We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“service good, food dissapointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Belmont Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Banbridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Belmont Hotel
Save
You added Belmont Hotel to your Saves list
Rathfriland Road, Banbridge BT32 3LH, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Banbridge
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“service good, food dissapointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

We booked the restaurant for 6 people on Easter Sunday as a treat to ourselves, whilst the restaurant was busy, for Easter Sunday we thought it would have been packed.
We were all quickly taken to the main dining area, seated and given our menus, we all opted for starters. I myself went for the tomato and basil soup, it was ok very salty, but ok, 2 people had the mushrooms covered in breadcrums. This was terrible, the mushrooms were covered in a goo, nothing crispy about these!!
For the maincourse most of us ordered the Turkey & Ham, this again was very dissapointing the turkey was very dry and the ham was a joke - thin slices of packet ham that you would buy in a supermarket.
All in all it seemed as if there was no thought put into this menu regarding presentation and content if the Belmont think because it was Easter they could serve whatever they want and customers either take it or leave it, time will tell when it comes to repeat business.
The staff and service made up for a poor day out which is why I have given them a 3.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    10
    7
    8
    2
See reviews for
11
10
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012 via mobile

Went here for a family meal. To be honest nothing that we couldn have had at home.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for one night with my boyfriend. It is a lovely building and decorated to a very high standard. On arrival the receptionist was very friendly and helpful. The room is clean and spacious although the en suite is on the small side. I was surprised that the official rating for the hotel is 1 star because it far exceeds some 3 star hotels I have stayed in. However be aware of the nightclub on site. This was not an issue for us as we included VIP tickets to the club in our package but it can be quite rough and when we were coming back to our room the police were outside the hotel. The noise outside goes on til about 2 am, something to consider especially at the weekend. Breakfast was perfect, no complaints. Overall a pleasant stay at this hotel, rooms clean and comfortable, food is very good in the restaurant for evening meal and breakfast and good location for Banbridge and Co. Down sight seeing!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Called in for a quick snack downstairs in the bar. After sitting for half an hour we had to ask the Barman if he could call someone to take our order. We waited for exactly one hour for our food to arrive. There were few customers in the bar but we discovered later that there was a party upstairs and obviously not enough staff on to cover. One meal was burnt so ...won't be back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dingle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

I recently stayed in the belmont during a business trip, my company organising this accomodation. First impressions of the hotel going up the sweeping long drive are good. This could be the perfect setting. In reality the hotel could do with a bit of an update. Whilst most of the public rooms were fine the bedrooms had a rather tired feel to them. Something you would tend to expect from a budget B&B rather than the country hotel this looks. Generally the service was ok but at times everyone seemed a little too busy to take the time to speak and I didnt get the feeling of a nice atmosphere. I was warned when I checked in that the hotel would be noisy on the Saturday night due to the nightclub attached to the hotel. Finally the hotel looks great with its floodlights lighting it up. Trouble is these tend to light up the bedrooms too!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N> Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

While we haven't stayed at the Belmont, we have had a couple of extended family meals here recenty. Whiile the restaurant has an olde world feel to it, the staff are extremely attentive and the food is excellent. The steaks in particular are huge! Also they generally include some side orders with the meal, which makes the food very good value. Excellent all round.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2009

I received a warm welcome on arrival by the staff and they were polite and helpful throughout my stay. Unfortunately the room was disappointing and did not represent good value for money. The television in the room had limited channels and these were not tuned in properly, i.e. channel 1 was in fact channel 4,etc. A few of the channels were on more than one station and a lot of the stations were fuzzy. There was also no remote control for the television and the only sky channels were sports channels. The bathroom was a nice size however, the shower was mouldy and the water filled the shower tray within 3 minutes of the shower being on. There was also no place to store toiletries whilst in the shower meaning they 'swam' around your feet while showering!! The bathroom window also had a piece of the frosted sticker missing and there were rooms opposite that might have been able to see in. The room was off the landing of the stairs and was noisy with other guests and staff. Overall the room was very tired looking with mismatched furniture and looked in need of refurbishment. Definetely not worth the £75 price tag!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmont Hotel

Address: Rathfriland Road, Banbridge BT32 3LH, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Banbridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Banbridge
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Belmont Hotel Banbridge, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmont Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.