We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average food with average service.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Inn on the Coast

Inn on the Coast
50 Ballyreagh Road, Portrush BT56 8LT, Northern Ireland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 51 Restaurants in Portrush
Restaurant details
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Average food with average service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Ate in the restaurant last night. Service was slow and food was pretty bland. The manager couldn't work the till when we tried to pay. Seemed very disorganised and no personal touch at all.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    6
    3
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Awful we won't be back :-(”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We popped in here for a quick bite to eat on a recommendation and as it was so handy to our caravan site we thought we must try it out. The service was really slow even though the restaurant was not busy. My husband became tired of waiting for someone to take our order so went to the bar to order the food. Whilst he was doing that a waitress who may also have been the manager approached to take our order I explained my husband was ordering at the bar and she looked at me as if I had 3 heads before flouncing off I felt like a naughty school girl. I had the battered fish and chips the batter was undercooked and unpleasant. My husband had the crispy duck in a plum and caramel sauce the caramel was like toffee and was stuck to the plate my husband joked that they would have to throw the plate out as no-one would be able to scrape that off. A really awful meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“never again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

10 of us dined here and the food was the worst ever. The food was basic, not much to choose from and tasteless, very disapointing. The kids meals were £4.95 without drink or icecream overpriced for fries and a microwave burger I was disgusted. Plain food overpriced should have stayed at home and cooked much better myself rip off.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A good basic meal if you are passing.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

We had dinner here as a family as we were staying in the Hotel. Our kids are 12 and 15.
The bar / restaurant area is not all that inviting, could be made more appealing I think. The menu was nice, and we all got a meal we enjoyed.The service is good, price reasonable. That said I wouldn't rush back. It's OK if you are passing , don't make a detour !

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownards, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“dining experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

good food and service,pleasnt helpful staff.menu was varied with plenty of choice and a kiddies menu also available.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Inn on the Coast also viewed

Portrush, County Antrim
Portrush, County Antrim
 
Portrush, County Antrim
 

Been to Inn on the Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn on the Coast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.