We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Kilmorey Arms Hotel

Kilmorey Arms Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kilkeel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kilmorey Arms Hotel
41 Greencastle St., Kilkeel BT34 4BH, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 18 hotels in Kilkeel
Northern Ireland
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Just OK”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2008

We (me and my husband) stayed here for 2 nights over Easter 2008. We booked a deal where 1 evening meal was included as well as 2 nights B & B.

On arrival the hotel looked like a fairly average 3 star. Our check in was not great mainly because the receptionist appeared to be young and inexperienced. We had to ask where we would get breakfast and evening meal. We then had to ask when we were able to go for our evening meal - at this point she told us we could go anytime at all (turns out to be not so). We were given the key to room 102 and no direction for where to find it, and no help was offered for our bags.

On arrival at the door of the room it was labelled as an executive suite which surprised us as we hadn’t booked it. The room was fairly clean, and very large. It had plenty of storage, a sofa, coffee table, a small fridge, TV, double bed and a seriously huge ensuite bathroom (largest hotel bathroom I had ever seen) which had a bath and shower over it. We unpacked and settled in well – but unfortunately our problems were not over.

As we were walking past reception later in the evening, we happened to ask the receptionist what time the restaurant would be closing, to which she replied she wasn’t sure, and that it had been fully booked out after 7.30pm, so we would need to take our meal before then! This really annoyed me because if she had booked it for us earlier at check-in we would not have had the problem. We decided to take our meal the next evening, but she still didn’t book it for us, rather telling us to do it the next day.

The biggest problem we experienced came to light later that evening (Saturday). Unfortunately room 102 is directly over the bar and disco, and the noise from below is simply incredible. We tried to bear it but could not - I don’t think anyone staying for a relaxing break could. That night there was an older male on reception and he was happy to move us, and was fairly quick at getting us moved, but the hassle of moving all of our stuff really was not needed on a 2 night break.

We ended up in room 124, which was on the opposite side of the hotel and perfectly quiet. We were happy enough in it for the rest of our stay. It was a smaller room and again, fairly clean and tidy (the toilet was pretty dirty though), the only negatives were the view, as it looks over a roof top, and that it had no fridge. We only discovered the next day that the TV had no aerial, and so we ended up having to get that seen to as well.

The next day we had more problems with our evening meal. We booked it with another different receptionist in the morning time for 8pm, however that evening around 6pm, when we came back from a long day out, we were told the restaurant would be closed at that time and we would have to eat earlier! We ended up going for our meal at 7.20pm and thank goodness it was worth the wait and all of the hassle. The staff in the restaurant were lovely, and the food was pretty superb. I don’t think the breakfasts quite matched such a high standard but they certainly weren’t too bad.

I am afraid my final comments match the general consensus on trip advisor. I would not return to this hotel, but rather, I would find a local B & B, and enjoy the Mourne mountains from there. The area really is outstandingly beautiful and well worth a visit by anyone!

  • Liked — The good food
  • Disliked — The noisy room
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    17
    9
    12
    8
See reviews for
5
26
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lisburn
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2008

I stayed in the Kilmorey Arms Hotel over the Christmas period. When we arrived we knew straight away we were going to have a brilliant time. The hotel was quite busy and had a good atmosphere to it.

Our room was spacious, clean and over looked the Kilmorey Garden (the skip) we didnt mind as we wern't there to sit and look out the window all weekend.

There was a disco on in both bars and everyone seemed to be having a great time, me and my partner included.

Overall we had a really good time, staff and service was good, food was good, entertainment was good and the rooms were nice.

We will definatly be back next Christmas.

Stayed December 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2008

This hotel offered a decent sized room and good food but the service from bar staff and reception could have been better. We had to wait ages to get served at reception to check in and at another time, to get information. The snooty receptionist Helen, didn't apologise to us for keeping us waiting and although she appeared bubbly she seemed to look down her nose at us. Restaurant staff were very pleasant and were the only thing to save this place. I wish I had of read the other reviews before booking this place. GO TO A B&B!

  • Liked — Good food and service in the restaurant
  • Disliked — Helen the receptionist!
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertforshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2007

Our stay in the Kilmorey Arms was a truly great experience. My husband and I had booked a 3 nights stay as a surprise for my mother in laws 60th birthday. Our group consisted of 4 adults, and our 2 children, one of 4 years and one of 4 months.

