We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff and great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bear Hotel

The Bear Hotel
High Street, Alcester B49 5AB , England
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 32 Restaurants in Alcester
Cuisines: English
Restaurant details
Warrington
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Friendly, helpful staff. Good range of food on offer. Beer garden on the edge of the Avon was a beautiful setting. Beer etc. good choice. Would visit again!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    5
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“So, so.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Friendly enough service, and quite a nice lay out. My complaint was that the main meal was so hot [micro-wave] that I had to leave it 5 minutes before it was safe to eat!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not a good experience....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We popped in here for a quick bite to eat at lunch. I ordered a ploughmans, my partner ordered a salad. We also ordered 2 drinks, the price came to over £18.
They didn't accept credit/debit cards, this seems a very outdated mode of thinking in this day and age as most businesses accept credit/debit cards.
When the food arrived it was a pretty small offering for the price we paid.
They need to accept credit/debit cards and make their food portions bigger.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Excellent family friendly pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

We went for a family gathering, the food was excellent and the service couldn't have been better.
If you want bar food there is plenty to choose from and reasonably priced too.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“excellent value for money, first class service ,friendly atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

traditional pub, with friendly staff. pub is exceptionally clean. food is delicious both in taste and presentation. recommended. value for money. definately worth a visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bear Hotel also viewed

Alcester, Warwickshire
Alcester, Warwickshire
 
Alcester, Warwickshire
Alcester, Warwickshire
 

Been to The Bear Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bear Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.