We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too small with not enough to do” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Church Farm

Church Farm
Church Lane, Birkenhead, England
0151 648 7838
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 54 things to do in Birkenhead
Attraction details
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Too small with not enough to do”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Travelled all the way from Preston with my husband and 2 boys aged 3 and 6 after coming across the farm's website. The website mentioned it had won lots of awards, so we thought we would give it a go. We were all very disappointed as there wasn't a great deal to do there. There were only a few animals (mainly goats, guinea pigs and rabbits), a pathetic excuse for an adventure playground, go-karts that were miles too big, an indoor play area that consisted of only a sandpit and 1 pedal tractor, and a tractor ride and barrel train that only goes twice a day (we missed both of these as there wasn't enough to occupy us whilst waiting for them, so we went home). We only stayed there for just over an hour. It cost us £14 to get in - the worst £14 I have ever spent! Don't go!!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    6
    2
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
wirral
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“brilliant Christmas experiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I thought £10 was a bit expensive for even parents but I had to hold my hands up and say well worth every penny even for grown ups. The children loved it and you were taken around the forrest in small groups of say 3 or 4 families. I recomend next year that you give it a go if you missed out this year

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Scareshow 2012”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

4 of us went to the Scareshow this year and it was brilliant.
We went on the Saturday night and I thought £15.50 was a bit expensive for each ticket and had a moan but afterwards thought it was worth the money as it was in turn creepy, shocking, scary and at times funny (the clowns in the Nightmare Circus, which was so good).
The trailer ride was excellent with tension building throughout. We were on the ride at the same time as a group of teenage girls and they were jumpy and screaming, which added to the experience as we got more jumpy.
We would definitely go back next year and loved the whole thing.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birkenhead
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“school trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

needs more toilets, other than that a great place to go with kids up to about 12 years of age. great play area. farmer jonny was very helpfull. i have only ever been in oct, could imagine it to get very busy in the summer.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Caravan to the Wirral Country Park.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

It started with two families talking around the dinning table, where to go the Bank Holiday at the end of August 2012. We have two caravans and it is not unknown to go together My Brother, the Sister in Law and Suzie, My partner and I. The place was chosen and the site, designated as an aard winning attraction on the Wirral Coast, was chosen. We rang the site there and then, a young lady took the call and asked us? Is it weddings, education, a farm visit or the Camping and caravan site you require. We were duly passed onto yet another young lady the deposit was duly paid and all addresses were given, Phone numbers and Email. The 2 units arrived seperately, the Thursday night before the weekend.. My Brother first then 2 hours later (work) we arrived. Only to be told we could only stop 2 of the 5 booked as they were full and apparently, the others were stopping longer hence we were forced to leave.

This not only caused great upset, but the cost of running a caravan on the back of a Range Rover, is not un-considerable. Over £120 in Fuel. We complained but the site is a private on and the CCClub is powerless to argue.despite this a complaint was sent and ignored, another one some days later to the CCClub of GB, was replied to but the owner still says he was unaware of the problem and was unsure who took the booking?? who made the mistake? though he believed it was our fault, when 4 of us were fully aware of the conversation and double questioned the booking when made. This outing at what was billed as THE MOST OUTSTANDING ORGANIC FARM ATTRACTION, was poorly organised, staffed by young 'kids' without proper supervision and without care for the visitor. Later when complaining about our complaint, the owner said he was aware of the situation at the time, but felt it was dealt with fairly. Where?

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Church Farm also viewed

 

Been to Church Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Church Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.