We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kilmorey Arms Hotel

Kilmorey Arms Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kilkeel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kilmorey Arms Hotel
41 Greencastle St., Kilkeel BT34 4BH, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 18 hotels in Kilkeel
USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

My wife and I stayed over the halloween weekend from Saturday to Monday and thoroughly enjoyed our time there.
It was a change after two nights in Belfast .
All meals were very appetising and the freshly cut fruit was a night touch .
Our room was very comfortable ant the bathroom a good size .
We certainly did meet the locals whilst listening to the band on Saturday night ,
as one lady could tell that we were on " a wee break "

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    17
    9
    12
    8
See reviews for
5
26
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

Went back to Kilkeel after many years. The Kilmorey Arms is still a pleasant place to stay, clean friendly and comfortable. Pleased to see Arthur the barman for many years being remembered by having a bar named after him. Stayed midweek so nice and quiet.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
discerning lancashire
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

We stayed two nights in May. The room was large, ensuite, and overlooked the junction. It was warm, and clean. We had a good night's sleep and were not kept awake by the traffic. The breakfast was good and the staff pleasant and attentive. If anything, it would benefit with double-glazed windows and a fresh coat of paint. Otherwise we were quite satisfied with it.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymoney, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2010

Stayed in the hotel for a 2 night BB & 1D break over a weekend. There was a large group of us and we virtually booked the hotel out.

Check in was eficient and we found our room to be very spacious. Hotel has been recently revamped and redecorated and this has helped greatly. Only criticism would be that given size of room could have gone that little bit extra to put in a king size bed instead of the standard double. Having said that the bed was firm and I had a good 2 nights sleep despite the street noise and the rattling sash window. There is no air conditioning in the rooms so window left open due to heat.

The down side. There were hairs in the corner of the bathroom on the floor when we arrived - they were still there when we left! The wall tiles and the floor looked also loked grubby and not properly cleaned.

The food was basic and portion size on the small size. Breakfast was a disaster! On both days bowl of fresh fruit salad was empty by 9.15 and breakfast goes on until 10.00! When asked if this would be replenished the waiter blamed the guests for eating too large a serving and it was therefore my groups fault that I was not getting any fruit salad!

Will defiinitely not return. Hotel needs to take a few lessons from the Burrendale!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

My Wife and I stayed with another couple for a weekend
We found the Staff to be very friendly courteous and proffessional at all times
The food was good, the rooms were clean and tidy and done the job.
We did hear some street noise after we retired for the night - this is to be expected in a Town Centre Hotel and it did not prevent us having a god night's sleep

Ideal location for exploring The Mournes or South Down

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2010

Lovely Hotel we had a very pleasant week there. The Staff were extremely friendly and very helpful the food was excellant and the whole experience was very pleasant. Kilkeel is a nice town with a lovely harbour and ideal for touring the area.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

A disappointment. We were so looking forward to staying there for a relaxing break. They gave us the famous room over the disco! Upon arrival, the receptionist was toasting her toes at an electric fire. Our room however had no heat. The same receptionist then pretended to know nothing about the lack of oil to heat the hotel. Then moved to another room which had an adjoining door to the next room, in which the people smoked all night and we awoke with sore throats. (Smoke alarms clearly aren't operational!!) We opened the window for fresh air and then it wouldn't shut. Sound proofing woefully inadequate - you can hear people breaking wind 3 rooms away!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kilmorey Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilmorey Arms Hotel

Address: 41 Greencastle St., Kilkeel BT34 4BH, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Kilkeel
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 hotels in Kilkeel
Also Known As:
Kilmorey Arms Kilkeel
Kilmorey Arms Hotel Kilkeel, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kilmorey Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kilmorey Arms Hotel to your Saves list