We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor meal” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bannville House Hotel

Bannville House Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Banbridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bannville House Hotel
174 Lurgan Road, Banbridge BT32 4NR, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Banbridge
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very poor meal”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

I took my mother for a meal here today and wont be back ordered roast beef for myself and pensioners special ,When it eventually arrived ithere was 2 slices of beef and one tiny roast potato each veg was nearly raw and the mash was yesterdays The guy hovering around us wallpapering probably used it as wall filler very disappointed The Banville used to be very good my only regret it not getting up and walking out!!!!!! £12.50 wasted!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    19
    11
    5
    10
See reviews for
16
38
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
BELFAST, N. IRELAND
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed for only one night. My first impression was that the outside could do with a coat of paint. However the inside was cosy and welcoming. The staff are very friendly and helpful. We had a bar meal which was really nice and really worth the money. Our room was huge and very clean and fresh - although I felt the TV was a little small for the room, and because it was so low down we could not watch TV from bed. The bed sheets/pillow cases were spotless, however the underside of the 'throw' had a few stains on it - which was a little off putting. The bathroom as again spotless - but a large crack on the tiles around the bath did spoil the whole effect.
We would have no hesitation of staying at the Bannvile again

Room Tip: Our room was to the back of the hotel - on the left hand side so we had a lovely view of the grounds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

£247 for 3 night very over priced. If you are looking for a continental breakfast it consists of Cereal and toast. If you want a cooked breakfast it will take 45 min. The room was big and bed was comfy the heating is on a timer and only came on late afternoon so it was freezing. The bathroom was clean enough apart from the very dirty shower curtain and mould on tiles, and cracked tiles on the floor. The staff pleasant one young girl on reception stood out by the name of Claire top marks to her for making us feel welcome.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

we went to the bannville for a valentines getaway, we were made so welcome by all the staff nothing was to much of aproblem for them. the food was devine never ever tasted a nicer meal superb.........the room was spotless far nicer than i expected and the gardens were just beautiful but the friendliness of the staff was the ticket to make me want to go back again and again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

Spent one night here in November after attending a wedding in the area. If a lot of money was spent on it this hotel has great potential as it has lovely grounds.

On the plus side our room was large and bathroom a good size too, bed comfortable. But furnishings and decor all a bit faded. Also to get to our room we had to pass through a corridor of rather tatty decorations leading to Santa's grotto!

Breakfast was adequate but served in bar which was not very inviting. Staff friendly enough and service ok

Whole place seemed more suitable for the business travellor rather than those looking for any sort of ambiance. No 24 hour reception so have to ring to get in late at night.

OK for one short night but would not want to stay any longer, no atmosphere, unattractive bar and lobby and unsatisfactory breakfast arrangements.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dingle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

On arrival at the hotel I couldn't help but think that it didn't tend to look and live up to the image you get from the hotel's own website. That said I had an enjoyable stay and overall the hotel is of a good standard but didn't quite have that wow factor. The room that I had was extremely spacious and although I was travelling alone I had the benefit of a huge kingsize bed and there was also a single bed in the room and so this would have been great for families. I only sampled the dining on one occasion and chose to eat in the bar where I had a very nice and good quality bar type meal. Breakfast which was taken in the hotel seemed a bit of a strange affair and whilst I had no complaints about the food I couldn't understand why this was served in the bar area rather than using a dining room. The staff here were all very good and helpful. Its location is good if you don't mind being a little way out of the town.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballylumford, null, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

ended up in the bannville after trying to get other hotels in banbridge and i would guarentee its the best hotel ive been in, the staff couldnt of been anymore pleasent or helpfull, the food was amazing and very well priced you get a great pint and the room are away from the club and bar so you dont hear a sound, the cleanliness and quality of the rooms are outstanding i cant understand how are why people have left bad reports about this i think they must have been in another hotel and didnt realise or been on drugs because this is an amazing place we will certainly make a point of going more often. thanks again to everyone who works there i couldnt ask for better

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bannville House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bannville House Hotel

Address: 174 Lurgan Road, Banbridge BT32 4NR, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Banbridge
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Banbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Bannville House Hotel Banbridge, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bannville House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bannville House Hotel to your Saves list