We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely delightful.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour Heights Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Harbour Heights Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Harbour Heights Bed & Breakfast
17 Kerr Street, Portrush BT56 8DG, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 27 Portrush B&B and Inns
Spring, Texas, United States
1 review
“Absolutely delightful.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

My wife and I spent two nights at this B&B in mid April 2013. The hosts, Sam and Tim, made us feel like old friends right away. The rooms were large and luxurious with gorgeous ocean views. The breakfasts were huge and everything was perfectly cooked to order. And the room rates were extremely reasonable. Well worth the money. It was without a doubt the most pleasant B&B we stayed at during our two week tour of Ireland. Additionally it is located in the beautiful and historic city of Portrush and only a short drive from the Carrick a Rede rope bridge, Dunluce Castle, the Giant's Causeway and the breathtaking scenic drive along the coast of northern Ireland. We can't wait to return next year. This B&B justly deserves my highest recommendation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    21
    11
    2
    7
See reviews for
34
52
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St. Moritz
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We've been (me, my GF and my parents from Italy) looking for an accomodation around Portrush on the night of the 30th November.

Knock at door of this B&B I wished to spend an overnight few years before, we found two of the most exquisite persons ever; Tim is the most welcoming host we've ever met in our life, showing us the Portrush room with a breathtaking seaview which we left to my parents and another room just next to it for my and my GF which was very comfortable and clean.

We had more than just helpful infos about the area and, most important, about where to eat on that evening (If you want to know which restaurant, you should reserve a room up there and ask him personally!). Tim also gave us a map with all the high spots in Portrush.

On our way back to the b&b (unfortunately we were pretty tired from a long driven journey) my parents had an issue with the heating which they found not hot enough. On request they had an extra electric chafeur plus a few hours more heating on.

The morning after we had a superb breakast with an amazing view of the harbour. The Northern Ireland soda bread was different as we used to know it but in any case great! Tim is a great cook too.

Looking around the room we found very impressive pics which we discovered just later that they were token by Tim himself and we had a little chat about the Antrim area.

Unforunately we were on the run but we promised ourself to be back in Harbour Heights next time; and that should happen soon!

Not often we find such warm and welcome places, at least never happen so well like in here!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed one night at Harbour Heights, wish we were there longer! Sam and Tim were very welcoming and friendly! Gave us a great recommendation for dinner-Harbour Bistro. Stayed in the seaview Portstewart room. Room was spacious and very clean and had a great bay window with view of the sea. Loved the bathtub as well. Breakfast was very tasty and another great view of the sea out the window. Would love to come back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Tim Swart was the most welcoming host we could have hoped for to look after our family while in Portrush. There were 5 of us in total & everyone was happy (after a rough start with one cranky toilet) with the comfort, size, price & amazing views of the Harbour. The BnB was close to everything in the city & Tim made some great recommendations for restaurants & helped with directions. He took the time to get to know us and we especially enjoyed his photography that graces the walls of the place. Clean, cozy and warm, we would come back and stay here again.

Room Tip: The double room #7 is the best room in the house! The view & size was most wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

B&B clean and delicious. A medium size room with a big bathroom just for 1 night for us was perfect, also without sea view, but i saved £10. Sam & Tim the owners, was lovely and really friendly. A huge english breakfast was waiting us in the morning, in front of a big window with a fantastic sea view. Absolutely suggested.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Enjoyed a great stay at Harbour Heights in Portrush. We asked Sam and Tim for their advice as we were only there for one night before continuing our holiday. Their advice was spot on and we had a great time. Everything about the place was impressive, particularly the cleanliness and the sea view. Thought the breakfast was a little disappointing though, didn't seem freshly cooked.

Room Tip: Paid extra for a sea view. Well worth it in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twomadcachers, Owner at Harbour Heights Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for your response & your positive comments. As for the breakfast not being freshly cooked - all the food is prepared & cooked each morning. Some items require more cooking time than others (especially the sausages & bacon) and so are put on to cook earlier in the morning, but items like eggs & soda / potato bread are cooked just prior to plating up, to ensure a freshly cooked breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

me & my partner loved harbour heights B&B portrush we arrived with no booking on the 23/08/2012 & we were greated by sam & her hubby tim they were very friendly & helpfull our room was SPOTLESS bed was so comfy the whole B&B its self was SPOTLESSLY clean & when you walk out the front door you are greated with amazing sea views & barrys is just a 2min walk away & waterworld is just a few mins walk away 2 when i told sam i was goin deaf in both ears she was great she spoke 2 me slowly clearly & loud it was such a releaf 2 me that i could understand her & not ave 2 rely on my partner 2 tell me wot was being said THANK YOU SAM also breakfast was great fryup tasted super & was served with a smile we will be staying at harbour heights again & we will be telling all our friends & family 2 stay here 2 you both made us feel very wellcome so THANK SAM & TIM hope 2 see you both very soon lol

Room Tip: choose any room they are good spotlessly clean & beds are so comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbour Heights Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Heights Bed & Breakfast

Address: 17 Kerr Street, Portrush BT56 8DG, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Portrush
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Portrush
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbour Heights has a friendly family atmosphere. Conveniently located central to all restaurants & amenities in Portrush, overlooking the blue-flag West Strand. We aim to make your stay pleasant, comfortable & memorable for all the right reasons. We can help plan your days with advice on the area, must-see places & where best to get a good bite to eat. A fabulous Ulster fry & good craic will set you up for your adventure-filled day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Harbour Heights Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Heights Hotel Portrush
Harbour Heights Bed And Breakfast
Harbour Heights Bed & Breakfast Portrush, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour Heights Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.