We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in splendid location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Court Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Royal Court Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Court Hotel
233 Ballybogey Rd., Portrush BT56 8NF, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Portrush
Bristol
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in splendid location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Have just returned to England after spending 3 nights in Royal Court Hotel (short break to visit Causeway Coast). The staff all very friendly and efficient, waiting staff very happy to help and meals were served with good timing between courses. The wine was not overly expensive at £10.50 for a bottle of rose. The dining room is situated overlooking the bay and has beautiful views of White rock beach and Portrush. The bedroom was spotless and the sea view and small terrace outside were well worth paying extra for - the sun was shining when we arrived and this was the perfect start to our short holiday. The bed was very comfortable and mattress seemed fairly new. I am bit puzzled by a previous review that suggested the decor needed updating - the hotel was absolutely fine as it is. (One small complaint - a television was on during breakfast. When away to get away from it all, one doesn't always want to see the news, even if one did want to see it, the television was only visible for a few of the diners!) Would recommend this hotel if you are staying in this area.

Room Tip: Ask for room 101 and you will get a fantastic sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    40
    20
    11
    4
See reviews for
48
67
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Heidelberg
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Location location location what a view and a spacious well appointed room and dinning experience, we overnighted here and really enjoyed our sea view at dinner and n early morning. Well located to visit Bushmill and Giants causeway

Room Tip: Make sur you book a sea view its great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

What a gem. Perched on a hill overlooking the ocean and the Royal Portrush Golf Course is this gem of a hotel. Our room had a sea view and we could see Donegal and the Scottish isles. Breathtaking.
Outstanding service from professional and genuinely friendly staff, we cannot speak more highly of this hotel.
Excellent food from breakfast and dinner and a great wee bar full of character.
And the position to drive to Dunlace Castle, Giants Causeway, etc with the most beautiful scenery on the way makes this one of my favourite hotels anywhere.

Room Tip: A room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is our 4th year staying at the Royal Court for the Northwest 200. We came across the hotel by accident whilst looking for accomodation in Portrush and we have never looked back. We stayed in the Causeway Suite which has just been freshly decorated, the room was spacious and spotlessly clean with a balcony with stunning sea views.
The food is always good whether it's breakfast or a relaxed dinner in the Bar & Grill or in the restaurant.
All the staff are lovely, very friendly and remembered us from previous visits which was nice.
Portrush is a lovely wee seaside town and the Antrim Coast is breathtaking.
Before we left we booked for next year and are looking forward to it.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here recently for a wedding. The views in the function suite out to the water are awesome; there is a paved area that is great for group photos!

My room was spacious and nicely decorated. Large comfy bed with a decent sized bathroom. Staff were courteous and asked if I needed help with luggage.

The only reason my review isn't better is the "wifi" which is detailed as being available throughout the bedrooms. I was able to use wifi at the front desk, but has obvious restrictions. If you want a weekend disconnected from the world, this hotel is perfect. Fantastic views and great accommodations.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stayed here recently and it was OK. The room was clean enough with ample space although the whole decor of the hotel is a little tired and very early 90s. A modern day revamp would be a good idea. Also next morning in the breakfast room when I asked to sit at a window-side table, I was informed the table was for lunch.(???) Very strange indeed. Instead we were shown to a table behind a pillar with restricted seaview! For the price, I would prefer to stay down the road at Atlantic Hotel or the Ramada.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We had a small family get together here, staying mid-week when the hotel was quiet and very few guests. Rooms were lovely - clean and comfortable. Not all the rooms have sea views, but those that do are wonderful. The dining experience was quiet, the food good, and the views were lovely. All the staff we encountered - front desk and waiters - were very friendly. Price was reasonable.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Court Hotel

Address: 233 Ballybogey Rd., Portrush BT56 8NF, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Portrush
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Portrush
#3 Family Hotel in Portrush
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel occupies one of the most picturesque positions on Northern Ireland’s famous coastline, overlooking the Seaside town of Portrush with panoramic views from County Donegal to the Scottish Isles and over to the Giant’s Causeway. The famous Links Course, Royal Portrush Golf Club is also right on our door step with the 4th hole protruding enough for our diners and guests to enjoy. You never know who you might be watching.With plenty of activities in our local area including, Links Golf Courses, the Legendary Giant’s Causeway, Carrick-A-Rede Rope Bridge, Dunluce Castle, beautiful beaches and coastal walks, and lets not forget Irelands Oldest Distillery, which was granted a royal licence to distil ‘uisce beatha’ translated, water of life in Gaelic or as we know it today Whiskey, in 1608, located in Bushmills. These are to name but a few, there is always plenty to do and see for all walks of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Court Portrush
Royal Court Hotel Portrush, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.