We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food in pleasant surroundings” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Seagoe Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Portadown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seagoe Hotel
Save
You added Seagoe Hotel to your Saves list
22 Upper Church Lane, Portadown GT63 5JE, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Portadown
Belfast
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good Food in pleasant surroundings”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2010

As a family we visit the Seagoe every couple of months or so for dinner, as it is close (and there are few other restaurants in the immediate area). It has been refurbed since our last visit and the lounge, bar and restaurant now look great - it has been requiring this much needed re-vamp for a while.
The chef always cooks a great steak - cooked perfectly. However the staff let it down - who gets a glass of port served to them in a tumber over ice!?! Or then offered a champagne glass as an alternative?!
This aside, the food is of good quality and reasonably priced, and as it has now the addition of pleasant surroundings we will go back.

Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    44
    30
    20
    16
See reviews for
23
33
9
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2009

Having looked at reviews before arrival we were concerned that the reception might be spoiled by the hotel. It could not have been further than the case.
As the mother of the bride I was nervous that our guests would have good experiences of the special day, and indeed they did.
All of the party really enjoyed the day and were very complimentary about the hotel, staff and the whole atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecoli123
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2009

From reading the reviews we were a bit worried about staying at the seagoe, but as it was a wedding we were going to at the hotel, there wasn't much of an option.

The hotel was absolutely fine, couple of tatty edges on some of the carpets but thats hardly the end of the world. The rest of the communal places were modern(ish) and clean, I saw no sign of the damaged furniture and stains that others seemed to complain about.

Rooms were very spacious and pretty clean, staff were fine and pleasant, we only had the breakfast but the food was fine. Facilities were fine, they happily delivered an ironing board to our room when requested.

The wedding itself was very good, nice bar, nice function room, good bar staff etc..

It's not the best hotel in the world but if you read the reviews posted on here you would think you were walking into Fawlty Towers and that's far from the truth. And it's not exactly in the centre of a bustling town so what would you honestly expect?

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
co antrim
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2009

I am just back from a Seminar I arranged at the Seagoe Hotel...what a mistake i made...looks lovely on the outside (from a distance) but what a disaster once inside the doors. The room i hired was filthy, stains all over the carpet; chairs were stained that everyone thought twice before sitting on them, the carpet was ripped and cause one person to trip. On to the seminar. The projector we ordered was NOT available and out to someone else; forgot!!!! to provide the PA system..alas too late so had to cancel. We had a problem with the laptop and it locked on us so i approached the NOT so friendly receptionist who really didn't care less and said 'she would see ' returned 15 min later and she informed me she would if she could get a laptop; charge me 50 pounds!! Only needed it for 1/2 hour until the replacement arrived. HAD TO GO to reception to ask them could we please have the tea/coffee ordered for the delegates arrival. It didn't get any better. LUNCH = chicken curry or turkey & ham - No red meat!!! had to get vegetarian and then the ran out of one of the choices of sweet dispite us paying for more delegates than arrived. I had to go down again to the friendly reception and ask them to get the dirty cups and plates lifted from the room from the 10.00 oclock break -ALSO to bring some chilled jugs of fresh water (still the water which arrived at 9.00 if not before!!) IT WAS 2.30 . Staff they arrived in the middle of the seminar and therefore couldn't clear the mess, yet i had asked for it to be done at the 3 o'clock break!! All in all, the hotel is shabby, carpets on the stairs frayed and the windows look as if they have rotted. I WOUlD NOT RECOMMEND and the next time i will visit a hotel before i ran a seminar. Oh, i forgot, we had to pay for the wi-fi - 4 pounds for an hour!!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2009

Arrived back from holiday on 4 .9.09. With little food in the house we decided to go to the Seagoe Hotel for a bar snack to stave off the hunger. We would have been better going for a take-away. The outside of the hotel belies a very shoddy interior. Broken glass in the door to the bar - absolutely shocking filthy seating with the outer layer in shreds. 'Joined' carpet coming away at the joins with fraying edges - also threadbare at stair treds and badly stained. Dust siting on the window sills and cobwebs on the wall lights. Some recessing spot lights hanging from the ceiling and overall a dank smell in the air. Unbelievable! Staff seemed to be the 'part time after school' variety and nobody seemed to be in overall charge. The food was standard, plain and tasted bland. The lukewarm expresso lacked any kick at all and it came with a tea spoon.
Believe it or not the owners had a comments card on each table. All they really have to do is walk into the place and its obvious it needs serious refurbishment - trained staff and tasty food. In its present condition its an obvious candidate for the hotel inspector and Ramsey's Kitchen Nightmares.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

Went for tea one evening - service was def not 'service with a smile'. Staff need to learn how to speak to people, had to ask for a menu. Seats and tables dirty, food not great. If you're staying in this area, spend 15mins in car and travel to Banbridge to Belmont Hotel. Food, service and facilities first class

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

I had what was really a fabulous large room complete with a large seating area. The only problem really was that the settee completely collapsed when I sat on it. Fortunately for me (no longer a spring chicken) I was not alone in the room at the time otherwise I might have spent a very uncomfortable night stuck there! Another llittle problem with the room is that there was no power point beside the hospitality tray!!! Another problem was that one was unable to watch TV from bed bcause it was fitted in to a unit in the seating area! I was attending a wedding and I have to say that it was very well done including an excellent meal. The hotel itself is really very nice indeed but I for one will not return until the very worn unsafe carpets are repaired/replaced. There is a beautiful marble stairway complete with very badly worn and dangerous carpet.. I wrote to them regarding my concerns and two months later have still not had a reply which doesn't exactly show the management in good light! When the carpets have been replace/relaid throughout, I would return and would have no hesitation in recommentding the hotel!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seagoe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seagoe Hotel

Address: 22 Upper Church Lane, Portadown GT63 5JE, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Armagh > Portadown
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Portadown
Number of rooms: 34
Also Known As:
Seagoe Hotel Portadown, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seagoe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.