We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab breakfast ......clean rooms......nice place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brae-Mar Bed & Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Brae-Mar Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brae-Mar Bed & Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   99 Coleraine Road, Portrush BT568HN, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 27 Portrush B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fab breakfast ......clean rooms......nice place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We had a great holiday in Portrush and stay at Brae-Mar. Breakfast was tasty and Found out this B&B is right on the route of the North West 200 Bike race in May so I will definitely be back for that.
Was clean and welcoming.....good value for money too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    7
    4
    1
    5
See reviews for
5
10
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay. Free sky sports, free parking, free wi-fi!!
Rooms and beds were really clean. The vegetarian breakfast was lovely and the guy that owned it couldn't do enough for us.......will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Greeted on arrival with a welcoming feel, room spacious and the owner even dropped is off in town and got us directions to our next generation simple bed and breakfast with great hosts and a great breakfast to set you on your way thanks

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Greeted by a gentleman, who must have just had his lunch and had some of it on his top... Once inside there was a strong smell of smoke... We stayed in this B&B purely as it was pet friendly. The bedding was clean but the room was dated and as other posters have stated a dust and hoover wouldn't go a miss! Breakfast was nice and even the dog got a sausage. I wouldn't recommend this to anyone as its not the cleanest or nothing to draw you there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

Had a grt stay girls really loved the fact that they we're on a sofa bed! Allen the owner was very nice to deal with would def stay there again.very close to everything u need and grt parking facilities aswell

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yateley, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Absolutely filthy and the smell of smoking got you as soon as you went into the B&B. There was so much mould in our shower and bathroom, it was in the seals of the door, tiles and on the ceiling, the taps were also very dirty. There was a large hole behind the electirc shower unit. The rest of the room didn't seem to have seen a duster in months and hadn't been hoovered before we checked-in. At breakfast there was hair in the butter. The residents lounge was supposed to be non-smoking was clearly used as a smoking room by the owner and on the morning of departure Alan the owner was smoking in there. The bedrooms at the Brae-Mar are all smoking rooms and I wish this had been written in large writing on their website. We paid £120 to stay in this double room for one night.

Room Tip: Only saw room 1, so check this room has been cleaned before you check in and be mindful that it is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012 via mobile

This is an all smoking B&B. I had no idea of it when I booked it. As a former smoker it was pretty icky. However, if you DO smoke, this is the place! I would have appreciated this B&B during my puffing days. Allen, the owner was fantastically helpful. He recommended The Wine Bar for dinner and it was super.
The bathroom was dirty (pubic hair in the throw rug and the toilet hadn't been cleaned properly) but the bed was comfortable and we both slept well.
Breakfast was perfection.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Brae-Mar Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brae-Mar Bed & Breakfast

Address: 99 Coleraine Road, Portrush BT568HN, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Portrush
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Portrush
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Brae-Mar Bed & Breakfast 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Brae-Mar Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brae-Mar Bed & Breakfast Portrush, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brae-Mar Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.