We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Indian for miles around!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Star of India

Star of India
19 Mandeville Street | bt62 3pb, Portadown BT62 3PB, Northern Ireland
028 3833 2999
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 29 Restaurants in Portadown
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best Indian for miles around!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I am a regular customer of Star of India, I am yet to find any fault with it! The food is divine, the prawn puri is simply delicious! The service is faultless, I always am welcomed very warmly, nothing is too much trouble for the staff! If you love Indian food look no further!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    15
    6
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“quite the star!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Tasty, efficient, well-decorated with an abundance of choice from a detailed and comprehensive menu, the "Star" is indeed well worth revisiting. My king prawn kasmiri with pilau rice & garlic naan was do die for & will definitely return here

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, Northern Ireland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Average.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Unfortunately this restaurant just scores an average to slightly above average on food / ambiance / service.
It's good enough but not it's just not really a 'destination' restaurant.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigstock, Northants
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We could not get in at Zio's and had parked in fornt of the Star so gave it a try. It was OK, nothing to shout about, and the food was average.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Indian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Lovely food anytime we go owner greets us like friends and makes sure we are looked after,
Great place to bring the family,

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Star of India also viewed

Portadown, County Armagh
Craigavon, County Armagh
 
Portadown, County Armagh
Portadown, County Armagh
 

Been to Star of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Star of India, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.