We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Meals,Polite Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Water Margin

Water Margin
1 Hanover Place, Coleraine BT52 1EB, Northern Ireland (Formerly water margin)
+44 28 7034 2222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 67 Restaurants in Coleraine
Price range: $8 - $28
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Armagh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice Meals,Polite Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Had tasty dinner with work mates, all agreed on how tasty the food was. Top service. Speedy service early supper at good price/value. Pity we live so far away. Lucky for the locals to have this handy chineese.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    44
    19
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Londonderry Northern ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely treat at a good price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Water Margin is a lovely restaurant overlooking the River Bann. The food is always excellent whether you eat in or take away. The shoppers supper is great value at around £13 for 4 courses. Really great value. Food is always lovely and warm and served by delightful staff. Rhonda is great and a very welcome face with always a smile.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlerock, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fallen from grace”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Used to be special but not anymore.Used to be busy but not anymore.Always was pricey--this has not changed.What a shame as sits right on river with best possible outlook--please get your act together again.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portrush, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great food, lovely location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We have often eaten at the Water Margin, especially when looking for a wee bit of spoiling, and our latest visit was as enjoyable as any other time. We ate the chefs special banquet for 2 people, 4 courses plus tea or coffee, and left so full that I didnt really want to eat the next day at all. One of the nicest features of this restaurant is the location and the calm atmosphere to eat in. We would sometimes eat at Yoko, the noodle bar in the town, but find that it is quite noisy and hectic, and I prefer not to compete with the background noise for my companions attention. Water Margin always has less bckground noise, even when busy, as it was the evening we visited. The food was excellent, the service pleasant although at times it was difficult to get staffs attention if, for example, you want to order another drink, and the only quibble I would have was the price of the drinks....at £12 for 3 glasses of coke and a half pint of cider, you would be better sticking to the (free) jug of water for all guests!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londonderry, Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A very relaxing and enjoyable Sunday lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

My wife and I had Sunday luch at this restaurant last weekend. We had the 4 course Sunday lunch which costs £12.95 each. There was a good choice of starters, main courses and sweets with either tea or coffee afterwards. The quality and taste of the food was excellent. The decor of the restaurant was beautiful, and all of the staff were very friendly and attentive, without being overbearing. We felt very relaxed eating the meal, and did not feel under any pressure to leave. The toilets were super clean, and I always think that this says a lot about a restaurant. All in all, this was a wonderful dining experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Water Margin also viewed

Coleraine, County Londonderry
Coleraine, County Londonderry
 
Coleraine, County Londonderry
 

Been to Water Margin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Water Margin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.