We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb stay in a superb hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn on the Coast

Save Saved
You added Inn on the Coast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn on the Coast
50 Ballyreagh Road, Portrush BT56 8LT, Northern Ireland (Formerly McLaughlin's Inn on the Coast)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Portrush
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“superb stay in a superb hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Inn on the coast. highly recommend this hotel. the accomadation was spotless and very comfortable. My wife and myself were given a family room with great view of the Atlantic coast. Room was spacious and bed very comfortable. All the staff were very pleasant and attentive. The breakfast was superb with cereal, fruit salad and full cooked breakfast on offer. breakfast was cooked fresh and arrived in no time. We had a meal in the hotel on the second night and the quality was exellcent, a sure sign of good food and service is the fact that it is popular with the locals. It's location is walking distance between both Portrush and Portstewart. We will difinately be returning to this hotel again and recommend it to all.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    182
    87
    17
    3
    12
See reviews for
95
124
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night but would have been very happy to stay longer. Warm welcome from all the staff. Spotlessly clean, large room with added bonus of seaview. Comfy bed and great cooked breakfast which kept us going all day. Ate in the bar, good no frills food, would be good to see more fresh local items on menu but it was fine. Would happily recommend to anyone doing the fabulous Causeway Coastal drive.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Spent two nights here. Staff couldn't have been more helpful. Excellent value. Room very well equipped. Bar food excellent. Only areas for improvement were. Bar was a little cool away from nice log fire. Wi fi poor in room. Will definitely stay again and would recommend. No noise which was great.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The hotel is amazing, very cozy room, had an excellent stay. Staff were brilliant, already booked to come back! ;) food at the hotel was lovely and the service was amazing. Love the hotel and I can not wait to come back. :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Only stayed one night check in and out very easy. Room was clean and very comfortable. Staff very friendly had a love evening meal and very good breakfast. All the sights are within easy driving distance. I would stay here again only next time for longer

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Great location for exploring the North coast, as long as you have a car, it is a little bit out of main town, but no problem if you are driving. The view from the room is pretty, and the room itself is functional, in a good way, there was nothing else we needed it was simple and clean, comfy beds. The breakfast was great and the staff were friendly. The only issue was there was no lift, so we had to carry our bags to the 3rd floor, but beside this, it was great. Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strabane, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed here here with my husband for one night while on a short trip second week of September. Quite a good location, in between Portrush and Portstewart, and ideal base for travelling Causeway coast or the border counties Tyrone,Derry and Donegal. The hotel was nicely decorated, comfortable and the staff were very nice, especially the receptionist. We also tried the restaurant for evening meal, as well as the breakfast couldn't fault it if we tried. As we had a bad experience in another hotel a few years ago, we would be a bit particular when we stay anywhere now, so we do look out for faults even minor ones. The only reason we have not given a'5' is re. dust. Our bedroom had dust on the furniture, windowsills and the windows could've done with a clean. In the breakfast corner where I sat, there were food remains and a cobweb for company. Despite this, because we slept and ate well and the friendliness of staff we would go back again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn on the Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Coast

Address: 50 Ballyreagh Road, Portrush BT56 8LT, Northern Ireland (Formerly McLaughlin's Inn on the Coast)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Portrush
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Portrush
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portrush
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Inn on the Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Coast Hotel Portrush
Mclaughlins Hotel Portrush
Inn On The Coast Portrush, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn on the Coast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.