We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Port Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Port Hotel to your Saves list
The Port Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   53/57 Main St, Portrush BT56 8BN , Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Portrush
Dublin
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Bad food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We didn't stay at this hotel but we dropped in for a quick afternoon snack and first impressions were very good. The lobby and bar area are clean and modern. The lady at the bar was really friendly and helpful. The food on the other hand was not good. We only had sandwiches which were very poor indeed. My toasted tuna/cheese was dry and the tuna tasted a little off. My husbands ham/cheese was also poor, awful was how he described it. We didn't complain which I suppose we should have. We were in Portrush for a short spring break but didn't go back to the Port hotel. It's a shame that the food was so bad as the hotel itself looked lovely and was in a great location,

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark J, Manager at The Port Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for leaving your review. We are annoyed that you did not find the meal to your satisfaction. As you rightfully note, it is better to say to the staff when you are not completely satisfied with a meal, as most establishments welcome the opportunity to ensure all their customers are completely happy.
We hope that you will visit us again the next time you are in Portrush.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    50
    24
    13
    20
See reviews for
41
63
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Comber, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed at the Port in February 2013. At that time of year not a lot is open in Portrush. But we just wanted a getaway for a night. The Hotel is in a good location in the middle of the main street. It is right beside a bar/nightclub, but we heard no noise from it. The first impressions were good. A friendly girl on reception got us booked in quickly. Our room was a the top of the hotel, (no lift) but the room itself was clean warm and well presented. The bathroom was a good size, (we had a family room due to the hotel being fully booked). Clean and no dust or dirt to be seen.
The 2 single beds pushed together must have been different ages, as mine was o.k. but my wife's was not comfy. We had an evening meal in the Cellar bar/resteraunt. It was very tasty, warm, and good portion sizes. One pity is that there is a limited selection of on tap beers. I choose Guinness as i dont like Tennents or Becks. A bottle of wine was a good price and a decent one too. The hotel itself is a bit dated but that is part of the charm and character of a family run hotel with excellent attentive staff more than making up for that. Add to that a buzing bar at night with Karaoke on and good food, all in all a great night's stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark J, Manager at The Port Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and I will pass on your comments to the staff. We look forward to welcoming you again at The Port.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed here for one night in January 2013. I booked it online and should have looked closer! Our room was old but I think that's part of the character of an older place. The bathroom was functional though nothing special. The bed was HORRIBLE. By far the worst night's sleep I've ever received and I've slept on the ground camping before. The bed was soooo uncomfortable, bumps all over, I actually tried to sleep on the pillows instead which didn't work either. The phone wasn't even plugged into the wall. We got up very early (since neither of us were sleeping) and had the breakfast which was delicious!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

At £20 each a night for 3 people in February, this was a bargain. The bedroom/bathroom was clean, comfortable and with great heating.

Not a lap of luxury but we were not expecting that for the price we paid.

The hall, corridors and stairs were very dated and could have done with a make-over but as long as the bedroom/bathroom was tastefully decorated and clean we didn't mind.

Great location and would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark J, Manager at The Port Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thanks for your review Gail.
We are continually renovating and up grading the hotel.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed here with my girlfriend over the weekend.
Booked in for the Friday and Saturday night. We were greeted by a pleasant lady on reception and she even offered to have our bags taken to the room for us. The hotel was very clean and warm. The rooms was quite large and had everything we needed. We enjoyed the food so much on the Friday night that we ate there again on the Saturday night. Also took part in their charity pub quiz on the Friday night. Apparently they run the pub quiz most Friday nights and they put on a free finger buffet, which just tops the evening off.
We usually like going out on a Saturday evening but if we were going back, which we would, we would stay on the Friday night for the entertainment.
All the staff were supper friendly and I think it could become our new "home from home".

Room Tip: The front can be a bit noisy on the Saturday night due to facing the main street in Portrush. When...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark J, Manager at The Port Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
We are delighted that your enjoyed your stay with us at The Port and look forward to welcoming you back again next time your in Portrush.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Have read the mixed reviews of this hotel but thought we would make up our own mind. And all I can say to those people who gave it bad reviews is "wise up". From the moment we arrived until we left we were made to feel like regulars. The staff are very friendly from the breakfast staff right through to the night porter. The breakfast is excellent with a good variety. We ate in the bar both evenings and the food was lovely. Now I'm not a karaoke fan but I have to admit I really enjoyed the craic at Crazy Davys karaoke. As for our room it was very comfortable with a flat screen tv and everything we needed. So if you like friendly staff, good service and a good nights sleep, ignore the whingers on here and go to the Port Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark J, Manager at The Port Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
We are delighted that your enjoyed your stay with us at The Port and look forward to welcoming you back again next time your in Portrush.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L'Argentierre La Bessée
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

While the staff have to be commended for their friendly professional attitude here and the room was clean and warm the hotel is like a throw back to the 1960's when it was last decorated. I would only recommend staying here if you are stuck. It's grim inside, clean but grim.

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark J, Manager at The Port Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for your feedback.
We work very hard on our customer service and try to create a friendly family atmosphere. We are continually working on modernising the hotel and have just renewed the entire reception area. The outside of the building was renewed last year and all of our bedrooms have received digital TV’s. A lot of the bedrooms have received further upgrades and we plan to continue this throughout the rest of the hotel.
Most of our returning guests commend the “work in progress”.
Hopefully on your next stay you to will notice a great difference in our hotel, and benefit from one of the great value accommodation deals we offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Port Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Port Hotel

Address: 53/57 Main St, Portrush BT56 8BN , Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Portrush
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Portrush
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Port Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Port Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Hotel Portrush
The Port Hotel Portrush, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Port Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.