We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wedding stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Court Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Royal Court Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Court Hotel
233 Ballybogey Rd., Portrush BT56 8NF, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Portrush
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“wedding stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed here while attending a wedding. The hotel was lovely. The room was very nice and we had a view of the beach. The food was of a very good standard. The staff are lovely and very friendly. We would definitely stop here again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    40
    20
    11
    4
See reviews for
48
67
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

I went to the hotel about a week ago to check it out regarding food and service and I had a fantastic meal for only £12 - a buffet main course and desert. The chief's attention to detail stood out, the portions were generous and I was very impressed. Yesterday my wife and I went to the hotel for our tea and we both agreed that the food was lovely, well prepared and presented with more than a hint of expertise. The staff were excellent. My wife and I will certainly be going back to this hotel again.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
armagh
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed here Saturday 28th September, and we enjoyed our stay. We chose the carvery for our main meal and it was delicious and plenty of it. Our bedroom was tastefully decorated and very clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We will recommend this hotel to our family and friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We had the pleasure in dining in the Royal Court Hotel on 2 evenings. On both occassions we were given a window seat which had beautiful views over the sea. The staff in the restaurant were delightful, so helpful, absolutely nothing was two much bother. The food was delicious and portions were massive and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushmills, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

on arrival at hotel restaurant the manageress was very attentive and helpful . we sat down and ordered our meal when it arrived I had to ask for my side order the wrong side was brought we had asked for a jug of ice water we are still waiting. Food very bland. when paying our bill the manageress ignored us. very disappointing.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

After reading reviews saying how great the food was, I decided to try the Sunday carvery. I was highly disappointed starter was ok, however the main was a massive let down. Vegetables were horrible very little selection to choose from., totally blanded. Also the chef serving the food barely understood or even spoke a word of English. Apple crumble had one slice of apple in it n the custard was lumpy. Not what I expect when paying £18 per adult. Won't be back very disappointing.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland, UK
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

On a terrible windy day, we got a lovely warm reception and a very nice standard twin room (one double and one single). Everything was clean and worked, though the shower unit from the taps was a disappointment, what with the excitement of British plumbing - will I get this soap rinsed off before the water goes cold again? - but I should have just had a bath instead.
Dinner service was quite old-fashioned, but the carvery was exactly what you would expect. We were disappointed that breakfast service starts at 8, as we had to get on the road earlier. I normally travel on business and this would certainly put me off, as I need breakfast before getting to meetings that usually start at 9. So, overall, we were very comfortable and it was pretty much what we expected.

Room Tip: Being slightly out of town, I would think that there is no problem with road moise in any room. We w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Court Hotel

Address: 233 Ballybogey Rd., Portrush BT56 8NF, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Portrush
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Portrush
#3 Family Hotel in Portrush
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel occupies one of the most picturesque positions on Northern Ireland’s famous coastline, overlooking the Seaside town of Portrush with panoramic views from County Donegal to the Scottish Isles and over to the Giant’s Causeway. The famous Links Course, Royal Portrush Golf Club is also right on our door step with the 4th hole protruding enough for our diners and guests to enjoy. You never know who you might be watching.With plenty of activities in our local area including, Links Golf Courses, the Legendary Giant’s Causeway, Carrick-A-Rede Rope Bridge, Dunluce Castle, beautiful beaches and coastal walks, and lets not forget Irelands Oldest Distillery, which was granted a royal licence to distil ‘uisce beatha’ translated, water of life in Gaelic or as we know it today Whiskey, in 1608, located in Bushmills. These are to name but a few, there is always plenty to do and see for all walks of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Court Portrush
Royal Court Hotel Portrush, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.