We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Complete dive” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Eglinton Hotel

Eglinton Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Portrush
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Eglinton Hotel
Save
You added Eglinton Hotel to your Saves list
49 Eglinton Street, Portrush BT56 8DZ, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Portrush
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Complete dive”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Dirty, stinking, bogging, which needs knocked down and rebuilt again from scratch. I Wouldnt stay in it again if 'they' paid me ! Please take my advice and stay well clearw.... !! Never again will I ever set foot in this hellhole !!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    4
    6
    7
    43
See reviews for
12
20
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coleraine, Co. Londonderry , N. Ireland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

This is the worst hotel in N Ireland. Avoid at all costs, the place is dirty, smelly and the owner is a very ignorant man. Food is horrible, rooms smell and decor is from the 70's!!
DO NOT STAY HERE
Try one of the other hotels in the town or one of the smaller bed & breakfasts.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

I remember the school dinner hall in the eighties being better than what i saw today.
Food was terrible and someone needs to explain what a Carvery is supposed to look like. The 'salad bar', oh wait, the bowl of coleslaw and bowl of beetroot was hilarious.There wasnt a bit of lettuce in sight.
We had a choice of 4 dried out meats. Then we were allocated a scoop of mashed carrot?? A scoop of mashed turnip. A scoop of mashed potato and one soggy roast potato. This wasnt our choice, this was all there was. What really confused us was the fried mushrooms?? and the fact that if you had roast beef you could only have turkey gravy!!
Oh and you are not allowed to help yourself, its all dumped on your plate!!!

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

went for the carvery in August 2013,with my husband and 2 young granddaughters, i should have left when we went into the foyer as there was 2 cops wanting to question possibly a guest, however we did not want to take the girls in a fast food place and wanted Sunday dinner, when we asked what was on the menu the receptionist advised, however pay in advance, and when we did, we were given tickets for starters, main and desert, then proceeded to the dining room, what a disaster, it was like a canteen, carvery i know is you can have what you want a bit of everything if you wish, but not here, the food was rationed, one meat only, everything was tasteless, we ordered a jug of orange juice for the table, and the waitor took it to our table and then asked for £1.50 for it, but the worst bit was the desert, with 2 young girls aged 4 and 2, they got icecream one was in a cute little sundae glass, the other in a plain bowl, which caused the youngest to scream and when I asked could they bring another sundae dish, the waitoress said ok, but then came back and said sorry they had none left, to add insult to injury a more mature lady waitoress came with a glass container that you would put a tealight in and asked would this do !!!!!! I just want to say this was worse experience of dining I have ever had, this hotel should get its act together and cater for their paying guests, and possibly send their management around other hotels to see what is on their menus for the same price. Overall worse experience, next time I visit Portrush, I will not be visiting this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Went in for there lovely daily carvery well the worst dinner i have had in my whole life cold tasteless and just fit for the dog bowl waitress just stood talking tables not cleaned dated hotel needs knocked down

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

stayed one night. 17th september , i thought i was in the 1950,s or 60,s.
stucko plastering on walls
19 inch old style portable tv which did not work.
first room i got the door lock was broken and tv did not work, so i was moved to a room on the top floor with 5 flights of stairs.
tv also did not work properly/ radiator missing in the bathroom and the bathroom window nailed shut.
the bed was like a brick and one sheet and one cover and i dont mean a duvet.
the room was very cold and this is august/ i told my wife to close the window and she said it was closed, i checked it out and the wind was howling through the joints and blowing the curtain.
i was awake most of the night because it was so cold in the room and i had to put my clothes back on to keep warm.
there was no heat in the room that i could find.
next morning we had afry for breakfast and it was all deep fried bread /yuck
all in all i would not stay at this hotel for free.

Room Tip: stay away from this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This hotel was dump. Don't be fooled by the looks of the lobby and bar area. The rooms were small and dirty and the bathrooms were disgusting. Worse part was the noise. A pub is located next door. People were in the street screaming at 3:00am both nights we were there. Then the drag racing started up and down the street. I have no idea why the police allow this to happen. Got up in the morning for golf and there were two drunken beligerant people in the lobby that wouldn't leave.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eglinton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eglinton Hotel

Address: 49 Eglinton Street, Portrush BT56 8DZ, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Portrush
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Portrush
Number of rooms: 138
Also Known As:
Eglinton Hotel Portrush, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eglinton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.