We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy to Find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brae-Mar Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Brae-Mar Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Brae-Mar Bed & Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   99 Coleraine Road, Portrush BT568HN, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 27 Portrush B&B and Inns
Carthage, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Easy to Find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

This B&B was very easy to locate on the way into town, and the proprietor, Alan, was very helpful in suggesting places that were open(We visited in December, near Christmas). He also offered us the choice of a regular room or a separate apartment/flat for the same price, which we took. It was nice having a little kitchen and common room all to our selves, and it also meant that we controlled our own thermostat, which my wife liked. It was easy to find our way to the Giant's Causeway and Dunluce castle from this B&B.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    10
    5
    2
    10
See reviews for
7
12
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

Pleasant B&B with spacious off-road parking. Friendly owner. Very nice room and large lounge available, Very pet-friendly and adjacent to dog-walk. On outskirts of Portrush. Standard full breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

little bit disappionted about staying here looked so nice on the pictures rooms a bit dated people friendly and helpful

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
128 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
391 helpful votes 391 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed here for one night as part of a touring holiday of Ireland.

It is easy to find on the main road in from Coleraine and there is ample space to park.
The owners are *extremely* pleasant and friendly and love dogs.

The guest house is spotlessly clean and the bedding and towels were immaculate. The breakfast supplied was HUGE - and well cooked and presented.

The only problem for us was the size of the room - we found it very small indeed and the bathroom was microscopic and the most difficult layout possible. Not to put too fine a point on it but one had to sit on the toilet with legs jammed against the door!

Obviously this is a B & B and not a hotel and we were only there for one night so we coped.

I would have to recommend the B & B for all its other factors.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

The B&B is quite lovely and in a very nice location. The hotel is pet friendly and so are the staff! My husband and I were traveling with our two labradors and two small children. The owner of the B&B was super friendly and very kind to the dogs and the children too. In fact, my son forgot his beloved Scooby Doo stuffed animal and was unable to sleep without him.
The owner of the B&B kindly shipped the stuffed toy to us right after we left. I would definately stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brae-Mar Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brae-Mar Bed & Breakfast

Address: 99 Coleraine Road, Portrush BT568HN, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Portrush
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Portrush
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Brae-Mar Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Expedia so you can book your Brae-Mar Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brae-Mar Bed & Breakfast Portrush, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brae-Mar Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.