We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of An Uladh

An Uladh
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added An Uladh to your Saves list
An Uladh
73 Eglinton Street, Portrush BT56 8DZ, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 27 Portrush B&B and Inns
belfast
1 review
“great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2009

stayed with friends for 3 nites , found the bed an breakfast fine great location as we travel by train , near the beech and very good for travel to tourish locations , we found the the room clean the with tv an tea and coffee, service was fine no problems check in or out the lady was pleasant and very helpfull with tips on where to eat and go
i find it hard to beleive some of the other review as our stay was pleasant and would saty again

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    10
    3
    0
    7
See reviews for
8
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2009

Stayed for a few days over the weekend and found it to be fairly reasonable for the price, wasn’t expecting a hotel but the room was clean, no spectacular view but I wasn’t going to spend my day looking out of a window. Room had a shower, firm bed, TV and kettle for tea. Breakfast was the standard cereal, fry-up with tea and toast. – did the job. No problems with the owner (as long as she got her keys back. All in all pretty decent.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2009

My comments mirror those of "tiredandgrumply" down to the ugly (smelly) brown shag carpet and tiny, tattered towels hung in the shower. I wish that I had only read these reviews before stumbling upon this place. To the comments previously shared, I feel compelled to add the following -- the beds are lumpy and matted, rooms are dingy and poorly insulated, and everything is permeated with an old, tired smell. I don't know how else to describe it. We tossed and turned all night on the lumpy mattresses that were fitted with the world's smallest sheets, forcing us to cuddle up in blankets that had not been washed in I don't know how long.

The "host" was a pretty mean-spirited lady, requesting full payment in advance -- this is VERY unusual in Ireland. Given that we were in N. Ireland, we thought that maybe they did things differently and didn't think too much about it.

Not being able to sleep, we slipped into the pub next door, which is frequented by some really unfriendly locals. After one beer we were out and back to the sad, little room. I spent the rest of the night peeking out the window at our rental car intermittently due to sketchy activity on the street. We left without breakfast, as we did not want to spend another minute in that place (and to be honest, we thought the nasty host might poison, or at a minimum spit in our food). If you plan to visit the Antrim Coast, I recommend not visiting Portrush at all and just skipping straight to a B&B outside of town or the hotel near the Giant's Causeway, which looked quite nice.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londonderry
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

Our stay was a total nightmare. I was given a broken key and got ignored when I told the lady about it. She then made me pay a fiver to fix the key which was already broken which I found ridiculous. The lady demanded another £5 off one of my mates to get in the door because she forgot her camera and then accused us for wetting the bed! (how childish). Verbal abuse was given constantly, shouting in our faces.

DOT NOT STAY HERE, THIS B&B SHOULD NOT BE OPEN AT ALL. APALLING SERVICE

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2009

I was recommended this B&B by the Coleraine Tourist Board who have it on their 'approved' list. I would say that this raises the question of how bad somewhere has to be to be on their 'unapproved' list.

The process of booking was fairly straightforward, but a lot of key aspects of the B&B were kept from me until we got there, and a room with no view (but that did include, at no cost, the aroma of the establishment's staff smoking underneath our window).

The carpets are old and tired, but it was the finish of the place that would suggest that it (like its neighbours) should be razed to the ground and replaced with something altogether more modern. Deep brown shag pile carpets led to our door. The towels in the room were ancient, worn and tatty, and bore only a passing resenblance to the whiter they probably were decades ago. The place hasn't had a lick of paint or patch of wallpaper in many, many years.

The breakfast the next morning nearly OK, but served on tiny plates. Orange juice was served in glasses the size of thimbles. The coffee (served in a pot) was cheap instant, and the tea was weak as water. Toast was nice.

The whole place felt like it was on its last legs and everything was geared towards cost cutting at every opportunity, perhaps milking it before the inevitable swinging ball of fate collapses this place once and for all.

All this for £80 for one night. Do yourself a favour and stay somewhere else - preferably outside Portrush which is a town which feels like it lost its self respect a long time ago.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to An Uladh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An Uladh

Address: 73 Eglinton Street, Portrush BT56 8DZ, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Portrush
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Portrush
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your An Uladh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
An Uladh Portrush, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage An Uladh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.