We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value family run hotel..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Port Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Port Hotel to your Saves list
The Port Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   53/57 Main St, Portrush BT56 8BN , Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Portrush
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good value family run hotel..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed here many, many times over the years with the family from when I was a child, I'm now almost 30. The hotel is in a great location, has a lovely bar area, regular entertainment and lovely pub grub food at a good price.

The owners have made a big effort in recent years to modernise the hotel which is a considerable improvement as it had began to look tired and dated. The rooms are big, clean and comfortable with flat screen TVs and a nice bathroom.

Due to it being a very old building there is no lift and the narrow, steep stairs may be an inconvenience to elderly people or those with very young children. Hotel are happy to put you on the lowest possible floor if a request is made when booking and there is availability.

Overall I enjoy staying at this small, homely family run hotel which offers good value for money. It will continue to be my family and I's first choice for accommodation when we visit Portrush.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    50
    24
    13
    20
See reviews for
41
63
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Have just enjoyed another excellent meal in The Port Hotel. Portrush has a few good eating places but for friendly service, comfortable atmosphere and good food, the Port Hotel is right up there with the best. Myself and my partner were shown to a table by the waiter and took our drinks order straight away which arrived almost instantly because of the fancy new computer ordering they have. After looking at the menu I opted for the prawn cocktail while my partner had the buffalo wings. Both were tasty and set us up for the main course. I had the lasagne with garlic fries while he had the sirloin steak with chips and pepper sauce. Both mains were delicious. My partner stated that his steak was "perfect"! After a little persuasion from our waiter ( well that's my excuse) we finished off with pavlova and chocolate fudge cake. So as well as an excellent meal, our waiter was very friendly and attentive. He made us feel like VIPs from we entered the dining room until we left. I will definitely be back to eat here. Thank you for a superb evening

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark J, Manager at The Port Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your review.
We are glad you enjoyed your visit to The Port Hotel and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Ate here Easter Monday and it was so good and the staff so friendly I went back with my family on tuesday. This hotel has an excellent location and a very homely atmosphere. Enjoyed the open fire and the olde world feel of the br area

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark J, Manager at The Port Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your review.
We are glad you enjoyed your visit to The Port Hotel and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

During an Easter Monday visit to Portrush we had a meal here.
Although the restaurant was very busy, and we had a short wait for a table, the service was quick and despite being extremely busy we didn't have to sit to long waiting on our meal. There were 6 in our party. The food was delicious and well presented. Only 2 had dessert, although the rest of us wish we had when we saw them come out.
The service was excellent and the price was very reasonable.
We are planning to go up and stay overnight at the hotel in June.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark J, Manager at The Port Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your review Andrew.
We look forward to welcoming you again at The Port
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownards, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Thank you for a brilliant weekend...........room , food and the craic. counting down the days for a return.............special place.Don't understand some negitive comment's on here...

Paul D.........or to Jackie(Harry)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark J, Manager at The Port Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Port and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Unfortunately from time to time trip advisor can be abused by some members of the public.
Occasionally people can try to hold a property at ransom to try and receive discount. It’s unfair but most properties have been victims of this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portrush, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We had a meal at the restaurant. From the outset it looked promising, clean and well kept. We were looking for a reasonably priced meal, but are all steak lovers so decided to order their port special, apparently a rump steak. Whilst I was still deciding on what to have we were asked 3 times by different staff if we were ready to order within about 30 seconds - talk about feeling rushed! When the food arrived, the guys had ordered medium rare, I on the other hand had ordered rare, so you can imagine my surprise when an entirely chargrilled steak turned up. I asked for a new one, which the staff were more than happy to change, and eventually (after the others had eaten half their meal) received a steak which did at least have some pink in it. The steak itself was like none I have ever seen - and definitely like no rump I have ever seen. Less than impressed. After all the rush at the beginning, we then had to wait an ridiculous amount of time to try to pay the bill. All in all, not an experience I will ever try again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark J, Manager at The Port Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
We have tried to contact the reviewer but have not got a reply.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed for one night on good friday,The hotel is very nice and staff very friendly, esp the lady behind the bar.The breakfast is very good, you will def not leave hungry thats for sure!we stayed in the family room at the top, room nice, and beds comfy.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark J, Manager at The Port Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your review Tanya, we hope to see you again during your next visit to Portush.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Port Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Port Hotel

Address: 53/57 Main St, Portrush BT56 8BN , Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Portrush
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Portrush
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Port Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Port Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Hotel Portrush
The Port Hotel Portrush, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Port Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.