ciders and finally what we all strive to see, Ferret Racing! What more could a man want?

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    37
    12
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“One of the best National Trust properties in the Midlands”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Fantastic visit to Coughton Court, beautiful house and gardens. The National Trust shop was one of the better ones I have been to with lots of gifts for the home, and the restaurant served a wide range of meals (hot & cold) at a reasonable price. (I'm guessing this has fairly recently been refurbished?!).

We will definitely return!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A good family day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We gave our two grandchildren a choice on a national Trust Property to go and they chose Coughton Court. On arriving we chose a noon timed visit giving us about forty minutes for a drink.
The house tour was excellent with chairs to sit on in each room. The children aged nine and eleven found mush of interest and also there was a find the keys project which kept them looking around. The guides in each room were well informed and cheerful engaging with the visitors. The only downside as with all NT places was the high cost of food but there are picnic areas for those with their own food. In total we spent about four hours at the attraction with no sign of boredom.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Pleasent place to spend an afternoon...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I had a lovely time here. A superb Tudor house steeped in history. A walled garden/veg. garden/bog garden, orchard, riverside walks, water features, loads to see. There is food available, however a picnic is a good idea, as there are many places to sit and soak up the beautiful views. I stayed for about 4hrs. and will return in Autumn...Well reccomended children will love it, lots of goats wandering about... nearby is Alcester also worth stopping at... Buses drop you off at the entrance, there is a good service from Stratford- upon- Avon

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Tremendous Tudor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We decided to visit Coughton Court this weekend as its a National Trust property and isn't too far from home. It really is an excellent Tudor House, absolutely beautiful inside and out. You don't have to be a NT member to enjoy the house as entrance is quite reasonably priced. There is lots to see inside the house, an awful lot of history to take in and make sure you look out for the 'Uglies', ask one of the guides ( who are very helpful) a bit more about them. We were very lucky with the weather and really enjoyed looking around the gardens, particularly the walled garden. We then enjoyed a picnic in the houses picnic area before heading home, all in all a great day.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coughton Court also viewed

Alcester, Warwickshire
Alcester, Warwickshire
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Alcester, Warwickshire
 

Been to Coughton Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coughton Court, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.