We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lodge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Lodge Hotel
Lodge Road, Coleraine BT52 1NF, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Coleraine
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We didn't stay at the hotel, only ate in the restaurant but tripadvisor won't let us review the restaurant separately.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and although the place was huge, there was a great atmosphere. The food was delicious and priced very reasonably. We'd certainly return again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norma W, Owner at Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us and delighted to hear you enjoyed your dining experience in our Restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you again next time you are visiting the North Coast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    73
    24
    16
    5
See reviews for
71
78
12
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kilmore, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We were staying at the hotel using the Belfast Telegraph staycation vouchers, thus great value for money. Rooms are lovely, spacious, very clean we liked all the little extras! The staff are very friendly, and the food is good in the restaurant we had the tea time treat menu which is excellent value for money, the kids menu is also very well priced. The highlight of our stay was meeting Alan Campbell the Olympic bronze medallist, he was at the hotel with his family for a celebration meal, and we got autographs and photographs. The whole atmosphere in the hotel was excellent. Overall we had a great stay the hotel is an excellent base for touring the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norma W, Owner at Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and the company of our local celebrity Olympian!! I will be sure to pass on your appreciation and compliments to our staff. We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Stayed at this hotel on Sunday 5th August for one night (rate of £80). Then spent an enjoyable day touring around the local area and decided to spend a second (unplanned) night at the Lodge Hotel.Arrived at around 10.45pm and enquired about room availability. Was greeted by receptionist Samantha who said she would have to check 'in the back with the manager what the rate would be'. She reappeared and informed me 'the rate is usually £120 per night but the manager says they will do it for £95'. I informed her that I had stayed the previous night for £80 and asked why the rate had increased overnight.Her explanation was ' we are nearly fully booked tonight'. I have stayed in many hotels over the years but have never experienced such an explanation, particularly from a manager who gave instructions from a back room. A very disappointing experience as most hotels offer competitive rates on week nights and clearly display room rates. Unimpressed by continuity and lack of customer service as I am sure at 10.45pm there would be few unplanned arrivals who would be treated with this disappointing management attitude.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norma W, Owner at Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Firstly, may I apologise for the delay in replying. Our rates vary on a daily basis depending on occupancy hence the difference in price you were quoted. Samantha is a long serving member of staff and spoke to the Duty Manager to confirm authorisation to offer you a discounted rate as the rack rate was the only rate available that evening. I do hope this explanation outlines the difference in price you were charged. Thank you for taking the time to put your comments in writing and we hope to welcome you again at the hotel in the future. Should you have any further queries, please do not hesitate to contact us direct.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shetland Islands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Thank you so much to all the very friendly and helpful staff at the Lodge in Coleraine. We arrived at 9.30pm and they managed to serve us a mouth watering meal, although the restaurant normally closes at 9pm. Nothing was too much bother for any of them. We really enjoyed our stay, albeit unexpected due to another establishment letting us down. We hope to be back at your hotel and will recommend to all our friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norma W, Owner at Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us and for your kind comments. Our staff will be delighted to hear your appreciation and compliments. We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownabbey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

....when we visit the Elliot's bistro at the lodge hotel! The newly refurbished bistro is very pleasing and it was great to see it so busy when we arrived but we were still seated promptly. The special menu was very inviting and I made my selection instantly, I'm normally the last to choose.

The staff are very attentive and service was prompt. Our meals arrive in quick time, considering how busy it was. the food we were served was very tasty and most enjoyable.

We both love a visit to the Elliot's Bistro and I hope it continues to please....

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norma W, Owner at Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Delighted to hear you enjoyed your experience at Elliot's Bistro. I will be sure to pass your compliments onto our staff. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.wales
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel on 3 or 4 occasions, i used to stay at the premier inn close by.you cannot compare the two, they are worlds apart. reception girls,you will be hard pressed to find more pleasant and helpful people. The rooms are excellent clean and spacious. Bathroom spotless, Restaurant, food superb more than value for money. the breakfast all you can eat if you need it. all in all i would give this hotel a five star rating. i will be going back

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norma W, Owner at Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us and for your kind comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Just returned from another weekend at The Lodge. Been going there for about 5 years for usually out of season weekends. Reception girls are lovely- got to know a few - Siobhan's name is the only one I remember-but they are all very helpful and friendly. Richard - This time Nial (I think- eyesight not so good) at breakfast was brilliant. He was cheerful and helpful - not to mention good looking!! On one occasion the young ladies at breakfast obviously had been out partying the previous night and didn't really want to be there. All the young people in every dept this time were a credit to themselves and the hotel.
As I have said on other posts- if you are pleasant and polite to the staff - you get the same in return. Well done everyone at the Lodge!

Room Tip: We have always stayed in the Travel Stop annexe so can't comment about the hotel rooms, but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norma W, Owner at Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Delighted to hear you have returned for the fifth year! Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, giving us the opportunity to ensure that the level of service we provide is of the highest possible standard. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge Hotel

Address: Lodge Road, Coleraine BT52 1NF, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Coleraine
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Coleraine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Travelstop
And Travelstop Hotel
Lodge Hotel Coleraine, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.