We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip in the Mournes!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mourne Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Mourne Lodge to your Saves list
The Mourne Lodge
1.5 of 5 Hostel   |   Bog Road | Atticall, Kilkeel BT34 4HT, Northern Ireland (Formerly The Cnocnafeola Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
“Trip in the Mournes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We had a perfect stay at the Mourne Lodge! The Staff is so nice and attentive, we had a real contact with them.
Moreover, rooms are very nice with comfortable beds! The Hostel has also a very good location, at a few minutes from walking trails.

We really enjoyed our stay there and we advise you to try it!

Marc and Maud from Belgium

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead_White, Manager at The Mourne Lodge, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments and sorry we are only getting back to you now. We have recently upgraded from hostel status to guest accommodation. So happy you found everything good during your stay. Perhaps you will pass on the good word to others and do visit us again if you are coming to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    10
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
7
12
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

6 of us just spent the weekend as guest's of Mairead at the Mourne Lodge Hostel. Spent the day out on the trails in Rostrevor on the Saturday then headed over to Atticál to stay in the Mourne Lodge. Beautiful location, really nice hostel, nice room lots of hot water with lovely staff. Would highly reccomend a stay here if you're up in that neck of the woods either hiking or cycling as it is excellent value for money. Excellent breakfast and Mairead made us hot cross buns for the trip home. Make sure you head up to Attical GAA to the new club house for a few pints.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead_White, Manager at The Mourne Lodge, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for the great review. Sorry we are only getting back to you. We have recently upgraded from the hostel category to Guest accommodation. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and perhaps you will return and visit us again someday for some more mountain biking in the Mournes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed the visit. Mairead was sweet, warm, pleasant and very helpful. The lodge is close to Kilkeel. Mairead directed us to where yo eat. we had a fantastic me, amazing priced, abd were stuffed. Thank you and Kind regards

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead_White, Manager at The Mourne Lodge, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. Sorry we are only getting back to you now. Hope you are keeping safe in Israel and not finding life too difficult. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us in the Mournes and perhaps you will come and visit us ah=gain some day. We have upgraded the centre from hostel to guest accommodation category and are continually improving!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver bc
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Mourne Lodge?, Mourne B&B?, Concnafeola Centre or Mourne Hostel???

What's in a name? A lot. Disappointing if this is a lodge or B&B, typical but expensive if this is a hostel. I've stayed in plenty of both and this is a hostel (when we booked it was for a B&B/Lodge).

We got bunkbeds, a shared bath with lots of hot water but a shower head that had so much pressure, you could get welts!

Breakfast was instant coffee, cold cereal and instant oatmeal. The plus was the fresh fruit salad. After all the yummy Irish breakfasts we'd been having, this really missed the mark.

I'd give this place a pass if you are expecting a lodge/B&B experience which I was.

Rating it poor is harsh but rating it average is wrong if you are expecting a lodge/B&B.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead_White, Manager at The Mourne Lodge, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Sorry to hear your experience was not what you expected. We do try to provide a variety of accommodation from private rooms which are all ensuite with tv and tea and coffee making facilities. We do have cheaper rooms which are suitable for families, again these are ensuite. You also have the facility to prepare your own breakfast in our self-catering kitchen, however, breakfast can be included in the price depending on how you book and we did state on our website that the breakfast included is a continental as this is what most of our guests have requested, however, you could also order an ulster fry. I purchased an expensive instant coffee which is called Azera, we normally serve cold milk with cereal, hot porridge was also available for you and of course some of these problems could have been sorted out if you had discussed them with us in the morning. We offer a good price for a family of four which includes breakfast at approximately £20 per person. However, I do hope this did not upset your holiday in Ireland too much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandeilo, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I've just returned from a walking holiday travelling around Ireland, and this Charming Hostel was definitely a highlight of my trip. The Lodge is ideally located for exploring the stunning Mourne Mountains, but what makes this place special is the warmth of the welcome from Mairaid and her staff, the willingness to help and offer advice on the area, and a general adherence to the highest standards of cleanliness and customer service. Well Done! Diolch O Galon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead_White, Manager at The Mourne Lodge, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
It was a real pleasure to have you with us and your comments are much appreciated. You have a lot of experience in the field of managing hostels and self-catering coming from the lake district and I know you found our centre very clean and relaxing. We do hope that you will return to Ireland one day and of course you will be most welcome in the Mourne Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is definitely hostel accommodation with bunk beds, shared bathroom facilities etc.

This is not in itself a problem providing you are aware of this. The staff were very helpful but the premises need to be careful of its pricing as it is charging B&B rates for hostel accommodation.

Room Tip: Clarify in advance what type of room you will be allocated. Some rooms have more facilities than oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead_White, Manager at The Mourne Lodge, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
While you had a shared bathroom, there was no one sharing on this particular occasion. Some of your friends had private facilities but of course they paid a little more money. I do appreciate your helpful comments and of course these will be taken on board when we come to review our policies for next year. One night stays at the weekend tend to be more expensive than during the week. I do accept that bikers would love a hearty cooked breakfast in the morning and again this is something we will be looking at. Our present policy is based on comments from guests who have stayed with us many times. Do hope you enjoyed your stay in Ireland and got some good weather.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisburn
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

stayed here last saturday night and had worst experience of my life. had booked a family room (which on website showed a double bed and bunk beds). i had phoned in advance to say we would be calling mid-morning to leave our bags (since check in wasnt until 5pm) and was told this was no problem. on arrival I was greeted halfway up stairs (leading to Reception) by a less than friendly host telling me 'the rooms arent ready'. My first impression was needless to say not what i expected.
After parting with £100 for the room we went on to belfast. As room wasnt ready wasnt able to view it - unfortunately. The owner said she would move our luggage into our room (which she didnt do)
On returning that evening - what a shock we were in for ! On opening the door of our room to my horror we discovered it contained only 4 bunk beds - no double. Words cannot describe the embarrassment and disappointment I felt. And it was to get worse - when we were informed that we had to share an en-suite with another family in an adjoining room. There werent even towels in the room. I spoke to the owner about my disappointment and she waffled on about 'the other family room (containing the double bed) having been taken'. Ii felt both let down and deceived.. I have travelled the world and never have I had such a bad experience as at this accomodation.
I want to warn any other family thinking of booking here - AVOID and dont waste your hard earned money on what is essentially a hostel for back-packers .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mourne Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mourne Lodge

Address: Bog Road | Atticall, Kilkeel BT34 4HT, Northern Ireland (Formerly The Cnocnafeola Centre)
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Kilkeel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Kilkeel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — The Mourne Lodge 1.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your The Mourne Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mourne Lodge Kilkeel, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mourne Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.