The reason for choosing this hotel was because my mother in law is originally from Kilkeel and moved to England as a teen. As a little girl she used to look at this beautiful building and longed that one day to be able to stay there. Therefore you can imagine that this was a very special trip with high expectations.

We can confirm that The Kilmorey Arms Hotel and their staff did not disappoint. The Hotel is beautiful, it’s a stunning building, and the inferior is modern and clean.

The staff went out of their way to provide us with great service throughout our stay. They were professional, courteous, helpful and friendly.

We had adjoining rooms that suited us perfectly. Also the Hotel had arranged a travel cot and bedding, all of which looked brand new.

The restaurant was lovely, great service and good food, both in the evening and at breakfast.

Shobian dealt with most of our arrangement. She was so helpful and efficient. Shobian organised our booking as well as a surprise party (including lots of decorating) and she also gave us a very reasonable deal on our stay.

My mother in law just loved this experience and enjoyed every minute of her stay and of course so did we. Therefore it’s no surprise that we will be returning.

  • Liked — 400 year old building
  • Disliked — When refitting the hotel it should have maintained a traditional interior opposed to modernising
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanau, Germany
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2007

We stayed at this hotel for one night during a stopover in Kilkeel. The property looked quite promising and clean and check in into the hotel was friendly and efficient. So far so good.
After a 5 min walk to our room (in some remote corner of the hotel) we found what would have been a pleasant place to sleep in if it had not offered a view on a backyard full of trash. As the room itself was clean we nevertheless decided not to complain.
After a short walk of Kilkeel we then decided to have dinner in the hotel's restaurant. As a bigger group of elderly travellers had just had the same idea, we were placed on a small table on the edge of the restaurant. Afterwards nothing happened for 10 minutes. Then a waiter appeared to ask us if we had already eaten, looking at our obviously empty table. We then managed to order our dinner which actually turned out to be quite tasty, yet nothing to write home about.
Our attempt to get something to drink at the bar resulted in another waiting period, so that we finally decided to retreat to our room.
Check out was efficient again. All in all, I found the facilities and the general standards of the hotel's products satisfying, but on the service side there is definitely some room for improvement. And please, clean up your backyard.

  • Liked — Service at check-in and check-out
  • Disliked — waiting all the time, view from our room
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2007

From the moment we entered I knew it would be a disaster. The bar manager was attempting to throw out a youth who was incredibly intoxicated and there was much commotion at the entrance. Our room was small and plain and unfortunately not the cleanest. The next morning we spoke to the hotel receptionist called Helen and enqured about the local attractions and entertainment in the local area. Helen seemed more interested in her online Bebo page and mobile phone that assisting us. The food was the only thing that saved this place. Great fish and steak and service from waiting staff was pleasant. To our annoyance the male Bar Manager was trying to promote his noisy club night next door and distrupted our dinner. We spotted very young customers in the bar and was surprised that that the bouncers did not request ID from them as I'm sure many of them were underage. Our sleep was disrupted by the loud dance music. Don't think I will return and may just stay in one of the local B+Bs next time.

  • Liked — Great food
  • Disliked — poor staff service from receptionist and bar manager
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2007

During March 2006 my wife and I stayed at the Kilmorey Arms for 1 night to celebrate a birthday. The room that we were given was spacious, clean and tidy with the usual extras available. Check-in was easy and the receptionist most pleasant. The bar that evening was busy with locals which did not present any problem but notably there was no entertainment provided. After the Lounge closed we advised the Bar Manageress that we wished to avail of the residents bar to which we were told that we would be required to wait for 30 minutes! After the time had lapsed we again approached the Manageress who advised that she was not prepared to serve residents. This bizarre and most unpleasant attitude ruined the evening and what would otherwise have been a pleasant stay at the hotel.

For the price paid I would recommend 2 nights in a local B&B in this super location which has fantastic scenery and hill walking along with easy access to the Mourne Mountains.

  • Liked — Nice Room
  • Disliked — The Manageress
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kilmorey Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilmorey Arms Hotel

Address: 41 Greencastle St., Kilkeel BT34 4BH, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Kilkeel
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 hotels in Kilkeel
Also Known As:
Kilmorey Arms Kilkeel
Kilmorey Arms Hotel Kilkeel, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kilmorey Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kilmorey Arms Hotel to your Saves list