We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value b n b” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avarest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Avarest House to your Saves list
Avarest House
64 Mark Street, Portrush BT56 8BU, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 27 Portrush B&B and Inns
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great value b n b”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We had a lovely stay here......Location is perfect....3 minute stroll down to the harbour, where theres a lovely pub serving a splendid pint of Guinness together with high quality eateries to suit all tastes and budgets......The room was cosy with a lovely clean en suite....and had everything you would expect from a quality hotel. The staff were warm and friendly and the breakfast was amazing.......best we've ever had.....the value for money and customer service on offer pushes up the rating in my opinion. We will be returning for another wonderful weekend soon!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    30
    16
    4
    6
See reviews for
26
58
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this B&B last week and were very disappointed in that breakfast was supposed to be served from 8:30 am to 10:00 am. We waited in the study until 9:40 am an no one ever came to cook breakfast let alone open the dining room. The temperature outside was close to 80 degrees and they had the heaters on in the room (no good for menopause women). The room was great and the bed was comfortable. My real disappointment was that there was no one there (we checked in at 5:50 pm...last check in is at 6:00 pm) and we left at 9:40 am and still no one was around at all. I never saw another person at the hotel which was supposed to be fully booked for the evening.

Room Tip: There is an awesome restaurant just around the corner called Ramone's Wine Shop...highly recomme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spollock, Owner at Avarest House, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Firstly we really must apologise for your experience. The B&B was not due to be open due to our wedding anniversary, but due to an error the booking system was not booked out and your booking came in. Rather than relocate you our daughter decided she would look after things. We are very sorry that she slept in on that one morning you were there, it happens we are all human. If you had contacted us directly after your stay to inform us of your disappointment we could have tried to compensate you for not having breakfast. Regarding the heaters they are controlled by the guests so don't understand why you didn't just turn it off and open the window.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nola, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Good location near the Portrush harbor, but that is about the extent of our positivie remarks. Avarest House has very dark, old, creaky halls, stairs and rooms with torn, raveled carpeting. Owners have made no effort to update the place or to make you feel welcome, they hide behind a door in a small closet. They have kept up with high prices; Avarest is outrageously expensive for what you get. The owners did not offer any apologies when 1 of their 3 dogs growled and jumped up on us. The tables in the common room and window sills were very dusty. All night long we were awaken by loud, noisy doors 2 floors down. Avarest is run more like a hostel. The exception was breakfast. Cooked and served by the owner’s young daughter, the breakfasts were very nice and she was delightful! Our party of 6 stayed for 2 nights; during our 2 week vacation, this was our only negative experience that we had with B&Bs in Ireland and Northern Ireland.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spollock, Owner at Avarest House, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Must say not surprised by your review in the slightest. We try to accommodate everyone, but it is not possible in reality to please everyone. We know you had a problem about not getting a sea view like your friends and if it had been possible to do so we would have, in hindsight we should have gave you all small doubles which you had booked, still all upgrades were free of charge and in comparison to other b&b's in the area we are similarly priced. Banging doors from below you would have been your friends so maybe you should have had a word with them! The clue is in the type of accommodation "Victorian" of coarse it is old, with original character and charm in halls, wooden panelling etc. We have noticed the ravelled carpet you talk of, one ravel poking out of crip bar between bathroom and room. As for the dogs if you didn't want contact with them you shouldn't have followed after us into our private quarters to make of them, we know you were trying to be friendly and as you all had been sitting in the lounge drinking and were somewhat merry it didn't seem necessary to apologise for Freddie jumping up to say hello when you made of him, you were quite the participant, maybe you had forgotten this. As for hiding behind a door this is utterly offensive comment. Reception is off our living room and when attention is required the door is answered we have not the time or staff to man a reception 24/7, it is a b&b not the Hilton. Thankfully you did enjoy breakfast which was cooked by myself and served by our daughter Sorry to any other trip readers for the long winded answer but it is how we get our side across, and there always is 2 sides to every story.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Perfect location. Very good value-we got a great rate online. Good breakfast and a few wee welcome extras in the room. Very good indeed. The rooms were finished to a really high standard. The mattresses were good quality and we slept really well.

We're looking forward to getting another weekend there soon.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for NW200 with two children and we really enjoyed it. Weather was great until race day when it chucked it down but plenty of heaters in room to dry us out. Excellent B&B. Large room and all the breakfast you wanted. Host couldnt do enough for us. Would go back again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The location is great, the staff is friendly, breakfast is authentic and above average, internet works in some areas of the hotel, but worked fine in my room. I stayed in room #8, which was quiet, a perfect temperature, and the bed was fine. The toilet wouldn't flush properly (didn't have enough suction to clear it), but the bathroom with the light above the mirror and on the ceiling was sufficient. I was with my father and two brothers. We all had our own rooms. General experience was good enough. Wi-Fi does not work in some of the back or higher rooms and bathroom lighting can be insufficient. My towels were fine, but I was told other rooms towels weren't acceptable.

Overall, it was probably not in the best shape, but was still a pleasant experience. Also note that only the online deposit is by credit card. The remaining balance is expected in cash. I might have missed this in the booking, but be aware of this in case you want to use credit card.

Room Tip: Make sure that your room has sufficient light in the bathroom, meaning more than the dim overhead li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spollock, Owner at Avarest House, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our home. We know you guys all had a great time golfing for dad's 70th birthday. Just to address some of your points, we know your father had a problem with light in his bathroom and so when it was pointed out the bulbs were energy saving and took longer to light the area he was fine with that, we also added an extra light above the mirror to make it brighter for him. We have had problems with people from the US in general with toilet flushes, you guys are used to push buttons, where usually in Britain and Ireland it is a handle system, which proves to be confusing for you!! As for the towels upon reading owners response to previous reviews these have all been replaced with a batch of new ones. Unfortunately you must not have read your terms of booking cause it says clearly that deposits are paid with cards and balances in cash, this is the best way we can offer adding no further charges for card usage, maybe if the banks wavered these fees to us that would help the consumer, we refuse to ask clients for a 2.5 or 3% charge to use their card, it is unfair, but large companies don't seem to have an issue passing on the charge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights in June and it was lovely. We had paid for a room with a sea-view and it lived up to expectations. We were able to look out over the harbour and the beach. There was a table and 2 chairs beside the window which meant my husband and I were able to relax and sit and enjoy the view. The room was well decorated, very comfortable and we enjoyed a good nights sleep. The Avarest was conveniently situated to all of the local attractions and meant we didn't have far to go to see the the likes of Barry's or the local shops. After a good nights sleep we enjoyed a great breakfast. I am a coeliac and was very impressed with the gluten free breakfast that was provided. This was one of the things that initally drew me to the place as not many places cater for this. Overall we had a lovely stay and will definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avarest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avarest House

Address: 64 Mark Street, Portrush BT56 8BU, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Portrush
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Portrush
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avarest is a victorian Town House set in the centre of Portrush. Minutes to all amenities, free unrestricted parking on street. All rooms ensuite, some sporting superb ocean views. Special diets catered for , vegetarian, gluten free, lacto intolerant. A short drive to Giants Causeway and Bushmills Distillery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Avarest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avarest House Portrush, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avarest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.