We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weddings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bushtown Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Bushtown Hotel to your Saves list
The Bushtown Hotel
283 Drumcroone Rd, Coleraine BT51 3QT, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Coleraine
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“weddings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is planning to get married. We attended two weddings at this hotel and stayed overnight for one of them. Both weddings where friends and said it was worth every penny. When we got there the staff where there to attend to us right away and i found them very friendly and helpful. Whoever there chef is needs medal for his cooking as the food was excellant on both occasions. Before the meals we went outside and walked about and the outside is as well kept as the inside. Booked a room and it was worth every penny. Had a lovely view from window. The room was very clean and the bathroom. We really enjoyed our stay and would most definitly go back. Thankyou for having us and making my friends big days so special :) x

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushtown_Hotel, Owner at The Bushtown Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear biddy b

Thank you for your high recommendations on the hotel. We are very proud of the fantastic wedding packages that we offer our guests who wish to get married at The Bushtown. We are also delighted to hear of the great feedback regarding your stay here, the food, staff and our beautiful surroundings.

We look forward to welcoming you back again

Management and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    53
    21
    17
    21
See reviews for
64
63
14
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This hotel was lovely, clean rooms, good food and great service. The lady at reception was absolutely lovely and so helpful with our travel plans and providing directions. We enjoyed our stay here and would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushtown_Hotel, Owner at The Bushtown Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Sally R

I am so happy to hear your great feedback on the hotel. I am delighted that your enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your next visit.

Regards,

Management & Staff Bushtown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

what can i say this hotel is one to stay in.
if your in northern ireland .
the food is so good and the staff are excellent the way is should be .
so give it try some time , and as they say i will be back. ............................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................

Room Tip: its a old hotel but it,s clean and the food is v good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushtown_Hotel, Owner at The Bushtown Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear gi1jhq

Thank you for your very kind comments. I am delighted to hear your opinion on the hotel and the staff. I will ensure to pass on your review. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Regards,

Kieran McGilligan

Managing Director

Bushtown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleraine, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Myself and a friend went for a meal yesterday evening to the beautiful Bushtown hotel. I haven't been there since I worked as a waitress in my younger days. The grounds are still as stunning. We hadn't booked a meal but we were fortunate enough to get a table straight away. The menu choice was excellent and although we both had initally said we'll just get mains the starters were too enticing not to try. I went with the Goats Cheese Bruschetta...it was delicious. We both ordered steaks medium and although we received them well done the problem was dealt with quickly and efficiently. The second steaks were top class and cooked to perfection. The staff all seemed to be on top of their game and knew who was doing what. If I one little tip...I'd love them to have a cocktail menu...but this was not a major, just thought it would have been nice to go out to the reception area and sit for one after our meal. All in all great experience and Ill definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushtown_Hotel, Manager at The Bushtown Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Stef R

We would like to thank you for all your lovely comments about our hotel

It is great to hear such fantastic feedback regarding your visit. All of our food is locally sourced produce for which we received the award for Best Hotel Restaurant, this award we are extremely proud of. Thank you also for your comments regarding a cocktail menu which is currently under review

Kieran McGilligan
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night as we were passing through. The staff were excellent, the food was fantastic and the rooms are very comfortable and clean. We also found the hotel to be excellent value for money compared to other hotels in the area. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushtown_Hotel, Manager at The Bushtown Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Lewis F

Thank you for you review

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel. We take great pride in customer service and achieved many awards for our food.

Having recently achieved certificate of excellence from TripAdvisor we are chuffed to receive yet another excellent review.

We look forwarding to welcoming you again to The Bushtown Hotel

Kieran McGilligan
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

a group of four of us were planning to stay here after traveling for two hours we arrived. it looked nice enough from the outside. we then went in to check in at about 5pm and our room still wasnt ready. we then were told the pool was not in use we were not tild this before!!!(this was the reason we booked this hotel). they offered vouchers for the lesuire centre. why would u want to go to a lesuire centre full of kids when we were wanting to relax.
the rooms what can i say disgusting after just being cleaned? the beds where did they get the beds poundland. u would better off sleeping on the floor. bathroom dirty and a tile missing.
we went to complain and the girl said she hasnt had complaints before highly unlikely.
we are not fussy but to stay here would take the biscuit we didnt pay to stay in a run down old peoples home.
we ended up arguing with the reception who was extremely unproffessional and rude and to our surprise she was reception manager. she stated she had notified us by e mail. we never gave our e mail address. we eventually got our money back as we couldnt stand staying there even one night. we couldnt get away fast enough. we then stayed in the port hotel in portrush which was fantastic and great value for money. i will never be back EVER. ABSOLUTELY AWFUL. DO NOT STAY HERE!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushtown_Hotel, Manager at The Bushtown Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear roisin_darren

On reading your review, we looked into your stay immediately and have found that on check-in you decided not to stay as our leisure facilities were under refurbishment which we found strange. You did not stay in the hotel so we find it hard to see how you can make comment on any aspect of the hotel other than your check-in experience.

We use Trip Advisor as a way of measuring our guests experiences and find it very useful in monitoring the creditability of each department in the hotel. However in this case, we feel that Trip Advisor is being misused.

We have reported this review suspicious to The Trip Advisor Team.

Kieran McGilligan
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

When we arrived we were told pool.was out off order not good at all never informed me about this when i booked! The rooms are very poor, beds were rubbish, dirty walls etc. This is not a 3* its a 1*! STAY AWAY

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushtown_Hotel, Manager at The Bushtown Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Heather2604

On reading your review, we looked into your stay immediately and have found that on check-in you decided not to stay as our leisure facilities were under refurbishment which we found strange. You did not stay in the hotel so we find it hard to see how you can make comment on any aspect of the hotel other than your check-in experience.

We have reported this review suspicious to The Trip Advisor Team.

Kieran McGilligan
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bushtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bushtown Hotel

Address: 283 Drumcroone Rd, Coleraine BT51 3QT, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Coleraine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Coleraine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bushtown Hotel & Country Club is set amidst mature woodland on the outskirts of the university town of Coleraine & is only a stone's throw from the beautiful Causeway Coast and Antrim Glens. Recently Awarded Best Hotel Restaurant 2010 and is a member of Taste of Ulster guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Bushtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bushtown Hotel And Country
The Bushtown Hotel Coleraine, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bushtown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.