We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tea for two” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantic Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Atlantic Hotel to your Saves list
Atlantic Hotel
Bushmills Road, Portrush BT55 8JQ , Northern Ireland (Formerly Atlantis Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Portrush
portstewart
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“tea for two”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

tea for two night out ,had a lovely tea great food lovely place, friendly very well priced ,would go back and if anyone passes buy do call in , g r e a t also a night club if you buy a meal free entry

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    17
    9
    8
    15
See reviews for
16
59
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

overall excellent/ hotel clean and nice decor/food excellent/and the prices very good for me..would always stay here when next in portrush. right across the road from royal portrush golf club and about a 10 minute walk to the centre of portrush with lots of other nice bars and restaurants.the food was that good we stayed on for their sunday carvery/4 adults with 2 coarses and drinks was approx £60 and the quality was excellent/ the hotel staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Great stay here and ideal location for visiting Giants Causeway.
Walking distance into Portrush and right opposite Royal Portrush Golf Club.
Staff so friendly and helpful - John on reception was so so helpful and friendly- couldn't of done more for us and our stay !

Rooms in the hotel are basic but suited us well for a one night stay.
Had drinks & meal in the restaurant and very pleased with food and service,

Thanks Atlantic

Room Tip: There is a night club as part of the complex so ask for a room maybe further away from the night clu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Just returned from a one night stay and would never stay there again. On arrival at the hotel there was no one in reception for to check us in had to wait around for someone to check us in. Room was adequate for 2 adults and 2 children. No soap in soap dispenser in the bathroom. We ate in the bar area. Food was of poor enough quality. Garlic fries were small chunks of fried potatoes swimming in garlic butter. A burger was £11 on a la carte menu and £7 on the bar menu (a copy of which was in the bedroom ) though we were only offered the a la carte menu. Burger was good but chips and onion rings were terrible. Chicken pasta was lovely but way over priced at £11 and the garlic bread was a frozen toastie. We were charged £1.20 for 2 small glasses of diluted orange. The nite club was on and it was impossible to sleep with the noise of the music and the noise out in the car park afterwards. Not a great idea to have a family room so close to the nite club. In the morning we were told that the kids breakfast was free but on reviewing the bill we were charged £5 per child and our 5 year old only had a bowl of Rice Krispies!!! Check out took about 20 minutes had to wait for receptionist to come on duty to find the bill. The original bill I got didn't have the dinner from the previous night on it and I pointed this out (wish I hadn't ) and was shocked when I checked the bill later and realised that I was charged £10 for the kids breakfast.Overall food was extremely overpriced and because of the noise and overall mismanagement we will never return.

Room Tip: Book a different hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We didn't stay at the hotel but in the caravan park near by. We ate in the restaurant on two separate occasions and were really pleased on both visits. The food was outstanding and the portion size quiet reasonable. I had duck on my first visit and fish on the second. The food was well presented and very tasty. The waiting staff were lovely but did fail to notice when we had finished and were waiting for the bill. I had to get their attention in the end by shouting as they walked past. The cost of the meal was reasonable at about £45 with a bottle of wine. We would definitely go again and recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrim, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Stayed in Atlantic Hotel 15/16 July. We're checked in by a very polite and helpful young man Iain. The room ,15 was adequate for what we paid. We ate in the restaurant on one evening and the food was not great, however when we complained we were not charged for the meal, and the staff were very helpful. Although there was not a lot choice of cereals, the cooked breakfast was excellent, clean and well cooked. The Hotel's best asset are their staff, they were polite, friendly and couldn't do enough to help. I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I have stayed in the hotel once now and I will never ever be back.... Was showen to my room when it was still being cleaned... And the people that were cleaning them was very cheeky and no manours at all.. Weightresses never smiled when delivering our food. We had asked for a jug of water and it wasn't until half an hour later we got it. I will not be back at this hotel I do not recommend it to anyone it was really bad. Brake fast cerials was out of date!

Room Tip: Rooms are very hot
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Hotel

Address: Bushmills Road, Portrush BT55 8JQ , Northern Ireland (Formerly Atlantis Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Portrush
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Portrush
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantic Hotel Bar & Grill is a Modern Hotel, situated in the town of Portrush, on the North Coast of Ireland. We serve fresh & local food daily and offer FREE wifi to all guests. Entertainment in hotel every Saturday night & on fridays in Peak season. Situated beside Kelly's Nightclub- which operates Wednesdays and Saturday Nights (residents staying receive Free access to Kellys) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Atlantic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Hotel Portrush, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantic Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.