We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in interesting town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adelphi Portrush

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Adelphi Portrush to your Saves list
Adelphi Portrush
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   67-71 Main Street | Portrush, Portrush BT56 8BN, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Portrush
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Stockport, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in interesting town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We liked this hotel very much. Stayed three nights to visit the Giants Causeway and do some walking. The hotel has been thoroughly rebuilt inside a Victorian shell and has everyting to commend it. Rooms to a fine modern standard, including two comfortable chairs (not just one and a stool as often found). The rooms are well-soundproofed; there is no air-conditioning, but how many days a year would this been needed? The cost including a well-stuffed breakfast buffet and cooked option is very reasonable.

The restaurant has very good an inexpensive meals, including some remarkable cheap offers, although the three vegetarian options on the menu turned out to be down to two due to a unavailablity of Portobello mushrooms, so for variety we ate elsewhere one evening. The first night we were there it has been a public holiday and very sunny weather, so the friendly restaurant staff, like the rest of the town, were rather overwhelmed, but after that it was good service. There is no sign here of the 'troubles' for which Northern Ireland gets in the news, everyone is very friendly. The locals we met all seem to be in the pay of the tourist board, cheerfully suggesting good places to visit!

The hotel is on the Main Street, about 10 minutes walk from the railway station, which is important for us as we always travel by train. The trains are very new and offer a good service to Belfast, and there is a summer bus service to the G's causeway and ther famous rope bridge etc. The countryside and coast round about is lovely. (Although we were told that it isn't alweays so sunny!)

Two special mentions:

1. The Internet connection is the best we have even had in a hotel. One can watch BBC iPlayer etc. no 'buffering' issues.

2. We had to leave at 5.45 am to make a ferry connection, and the management arranged for the night porter to provide us with some breakfast items. Very welcome indeed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelphiPortrush, Owner at Adelphi Portrush, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your positive review.
I am please to hear that you found our internet speed fast, our staff helpful, our food good and that your early departure was accommodated.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    110
    28
    6
    8
See reviews for
89
212
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

We had a room lying on the ground floor with view on a very unpleasant courtyard. We wanted to change and we had to pay an upgrade for the suite, the only room left. It's a bit old fashionned, but ok. The staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelphiPortrush, Owner at Adelphi Portrush, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review.
I am sorry to hear that you did not like a courtyard view but I am glad that my staff ensured you were moved to a room to your liking.
We note your comment about our bedrooms, although all our rooms were extensively renovated a few years ago.
I am glad to hear that you found our staff and service good.
I do hope that you decide to return to us again if you return to Northern Ireland in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prescott,arizona
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Location is good, but on a very busy street, however, parking was found nearby. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Rooms smallish, but clean and comfortable, bed good and room was quiet. Good restaurants within reasonable walking distance and breakfast at Adelphi was very good.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelphiPortrush, Owner at Adelphi Portrush, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear guest
Thank you for taking the time to review us, we really appreciate guest feedback.
I am pleased to hear that you found our rooms clean, quiet and comfortable and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I was up with my family for the day and we decided to go for something to eat. I have Coeliac Disease so I have to have Gluten free (Google is my friend) which came up with this place. They have their own Gluten Free menu which I was happy with. The food was amazing and the dessert was beautiful. The only issue I have is that the women who was serving us was rather rude ad talked back to my sister when she mentioned that the sauce was cold. Other than that I would go back again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelphiPortrush, Owner at Adelphi Portrush, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Keeva,
I am pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable gluten free meal with us.
I am a Coeliac myself and understand the problems which can be ascociated with eating out.
I am sorry to hear that a staff memeber was rude to you and I can assure I have spoken to all my staff regarding this and I am confident that this will not happen again.
We look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Small bed and breakfast, rooms were small but clean.The location is good for the town,and the front rooms have a sea view,however there is limited parking on the road outside although the owner moved his car so that we could park 9 motorbikes together.
The cooked breakfast in the morning was good, and served very efficiently by the 2 young ladies running the kitchen.
A very friendly place with a real Irish welcome.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelphiPortrush, Owner at Adelphi Portrush, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review us.
I am pleased to hear that you were happy with our cooked breakfast, service and welcome.
As we are located on the Main Street, parking is on-street. At check-in our receptionists are happy to assist with directions.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tandragee, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

My friend was the first person to tell us about the Adelphi, that was last year!!!!!! We are now coming up to our fifth stay at the Adelphi and looking forward to it. This small hotel has such friendly staff, who recognize when you return and go out of their way to help you. The hotel is well placed in the middle of Portrush for all the restaurants, especially close to the famous wine-bar. It is also within easy reach by car of all the sights that the North Coast is famous for and close to some of the best Golf courses in N.Ireland. The Adelphi think of small things to make their guests welcome such as the umbrellas in the hall for their use and mine you when its the North Coast they can be very useful at times!!!!!!!! The small spa area in the hotel, is a great place to put in afternoon, especially when you have enjoyed a long walk and need some relaxation afterwards. The food in the hotel is great, plenty of choice both at breakfast and evening meal. If your there staying the weekend, it is a good idea to ring them a few days ahead and let the staff know what evening you want your evening meal on (if you are staying on one of their offers) and then your table is ready for you. Can't wait to get back!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are good!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelphiPortrush, Owner at Adelphi Portrush, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your fantastic review, I will pass on your comments to all our staff.
We are pleased to hear that you found our staff very helpful and our food enjoyable. I am sure that we will be greeting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Great hotel in Portrush, very friendly helpful staff, clean and comfortable bedrooms. Great breakfast, especially enjoyed getting cooked breakfast delivered to table! Special thanks to receptionist when we arrived to help unload car and point out free parking areas. Very central, so great for exploring Portrush and the wider coastline

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marchelle H, Manager at Adelphi Portrush, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. I am glad that you found our staff very friendly, also that you enjoyed breakfast cooked to order from the kitchen. I will also pass on your thanks to the Receptionist that helped with your luggage.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Adelphi in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Adelphi Portrush? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelphi Portrush

Address: 67-71 Main Street | Portrush, Portrush BT56 8BN, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Portrush
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portrush
#1 Green Hotel in Portrush
#2 Family Hotel in Portrush
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Adelphi Portrush 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adelphi Portrush is like a Boutique Style Hotel, and offers unparalleled luxury coupled with a quality of service that is second to none. Situated in the heart of Portrush, Adelphi Portrush is proudly owned and managed by the Holmes family. 28 Luxury en-suite bedrooms Health suite - Spa, Sauna and Steam Spa beauty and treatment Salon Fully licensed Bistro restaurant Lift to all floors, fully accessible Free internet, wired and Wi-Fi Complimentary guest computer ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Adelphi Portrush reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adelphi Portrush Hotel Portrush
Adelphi Hotel Portrush
Portrush Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Portrush Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adelphi Portrush, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.