We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time, but not our last.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yiamas Greek Taverna

Yiamas Greek Taverna
300 Borough Road, Birkenhead CH41 2UW, England
+44 151 653 4002
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 228 Restaurants in Birkenhead
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Yiamas Greek Taverna welcomes you to the home of truly authentic Greek cuisine in the heart of Birkenhead in True Taverna style.Our Taste of the med on the Wirral.Warm and friendly setting with exceptional service always. Fun Greek Nights with greek belly dancing.
Merseyside
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“First time, but not our last.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Our first visit. We were a party of six out to celebrate a birthday. Busy when we arrived so finding a space in the car park was a problem and we had to park in the side road. (If its full it is very difficult to reverse out again.)
Made to feel very welcome and were really well looked after throughout our meal. Food was excellent and nobody had any complaints about the food or the service. We will definitely be returning again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    17
    1
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

This was our second visit this time a treat for my birthday and again we weren't disappointed.Friendly welcome on arrival, service excellent and food and wine superb extremely tasty.Very authentic hard to believe once inside your still in Birkenhead.This place is easily becoming my favourite place will definitely be returning again and again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

This was my first visit, amazing food and excellent service.

The menu is extensive with lots of choice, also reasonably priced.

The restaurant has a relaxed, friendly atmosphere. The staff are very attentive and cant do enough to help.

I will be returning soon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing! Fantastic! 10/10 Service & Food & Ambiance :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My husband and I went long to this fabulous restaurant to meet our friend and we have to say we had the most amazing night ever! It was a Monday and the restaurant was heaving which just shows how fabulous and wonderful it is.

The atmosphere was authentic & welcoming, the service was outstanding and I even got a rose made out of a napkin by the talented gentleman there.

The food was delicious and tasty and we got a fantastic midweek deal so was well worth the money and visit.

I want to recommend this wonderful restaurant to everyone as its a real gem full of couples, friends, families with children and lots of laughter and warmth.

Thanks for having us and see you very soon Yiamas :)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Meat Platter by Bloated”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Just had a gorgeous meat platter,with a nice house wine, to wash it down.
Tis Great value and more than enough for two.......?
Finished with a well presented liquer coffee for me and one for my wife.
I have never seen a Rose made from a serviette.......
A Great touch when your out with the Lady in your life.

Well Done Tony....!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yiamas Greek Taverna also viewed

Birkenhead, Wirral
Birkenhead, Wirral
 
Birkenhead, Wirral
Leigh, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Yiamas Greek Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yiamas Greek Taverna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.