We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Wedding Day 10th August 2013.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riverhill Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Riverhill Hotel to your Saves list
Riverhill Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Talbot Rd, Birkenhead CH43 2HJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Birkenhead
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our Wedding Day 10th August 2013.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

A fantastic day, a highly professional team. They took all the worry out of our day. The food was delicious, plenty of it. Thank you all.
A wonderful surprise without asking they remembered it was my birthday and produced cake with a candle and a rousing verse of "Happy Birthday"
Mr and Mrs Ellison

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephen p, General Manager at Riverhill Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Mr & Mrs Ellison. We would again like to thank you for choosing to have your wedding day here at the Riverhill Hotel. We really appreciate you feedback. It was a pleasure to have the opportunity to manage your event and to see a stunning bride. Please do remember that as part of your wedding package, you first anniversary we will provide you with a 3 course dinner on your anniversary date. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel hopefully a bit sooner than that. Kind Regards. Steve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    32
    23
    5
    3
See reviews for
39
44
5
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
dorset uk
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Wen stayed here for three nights, over two weekends as we were booked on a coach tour in between. The room was at the front overlooking the pleasant front garden and the road but even with the windows open it wasn't too noisy. A nice bright room with windows all round (and the longest radiator I have seen!) Bed was ok but dipped a little. Complimentary fruit (one orange!) crisps, biscuits and kit kat, better than some hotels but no tissues provided unlike most hotels.
We cannot comment on the food as we were room only. No lift so had to carry cases upstairs but not a real problem. Parking could be a problem if there is a big party here.
We will stay here again as we visit a relative here every year and may be try the food next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southport
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

I have visited the riverhill for years and years but hadn't been since the new chef has been there I came with my elderly parents who live local the menu was very well balanced something for everyone very reasonable in price and a jolly nice atmosphere I was very very impressed and will be back as I just booked for Christmas I wanted Christmas Day but sadly they were fully booked I also liked the bar area with the fabulous art from the local area

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephen p, General Manager at Riverhill Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear guest
If was very nice to welcome you and your family back to the hotel and for you to take the time to give us your feedback on your visit, I do remember you dining with us and your parents who were both still very witty and full of life, we are looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in December to enjoy our 2013 Christmas menu offer, please do inform me on your arrival as we can share a drink of winter mead together
Kind regards
Steve
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We have eaten here a few times and stayed just this once. Its got a nice dignified feel about , quite serene. Parking is easy and on site. Evening meal was a good choice and good quality.Plenty of room for all diners no squashing up to let people past.
The room we had was clean and adequate. Breakfast was very good with quality food. Check and check out fast ,accurate and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephen p, General Manager at Riverhill Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear guest, it is always pleasing to have your guests feedback for our full experience be so positive. We are glad that you enjoyed you evening dinner, overnight stay and breakfast the following morning. We have just launched new packages on our website for staying and dining if you are looking to repeat you experience. Please do give me a call directly if this interest you. We would like to offer you a 10% discount on any of the over night packages we offer. Kind regards. Steve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

We visited riverhilll on 25th July to celebrate my wife's 50th birthday. The reviews on TA influenced me to book a table. My wife's food was fine however I ordered the pork which was over cooked and dry. This was obvious just by looking at it, so not sure why it left the kitchen. I asked. The waiter to take it back and ordered chicken instead. This was also overlooked. Very disappointing experience. I assumed that Clare wasn't in the kitchen on this night, as the food wouldn't have been allowed to go out. Wouldn't go back

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lothian
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Unfortunately, my Aunt and I had to take a trip at short notice to Merseyside for a family funeral. I checked out a few places on here and late rooms and decided to go with the Riverhill, as it was very close to where my relatives live. I was a little anxious, as I read a few negative reviews on here, and it planted a seed of doubt. I need not have worried.

I found the Riverhill to be a charming and chic boutique style hotel, with some lovely touches and a beautifully appointed twin room. Every member of staff that we engaged with, we're polite, friendly and helpful.

Due to the nature of our visit, we only got to experience the breakfast service in the restaurant. This was more than acceptable, with a great range of fresh food on offer from the buffet and a hot and tasty cooked option. The evening menus looked extremely appealing, and were reasonably priced, we have already agreed with my cousin, that we will be trying out the restaurant for an evening meal the next time we visit.

Please do not let older poor reviews cause concern. I believe that the hotel has undertaken a radical shakedown, and from what I saw and experienced, it has produced a very nice, good value experience.

Room Tip: 22 is a quiet and shady twin!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I had an excellent stay at the hotel. the room was lovely and very clean. the food in the restaurant is excellent and really good value. The staff went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay there again and would recommend it to anyone either for business or pleasure.
I didn't use the swimming pool or fitness centre and that's why I haven't commented on those.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riverhill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverhill Hotel

Address: Talbot Rd, Birkenhead CH43 2HJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > Birkenhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Birkenhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverhill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Wirral Peninsula in its own peaceful grounds, this Victorian House Hotel is just 2 miles from Birkenhead, 4 miles from Liverpool and offers free Wi-Fi and on-site parking. Experienced hoteliers Nick and Michele Burn have owned the property since 1988, earning a gallery of industry awards in the process (including the prestigious Merseyside Small Hotel of the Year Award). They pride themselves on cultivating a comfortable and relaxed atmosphere coupled with friendly and attentive service. The highest 3-Star AA rated hotel in the Wirral area, the Hotel offers 14 en-suite rooms all of which are decorated and furnished to a very high standard. Each room includes free Wi-Fi access, flat-screen TV, direct dial telephone, hairdryer, and tea & coffee making facilities. For those special occasions, the Hotel also offers two luxurious four-poster rooms. The Restaurant offers a tantalising selection of culinary delights from their diverse range of ever-changing menus. With professional impeccable service, guests are free to enjoy their meal amidst the beautiful splendour of the views over-looking the pretty lawns and gardens at the front of the hotel. Afterwards, why not indulge in a coffee or liqueur in the comfort of the hotel cocktail lounge? Located on the Wirral Peninsula in Merseyside, the Hotel is just a 5 minute drive from the M53, 2 miles from Birkinhead and just 4 miles from Liverpool. With excellent transport links and free on-site parking, it is both convenient and accessible. For those flying in, Liverpool's John Lennon airport is just 13 miles away. Wirral is often referred to as 'the leisure peninsula' and with good reason. The coastline stretches for 25 miles and is perfect for a wide range of outdoor activities, from scenic coastal walks to sailing, cycling, angling and wind-surfing. Alternatively, explore the scenic beauty of the Wirral countryside whilst visiting one of its many picturesque villages or towns. For the less energetic, the Hotel is close to many other attractions such as: The Heritage Centre of Port Sunlight, The Williamson Art Gallery and Museum, The Ellesmere Port Boat Museum and Birkenhead Park. For sports fans, Liverpool is home to two of the Premiership's biggest football teams, or if golf is more your thing, practice your swing on one of the fourteen local courses, including the famous Royal Liverpool Golf Club. The cosmopolitan city of Liverpool offers a wealth of visitor's attractions, from its glorious maritime history to its world-class musical heritage. The Albert Dock, the second-most popular attraction in Great Britain, is home to the Maritime Museum, Tate Gallery, the Beatles Story, Animation World and scores of shops, bars, restaurants and cafes. If that's not enough, then the vibrant city of Chester is less than an hour's drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Riverhill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverhill Hotel Birkenhead

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverhill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.