We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PRETTY NICE.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Star of India

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Star of India
19 Mandeville Street | bt62 3pb, Portadown BT62 3PB, Northern Ireland
028 3833 2999
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 26 restaurants in Portadown
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Newry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“PRETTY NICE.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Been here a few times and staff are good. Food also good but too mild.
Specials on from time to time. Its definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    25
    12
    5
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portadown, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good Indian Menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I eat alot in the Indian Restaurants in Portadown and the Star is a regular choice. It has a comprehensive menu and the staff are very friendly. It's not always perfect as other contributors have eluded to, but I have witnessed occasions where things have gone wrong and the staff always do their best to put things right.
I think their meat dishes are superior in "meat quality" than others in the town and thats what often brings me back.
Friendly service - good food sums it up!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Family friendly lovely restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We go to this place every now and then and every time we find it very pleasant. The staff is very friendly and approachable. We always take our 2 year old with us and she loves it. I'm very surprised by other reviews. The food there comes just in time, not too quick not too slow. Just in time to enjoy a dine out. The food is also different than standard indian. We do enjoy our little trips there.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“DON'T GO”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The service in this restaurant is awful, it took 25 minutes to actually take order. I tried on several occasions to indicate to staff I wanted to order, but they continually avoid eye contact and we were only customers in restaurant so they were not busy. Lady member of staff was more interested in her packet of crisps, cup of tea and reading a trashy magazine. They did not clear plates in between meals, when they brought next course they had to clear then, it was just dreadful service. Also they charge £10 for children chicken nuggets and chips, the chicken could not really be described as chicken and could not be eaten. To be fair though the actual indian was nice, I would recommend ordering take away and collecting, though I noticed even when telephone ordered customers still had to wait at least 10 minutes. My advice do not sit in.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portadown, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I'm not a lover of Indian food but was impressed with the food I had in star of India. Staff very pleasant and happy to help. In my opinion its slightly over priced but I guess it's not somewhere you go every night.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Star of India also viewed

Portadown, County Armagh
Craigavon, County Armagh
 
Portadown, County Armagh
Portadown, County Armagh
 

Been to Star of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Star of India, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.