We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb steaks, only a flying visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Court Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Royal Court Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Court Hotel
233 Ballybogey Rd., Portrush BT56 8NF, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Portrush
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Superb steaks, only a flying visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

My partner and i popped in for lunch here on a quiet Monday afternoon, as we are getting married here later in the year. All i can say is what a delight from start to finish. We shared the garlic mushroom starter and this was a perfect size for two never mind one!We both went for the 11oz steak to follow, superb. Piled with tobacco onions and a thick, rich & creamy pepper sauce on the side the meat was perfectly cooked to my preference (med rare) and with a good size side of champ the dish was perfectly proportioned.
The view from the table is almost unrivalled in Ireland.
A great dinner that did not have to be very to be fancy as it was brilliant in its flavour and simplicity. All this and a large coke and apple juice was ONLY £32. Roll on my wedding party.

Room Tip: Causeway suite has a hot tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    40
    20
    11
    4
See reviews for
48
67
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

Just returned from this hotel after a three night break.
Our room overlooked the stunning Antrim Coast and was spacious and very comfortable. ,
Giant Causeway ,Carick a rede rope bridge, Glens of Antrim and Bushmills Distillary all within easy reach by car and much worth a visit.
Hotel staff were extremley helpful especially on our last day when we thought we might be unable to return to London due to the snow , staff looked up on the internet weather report and flight disruptions.
Food was good , especially the wholesome breakfast.
Hotel was in perfect location for short break.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view, well worth the upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, Lancashire
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

We stopped here for 1 night just before Christmas with a small group of friends. The location is excellent in terms of the view of the coast/beach and golf course. It is however some way from the actual town of Portrush - about a 5 min drive. It would be a nice walk on a summers day though.

We paid extra for a sea view - £99 for 1 night. It was unusual to be asked for a £50 deposit at the time of booking. Whilst the room was relatively spacious (2 double beds) and we had the lovely view, I did find it to be over-priced for the service and facilities provided. On arrival, my husband took a shower and there was no hot water. A friend also had a similar problem. It was fixed by the morning, but the water pressure wasn't wonderful.

Decor-wise, it could do with updating - both rooms and general hotel areas. Breakfast was an underwhelming affair. Some cereals and limited fruit. No continental options. Cooked breakfast was a help-yourself buffet. Generally ok. We were offered tea and coffee on arrival, but then it wasn't topped up. Serving staff for breakfast were quite stern.

Front of house staff were helpful and chatty however.

Overall I was quite underwhelmed. It wasn't terrible by any stretch of the imagination, but it just wasn't wonderful either.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skelleftea, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

Fantastic setting in Portrush, near golf course, town and Giants Causeway. Great views and friendly staff.
HOWEVER:
No hot water on arrival. Whole hotel was cold (I know it was December in North of Northern ireland but still!) as was my room (and I am rarely cold!). They fixed the hot water but the shower pressure was abysmal. Double bed was two single beds pushed together and bedded over so the "gap" was annoying. Cleaners awoke me at 6.30 am cleaning up the Xmas party below. Had to pay a deposit when booking which I find unusual and couldnt book online (ok maybe Im being picky now but I wanted a hot shower!!!) I also thought £80 b+b was quite pricey for that time of year (but dont mind paying if i get hot water)
Was never offered any sort of compensation for no or weak hot shower on two different occasions.
On the plus side:
Breakfast was tremendous. Reception staff were very very friendly and helpful. All the possbilities of a great hotel but just didnt get it right!! For me bed and shower are the two most important factors!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side have great views of the sea (west sides just the car park). My friend had a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed here this weekend staying in three double rooms. The rooms were spacious and clean and warm. Our bedroom overlooked the car park and a ventilation fan and had a huge spotlight outside it which was only partly obscured by a blind. There was the usual noise from overdone wedding guests and the heating came on with a jolt and judder at 6.30am.
The staff were friendly and helpful for the most part, but the food was very ordinary. I had a goats cheese tartlet with 'vegetarian salad' which was a hard pastry case filled with ratatouille and topped with a small disc of cheese. It was not nice. Other members of the group had steak and duck but no one was that impressed with their meal. I would not eat there again.

The hotel is well placed for exploring the coastline but could revamp its menu.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craigavon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

Stayed for a weekend and was very satisfied. The room was nice and clean with all the usual ammenities you expect. The food was very good and the view from the restaurant was spectacular. (overlooking White Rocks beach). All the staff were very nice and all were helpful. The hotel is close to the Giants Causeway and all the other attractions that everyone visits at the North Antrim coast area. I reccomend this hotel for a short break & some pease & quiet.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

We recently held our wedding here and can't speak highly enough of the place! Everything ran very smoothly and the food was lovely, there was even enough left over for people to have 2nd's.

Excellent service and highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Court Hotel

Address: 233 Ballybogey Rd., Portrush BT56 8NF, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Portrush
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Portrush
#3 Family Hotel in Portrush
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel occupies one of the most picturesque positions on Northern Ireland’s famous coastline, overlooking the Seaside town of Portrush with panoramic views from County Donegal to the Scottish Isles and over to the Giant’s Causeway. The famous Links Course, Royal Portrush Golf Club is also right on our door step with the 4th hole protruding enough for our diners and guests to enjoy. You never know who you might be watching.With plenty of activities in our local area including, Links Golf Courses, the Legendary Giant’s Causeway, Carrick-A-Rede Rope Bridge, Dunluce Castle, beautiful beaches and coastal walks, and lets not forget Irelands Oldest Distillery, which was granted a royal licence to distil ‘uisce beatha’ translated, water of life in Gaelic or as we know it today Whiskey, in 1608, located in Bushmills. These are to name but a few, there is always plenty to do and see for all walks of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Court Portrush
Royal Court Hotel Portrush, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.