We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NW200 campsite getting worse!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hilltop Holiday Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portrush
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hilltop Holiday Park
Save
You added Hilltop Holiday Park to your Saves list
60 Loguestown Road, Portrush BT56 8PD, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Lisburn, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“NW200 campsite getting worse!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I've stayed in the campsite set up for the NW200 now for that last 5 years and I just have to say that this site this year was the worst ever out of all the places I've stayed at the NW200!
We stayed from Thursday to the Saturday as we've done for the last few years and couldn't believe the state of the facilities provided this time.The main gates were locked on the Thur night of the racing and we had the choice of either walking about a mile up through the caravan park itself or we had to go climbing over the gate just to get out to see the racing. There were 4 showers for the entire campsite and no proper toilet facilities but for 6 plastic portaloos, again for the entire campsite and they were in a godawful state!
So after this experience I seriously doubt I'll be using it again next year.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlairsCaravans, Manager at Hilltop Holiday Park, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Over the last three years our campsite for the NW200 has been running at a loss due to the reduced number of people camping. This is why we weren't able to do things this year such as opening the bottom gate (employing extra security) and having a chip van etc. I'm sure people can understand with the current climate everyone is having to make cut backs.
Concerning your camping pitch; the weather was an exceptional circumstance this year and the amount of rain fall on our campsite was out of our hands.
Next year, perhaps if there is some arrangement with the NW organisers we will try to run as we used to.
We really appreciate your customer loyalty with us over the past 5 years and hope you will return again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    15
    7
    9
    14
See reviews for
33
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

We bought a static caravan 5 years ago and were told that there was a new, improved play park planned for the new end of the site. Surprise, surprise no play park yet, just lots of new caravans!! Hilltop seems to use this as one of their sales techniques when they see there are children in your family. Can you confirm when the play park is being scheduled into you

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlairsCaravans, Manager at Hilltop Holiday Park, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Customer,

Our plan has been to put in a new play park on hilltop, however the cost to do this would be somewhere between £200.000-£300.000. Initially when the play park was spoken about with you 5 years ago the economy was in a very different place and bank funding was more readily available. We therefore have had to wait until money is available for this project. Blair's next capital spend will be on a new play park at hilltop. This may happen this winter, ready for Summer 2014 or at the very worst next winter ready for Summer 2015.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights 6th May.. First time stay,loved it, van was wonderful looked brand new, clean, tidy all mod cons, staff were friendly and welcoming, can't fault it and would highly recommend the site, no complaints at all.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed with Hilltop Caravan Park we headed down for my daughters birthday and once again we where not disappointed. We got a new caravan and this time it was even better than the last one vowwwwwwww It is the only caravan park I have stayed in many years where the caravans are new, clean, and home from home. The staff are great very helpful and nothing too much trouble for them credit to them all and hope to be back down again very soon.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a relaxing few days or week Hilltop is the place to go for any age
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed in a static caravan it was well equipped with every thing you would need for a short break very clean and tidy. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Nice food in cafe. Would recommend to anyone with kids. Very impressed and will be booking another break in the summer.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed over the Easter weekend, we have 2 children 1 four and the other 4months! The caravan was lovely, clean and very modern. When we arrived the caravan next to us had a group of young fellas the music was already on. We were out most of that day so didn't really mind. My son who is disabled was woke during the night with shouting, music and banging. We complained in the morning and a member of staff spoke with them. Shortly after they approached the caravan and appologized. The next 2 nights were fine appart from them out smoking and drinking on the decking in which I wouldn't let my oldest out side. On the Monday night they partied the entire night punching the sides of the caravan and running about outside shouting. When we were checking out in the morning a member staff already knew that they had been very noisy and advised that they had been thrown off but it was too late for us as we were heading home!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlairsCaravans, Manager at Hilltop Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for your review of our site, we are so pleased to see that you enjoyed the hire vans, however we apologise if your stay was in any way dampened by your noisy neighbours. We are a family orientated site and it would be very rare that groups of young people would stay on our site. We have a no tolerance approach to noise after the allocated times and our night watch man does regular rounds of the site to ensure that any disturbance is reported and delt with. We deal with complaints very seriously as you can see from your experience,we had the young people mentioned apologise and they were subsequently asked to leave the site after another night of noise. We hope that you had a positive experience at Hilltop none the less and we very much hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at hilltop over easter week the caravan was excellent had everything you needed all bedding was exceptional and great heating the site was very clean and well run the play park was ok but could do with some new equipment I would recommend it for short or longer stays anytime of the year myself and my wife and are three girls loved it and will love to come back again in the future

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlairsCaravans, Manager at Hilltop Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us! It is in our future plans to design a new and improved play park to suit all ages that we hope kids on the site will really enjoy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilltop Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilltop Holiday Park

Address: 60 Loguestown Road, Portrush BT56 8PD, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Portrush
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Portrush
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the Hilltop of the coastal town Portrush, Hilltop Holiday Park offers a relaxing break away to the seaside in a family oriented site. It is a 2 minute drive and short walk into the town centre of Portrush and is literally minutes away from the nearest local beach. Hilltop offers Luxury Hire Vans, Camping Cabins, Geo Domes, Touring Pitches and Tent pitches to rent. There is a Coffee Shop on site which serves breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea,dinner and takeaway. There is a children's play park and a complimentary Summer Club for children which is full of fun activities and trips. Hilltop Holiday Park is the ultimate family get-away on the North Coast! Whether it's a relaxing weekend away in a Luxury Caravan or an action packed holiday in a Camping Cabin or Geo Dome, your trip will certainly not disappoint! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hilltop Holiday Park Hotel Portrush
Hilltop Holiday Park Portrush, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilltop Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.