We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view and lovely hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour Heights Bed & Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Harbour Heights Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Harbour Heights Bed & Breakfast
17 Kerr Street, Portrush BT56 8DG, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 27 Portrush B&B and Inns
Shawnee, Kansas
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great view and lovely hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

When we arrived I was a little nervous about the amusement center a few hundred feet away. I was afraid we'd be up half the night with the noise. We arrived at a very busy time of day and had to circle the block and park a few hundred feet away. NOT A PROBLEM! Tim followed me back to the car and lugged our bags and beat me back to the entrance. Our room had a bay window with a view of the harbor. A lovely room with a comfortable bed and we never heard any noise from the amusement park. Plenty of excellent restaurants and shopping nearby. A very nice breakfast got out days off to a great start. Portrush was ideally placed as a hub for our explorations of the area. Tim and Sam made us feel right at home!

Room Tip: Hmmm. Great view from the front. I don't think there could be a bad room in the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    19
    10
    2
    7
See reviews for
32
42
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lurgan, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Myself and my family stayed here recently again for a few nights. We stayed here 2 years ago and had an excellent time then so i didn't have to do too much research when choosing somewhere this time. Again we had a very comfortable family room at the back of the guesthouse with very large bathroom. Breakfast was cooked to order, The hosts Tim and Sam are really nice people and we enjoyed a few wee chats with them on our way in/out. Tim is also quite a talented photographer with a lot of his work, mostly of the Antrim coast hanging around the place (for sale !) What more can i say...we enjoyed Barrys...we enjoyed our surfing lessons and we enjoyed our stay !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

It was a a very peaceful and homely experience at harbour heights. Our host Tim and Sam were amazing and were very friendly. Awesome view from Harbour heights of the coastline along with the delicious breakfast was the best thing at start of the day...what more could you ask for...would strongly recommend to visit port rush and stay at Harbour heights.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

My wife and I spent two nights at this B&B in mid April 2013. The hosts, Sam and Tim, made us feel like old friends right away. The rooms were large and luxurious with gorgeous ocean views. The breakfasts were huge and everything was perfectly cooked to order. And the room rates were extremely reasonable. Well worth the money. It was without a doubt the most pleasant B&B we stayed at during our two week tour of Ireland. Additionally it is located in the beautiful and historic city of Portrush and only a short drive from the Carrick a Rede rope bridge, Dunluce Castle, the Giant's Causeway and the breathtaking scenic drive along the coast of northern Ireland. We can't wait to return next year. This B&B justly deserves my highest recommendation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Moritz
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We've been (me, my GF and my parents from Italy) looking for an accomodation around Portrush on the night of the 30th November.

Knock at door of this B&B I wished to spend an overnight few years before, we found two of the most exquisite persons ever; Tim is the most welcoming host we've ever met in our life, showing us the Portrush room with a breathtaking seaview which we left to my parents and another room just next to it for my and my GF which was very comfortable and clean.

We had more than just helpful infos about the area and, most important, about where to eat on that evening (If you want to know which restaurant, you should reserve a room up there and ask him personally!). Tim also gave us a map with all the high spots in Portrush.

On our way back to the b&b (unfortunately we were pretty tired from a long driven journey) my parents had an issue with the heating which they found not hot enough. On request they had an extra electric chafeur plus a few hours more heating on.

The morning after we had a superb breakast with an amazing view of the harbour. The Northern Ireland soda bread was different as we used to know it but in any case great! Tim is a great cook too.

Looking around the room we found very impressive pics which we discovered just later that they were token by Tim himself and we had a little chat about the Antrim area.

Unforunately we were on the run but we promised ourself to be back in Harbour Heights next time; and that should happen soon!

Not often we find such warm and welcome places, at least never happen so well like in here!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed one night at Harbour Heights, wish we were there longer! Sam and Tim were very welcoming and friendly! Gave us a great recommendation for dinner-Harbour Bistro. Stayed in the seaview Portstewart room. Room was spacious and very clean and had a great bay window with view of the sea. Loved the bathtub as well. Breakfast was very tasty and another great view of the sea out the window. Would love to come back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Tim Swart was the most welcoming host we could have hoped for to look after our family while in Portrush. There were 5 of us in total & everyone was happy (after a rough start with one cranky toilet) with the comfort, size, price & amazing views of the Harbour. The BnB was close to everything in the city & Tim made some great recommendations for restaurants & helped with directions. He took the time to get to know us and we especially enjoyed his photography that graces the walls of the place. Clean, cozy and warm, we would come back and stay here again.

Room Tip: The double room #7 is the best room in the house! The view & size was most wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Harbour Heights Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Heights Bed & Breakfast

Address: 17 Kerr Street, Portrush BT56 8DG, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Portrush
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Portrush
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbour Heights has a friendly family atmosphere. Conveniently located central to all restaurants & amenities in Portrush, overlooking the blue-flag West Strand. We aim to make your stay pleasant, comfortable & memorable for all the right reasons. We can help plan your days with advice on the area, must-see places & where best to get a good bite to eat. A fabulous Ulster fry & good craic will set you up for your adventure-filled day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Harbour Heights Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Heights Hotel Portrush
Harbour Heights Bed And Breakfast
Harbour Heights Bed & Breakfast Portrush, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour Heights Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.