We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average Food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sombrero Mexican Bar & Grill

Sombrero Mexican Bar & Grill
714 Borough Road, Birkenhead CH42 9JE, England
0151 608 1185
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 220 restaurants in Birkenhead
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Mexican, Café
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery
cheshire
1 review
“average Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Hi we have eaten at this restaurant now, for over two year, it has been a couple of months since are last vistit , we noticed ,on are two most recent vistits to this resturant , that the portions have become rather stingy, why spoil a good thing owner? I would prefare you to increase your prices per meal. We also ordered steak fajita, which were rather disappointing, the pan which they were cooked in, had not been cleaned, they tasted burnt! The mexican skillet, was a let down, it was three quarters vegetable, with a flash of chewy steak!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    22
    5
    3
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Mexican”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We visited as a family (2 small children) on an early Saturday evening on the strength of the reviews here. The choice, quality, value and service were amazing and the children were well looked after too. If you're looking for a really good Mexican meal this was one of the best we've had. Really recommended, try it

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wow! amazing value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We went to this restaurant Feb 10th. It was a Sunday night and so the place was quite quiet although we did notice that there were quite a few deliveries going out. The food was delicious and the service was swift. The protions were really generous. The guacamole was particularly delicious, really fresh with lime juice and corriander. We had the early bird menu which was great value at well under a tenner for two substantial courses. We shall definitely go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant Service, Fantastic Food, Great Atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

10 of us went to this restaurant for a friends birthday. Even with our group being extremely lively the waitress coped brilliantly! Nothing was too much trouble!

The food was out of this world and I've not stopped raving about the restaurant since we got back.

This hidden gem is definitely worth a visit!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“A welcome find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Not just authentic Mexican food, but the restaurant provides takeaway service - very welcome on the night of the blizzard. Albondigas the Mexican way, ceviche especially tangy. Chicken burritos as we remember them from down by the harbour in Ensenada, carne asada with a tang of coriander. Rice and refried beans both the genuine article (and they come with each main dish). And very friendly service.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sombrero Mexican Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Sombrero Mexican Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sombrero Mexican Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.