We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for midweek stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn on the Coast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Inn on the Coast to your Saves list
Inn on the Coast
50 Ballyreagh Road, Portrush BT56 8LT, Northern Ireland (Formerly McLaughlin's Inn on the Coast)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Portrush
Belfast
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent value for midweek stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

My wife & I booked 'Inn on the Coast' as a last minute decision & we weren't disappointed. Friendly staff, quiet, clean room & fabulous breakfast. Thank you for a very enjoyable stay. We will return!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    102
    23
    5
    12
See reviews for
111
144
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

My husband and I are just back from a most enjoyable stay at the Inn on the Coast, Portrush. Before we booked we checked with Trip Advisor and we were puzzled to see several excellent reviews and two bad reports. This made us slightly apprehensive but as the good seriously outweighed the bad we went ahead and booked for 1 night. After we checked in and were shown our amazing room and had a good look around the hotel we said to ourselves - what were these people talking about - how could anyone say anything bad about this place. When we checked in we received a most friendly and helpful greeting from Colleen who gave us great advice about where to visit while in the area and about the dining facilities in the hotel. She went out of her way to be helpful and after showing us to our room, which contained a king sized bed and two single beds and had a magnificent view over the sea towards Portrush, she then showed us the amazing Atlantic Suite which could accommodate 6 people easily and had its own kitchen.

We sampled the food in the hotel dining room and thoroughly enjoyed our evening meal. Again the staff were very friendly and helpful, particularly Kevin and Sharon. While having that meal we decided that as everything was so good we would book for the next night as well. The following morning we were served an excellent breakfast by a very cheerful Lavinia before we set off for the Giants Causeway and Carrick a Rede Rope Bridge.

Everywhere in the hotel was spotlessly clean, everyone was so cheerful and helpful and we would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone. Congratulations to Adele Kennedy and her team for the wonderful job they are doing.

WE WILL BE BACK

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adele K, General Manager at Inn on the Coast, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for your fantastic reviews. The staff are delighted that they got a mention.

We look forward to welcoming you back some time soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Enjoyed our stay very much! Staff were friendly! Would definitely go back again, but the chairs were uncomfortable! There was no pool that we could see! The food was lovely and the place was a friendly and comfortable! Although we were only staying a short time we were made feel so welcome by the staff. The only things they needed to improve were the chairs in the bedrooms and the sleep quality!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham uk
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed 2 nights as 2 couples. Lovely big rooms with a sea view. Net curtains at the windows would have been good as there are houses across the road which overlooked our rooms. That was the only down side as the service was excellent and friendly. The breakfast was freshly cooked to order with plenty of cereals, juices, Danish pastries, ham, cheese, fruit and yoghourts. The evening meals were excellent and great value. The location just on a hill outside Portrush was perfect for us as we did not fancy the hustle and bustle of the town. If you like peace and quiet ask for a room not on the main road.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adele K, General Manager at Inn on the Coast, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for the great review and we are delighted that you found our breakfast to have plenty of choice. we look forward to welcoming you back to the North Coast sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The booking process was very easy and we booked the rooms over the telephone. When we arrived at the reception the check-in process was very quick as the room was already allocated and we only had to collect the keys from the reception. The Rooms were basic but they were clean and tidy. Free wifi was available in the rooms. Special mention on the staff who were very friendly and helpful. The breafast was good even though there wasnt a variety available.
Overall good value for money

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adele K, General Manager at Inn on the Coast, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for your kind review.

The Staff really appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar City, Utah
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Nice Hotel with breakfast included. Front desk staff was very helpful and fun. Breakfast was huge and the staff was very friendly. Rooms were large and comfortable. Very fun 9 hole Par 3 golf course across the street. Great views.

Room Tip: We had 3 rooms--two on exterior had awesome view. 1 interior room had no view at all (hotel roof an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adele K, General Manager at Inn on the Coast, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for the great review. We are delighted that you enjoyed our great breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Have literally just booked our 2nd stay for end June. We stayed here at the first Bank Holiday in May this year. We couldn't have asked for anything more. We stayed in one of the big family rooms at the back entrance of the hotel, as these roons are dog friendly! Result! Hotel was just perfect for our wee family and 2terriers. Location ideal and we walked with the buggy and the dogs into Portrush no bother. Staff couldn't do enough for you, felt you were one of the family! We even left behind our daughter's favourite sleep suit and the hotel posted it out to us with no charge. We thought it looked far better than expected inside from the look of outside and even from pics on the net. Ate in the bar and food was lovely - big portions and reasonable. Can't wait til our next stay!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adele K, General Manager at Inn on the Coast, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review. We look forward to seeing you all again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn on the Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Coast

Address: 50 Ballyreagh Road, Portrush BT56 8LT, Northern Ireland (Formerly McLaughlin's Inn on the Coast)
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Portrush
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Portrush
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portrush
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Inn on the Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Coast Hotel Portrush
Mclaughlins Hotel Portrush
Inn On The Coast Portrush, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn on the Coast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.