We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“anglers rest near banbridge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Angler's Rest

The Angler's Rest
42 Aughnacly Road Katesbridge, Banbridge BT32 5QG, Northern Ireland
+44 40671515
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 36 Restaurants in Banbridge
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Craigavon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“anglers rest near banbridge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

first class place first class service first class people and first class food this will take some beating never before have i eaten a bigger or better meal here and we have been here many times the peppered beef is massive and one of the biggest and best meals ive had anywhere my wife got the gammon and found it hard to finnish as it too was a massive portion son got large fish and chips daughter got chicken goujons and once again couldnt finish the meal kd got her usual sausage supper i have reviewed this place before but this time its aaa+++ thank you for a great meal and as always friendly service

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    16
    5
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Downpatrick
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Visited here recently for sunday lunch. Despite that they were extremely busy and we had no reservation we were dealt with very efficiently and were soon shown to our table. The level of service was excellent and the lunch menu provided all that was needed and at a very competitive price.This was very good basic food with portions to exceed the wishes of the most expectations. Would not hesitate to recommend.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Sssh, Can you keep a secret........”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I have been living in the area for 20 years and never thought of here until today when driving past, and what have I been missing. The setting is perfect, in the countryside but not in the countryside, just of the main Castlewellan Road. The restaurant is very clean and the staff very courteous. Ordered our meal and it was perfect. Good manly portions cooked perfectly and very reasonable priced. I can't believe I never came here before but will be a regular from now on. I recommend this place very highly so why not call out to it and try it for yourself. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great home-cooked food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

My wife and I were in Banbridge for a week with a group of friends touring and playing some golf. We happened on The Angler's Rest coming back from a trip to Newcastle and decided to have dinner there our first day. The restaurant is a bit quirky. You are seated in waiting area while they take drink orders and then you are moved to a table when your food is ready. The system actually works well. The service was very good and the food was very tasty and there are usually well-priced specials to choose from. We liked it enough to recommend it to our entire group for our "farewell" dinner. No one was disappointed with the choice.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Super meal with great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We went to the Angler's Rest a few miles outside Banbridge on Sunday 25 August 2013. We had a table booked for 12.30 everything was just great the service hot food and very well price. We will be back again for sure.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Angler's Rest also viewed

Banbridge, County Down
Banbridge, County Down
 
Ballynaskeagh, County Down
Banbridge, County Down
 

Been to The Angler's Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Angler's Rest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.