We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bushtown Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Bushtown Hotel to your Saves list
The Bushtown Hotel
283 Drumcroone Rd, Coleraine BT51 3QT, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Coleraine
1 review
“Faultless”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We couldn’t believe the value for money deal we got at the Bushtown during Halloween break. The full family, 2 nights, meals & gift bags for the kids, ONLY £189!!! DEAL!!! Carvery breakfast was cooked to perfection. Dinner menu had us spoilt for choice, recommend the fillet steak with prawns, & brilliant kiddies menu. The entire staff were great, every one of them were genuinely friendly & happy, made us & especially the kids feel so special. The hotel’s pool is closed for renovations but we were given vouchers for the leisure centre nearby, we took the kids there twice during our stay as we were offered vouchers throughout our stay. If its rainy outside check out the Jet centre, loads of entertainment there. We are already looking forward to a return visit at easter.

Room Tip: Family rooms are really spacious & we had a connecting room where the kids slept & we could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushtown_Hotel, Owner at The Bushtown Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear mitty_utl

Thank you for taking time to post such a positive review. We are happy to hear of your pleasant experience here at the hotel and the feedback on the staff. Our pool is under refurbishment at present; however we hope to have it re-opened again for Easter. We look forward to your next visit.

Management and staff

Bushtown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    53
    21
    17
    21
See reviews for
64
63
14
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ballymoney, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

rib starter delicious...soup starter delicious..prawns with wheaten bread starter arrived with no wheaten bread??...it arrived after prawns eaten..not impressed..

honey chilli chicken delicious
chicken and steak with garlic fries and champ delicious
onion rings a disaster..burnt to a frazzle as usual..after complaining we got them removed from final bill...
overall a very good meal..service could improve..quite slow as usual...and onion rings as usual had to be sent back...main courses a very satisfactory

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushtown_Hotel, Owner at The Bushtown Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear lOrraine 68_11

Thank you for your kind comments about our food. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meal. We aim to ensure customers are served their meal within 10-15mins of ordering. (Steaks take longer depending on how cooked) I have spoken to our team of chefs in regards to the onion rings.

We Look Forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,

Management & Staff

Bushtown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moneymore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

at the bushtown on new years eve for a meal a real disappointment. i ordered steak which when it arrived looked grey and appeared as if it had been cooked earlier in the day and warmed up.only that we were the guests of a friend it would have been sent straight back also very expensive . Very cold in the restaurant had to eat with our coats on.No comparison to the dining experience we had at Ardtara house in Upperlands highly recommend it

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushtown_Hotel, Owner at The Bushtown Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Emily F

Many thanks for your recent review. Here at The Bushtown we are proud to say that all our food is of high quality from local suppliers. We have been awarded ‘Best Hotel Restaurant’ for our high quality, fresh, homemade food. All steaks are Freshly prepared and cooked to order. may we draw your attention to other reviews regarding our restaurant.

Kind Regards

Management & Staff

Bushtown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

paid £40 for meal and dance. Said on internet a welcome drink on arrival when we asked about it staff did not no anything about it we were told we should not believe all u read on the net. Other people complained and staff came round with a very cheap sparkling wine and glasses less than half full. The band did not start playing until twenty past eleven and that was the main reason we picked bushtown for the live music. At 9.00pm a lot of people and tables arrived we were completely blocked in by acrowd of females when i asked one of them to move so that i could get out to the toilet she turned very nasty. I just wanted her to sit at side of table rather than end and that would have left a space to get in and out. There was a terrible smell coming from the gents toilet from the start of the night people complained but nothing was done and it just got worse as the night went on. Never again shall stick to the lodge hotel from now on.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushtown_Hotel, Owner at The Bushtown Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear bm1baby1

Thank you for your review about your experience here at The Bushtown Hotel. On Reading your review it is possible you attended the new years eve ball with another customer Elaine B who has also left a review. May I please draw your attention to our response to Elaine.

We look forward to welcoming you again at the Bushtown Hotel

Management and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Been to Bushtown quite a few times to stay. Our weekends away are great everytime! Everything from the service to staff, FOOD :) and atmosphere are always top class. I stayed one Monday night with friends aswell and went to the country dance that was on and WOW.. What a fun night. The staff were great. The bar was packed but I still didnt have to wait too long on being served. Cant remeber the name of the man singing but Bushtown certainly know how to do it.The main thing about our stays here is the staff are always so helpful and will go that extra mile. (something you dont get much any more especially in other places) The food is the other main thing.... I always make a point of calling here to eat when I am in Coleraine area, their carvery is on everyday and you will never leave hungry... a must try is the Sunday one!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushtown_Hotel, Owner at The Bushtown Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear CASPER N

Thank you for your review. We are really pleased to read that you have enjoyed your experience here at the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future

Management and staff

Bushtown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Was at the Bushtown last weekend for a Christmas party... The selection of food is unbelievable and tastes as great as it looks. The service was fantastic, the staff are so helpful and attentive and the atmosphere was brilliant.
Great night overall and we will definately be back to stay again. We were most pleased with the price of the room included in our stay. Really homely place to be, the Bushtown and their lovely staff made our whole experience enjoyable

See you again next year!

Room Tip: We stayed as a party of 12... All rooms were lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushtown_Hotel, Owner at The Bushtown Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear juicy5_12

I am thrilled to hear such positive feedback on the hotel. I will pass your compliments to our staff members and management team. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kieran McGilligan

Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungannon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I was invited to a wedding in the Bushtown couple of weeks ago.It was a fantastic day in every way from start to finish. The food was excellent, and the staff were first class. I needed transport to and from the church, as I do not drive and have to travel sitting in my wheelchair. I asked for help in get taxi company near by and with in few min had it attended too. I have stayed in the hotel a few times, and look forward to staying over v soon. Thanks for all your help

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushtown_Hotel, Owner at The Bushtown Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear bridiemck1

It is brilliant to hear from you. We will always do anything we can to ensure you enjoy your stays here at The Bushtown Hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed the wedding which you attended here at The Bushtown Hotel.

We look forward to your next visit

Management and Staff

Bushtown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bushtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bushtown Hotel

Address: 283 Drumcroone Rd, Coleraine BT51 3QT, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Coleraine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Coleraine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bushtown Hotel & Country Club is set amidst mature woodland on the outskirts of the university town of Coleraine & is only a stone's throw from the beautiful Causeway Coast and Antrim Glens. Recently Awarded Best Hotel Restaurant 2010 and is a member of Taste of Ulster guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Bushtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bushtown Hotel And Country
The Bushtown Hotel Coleraine, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bushtown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.