We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food beautifully served” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 55 Degrees North

55 Degrees North
1 Causeway St., Portrush BT56 8AB , Northern Ireland
028 7082 2811
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 51 Restaurants in Portrush
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good food beautifully served”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

It was our second night in Port Rush and after Don Giovanni's I wasn't sure I wanted to go. Fortunately food was great. I ordered duck, as always and Ryan a burger. Both dishes were beautifully served and the view was fantastic.

Customer service was very good and we enjoyed our dinner very much.
I read that somebody complained he was seated with his back to the sea so he was disappointed. Wow we cannot all enjoy that view it is not a take away!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager M, Manager at 55 Degrees North, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience of 55 Degrees North on Trip Advisor. We would like to thank you for your kind comments regarding the restaurant's food and service.

As management we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the Duck dish and the burger, this will be passed onto our team of chefs. We were also happy to discover that you thought the customer service was very good and your positive comments will also be passed onto the servers at 55 Degrees North. Thank you also for the kind compliments of the beautiful view in the restaurant - we love the view also!

Once again thank you so much for letting us know about your enjoyable dining experience with us at 55 Degrees North. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Kind Regards
Management @ 55 Degrees North
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    358
    214
    113
    82
    94
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundonald, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Restaurant with a spectacular view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Had a late lunch with a few friends on a Saturday afternoon. Had heard a variety of opinions with respect to this place but decided to give it a try. Was not disappointed. Great value for money: pay for a main course and get starter and dessert free, Despite being busy the service was excellent and the variety of food was excellent. Thoroughly enjoyed our meals which arrived piping hot and with generous portions. Will definitely be back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager M, Manager at 55 Degrees North, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for your kind review of 55 Degrees North, we really appreciate your positive feedback!

We are so pleased that you enjoyed the Early Evening Special Menu, where you get your starter and dessert for free. We are also happy to hear that your service was excellent. Your comments will be passed onto the servers and kitchen staff at 55 Degrees North.

Thank you once again for taking the time to record your experience at 55 Degrees North and we look forward to seeing you and your friends in the near future!

Kind Regards
Management @ 55 Degrees North
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“What a shame”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

What a gorgeous restaurant view! Unfortunately that is all that is good about this establishment.
We had to wait 30 minutes for a very simple drinks order and reminded 3 members of staff that we were still waiting on drinks. Dinner arrived at almost the same time as drinks. Do NOT order the beef salad, unless you don't mind your food being nothing like the description. Cold carrot slices and raw red onion underneath a stack of lukewarm noodles with slabs of overcooked beef. So cold had to send back and staff were kind to send out a new meal. However, was only marginally warmer. Very expensive for food quality. Was out with a party of five and their meals were no better. Will definitely not return, very disappointing and overpriced experience.
This restaurant should be impeccable with such an amazing location, no wonder the Ramore has such a monopoly!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager M, Manager at 55 Degrees North, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review 55 Degrees North on Trip Advisor, we would like to thank you for your comments and assure you that they will be taken on board by the management team.

We would like to apologise for the slow drinks service that you received, our staff are trained to be attentive and efficient and therefore we are very sorry that this was your experience of 55 Degrees North. We can assure you that your comments and feedback will be used to direct further staff training.

Thank you for your opinions on the Asian Beef Salad, this information has been passed onto the executive chef and he will use your feedback appropriately to maintain the high standard of food which we continually strive to provide.

Thank you once again for your comments and our sincerest apologies that you did not enjoy your meal or service on this occasion. We would like to encourage you to try 55 Degrees North again in the future and not to be put off by this one visit.

Kind Regards
Management @ 55 Degrees North
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Went to have lunch today in the restaurant to be told they were not doing the 1 course lunch menu and had to go down to the cafe, ordered the Dijon chicken and was so disappointed, the sauce usually comes at the side but this time it didn't, the sauce was so salty and the chicken burnt, my potatoes were so crispy and onions only half cooked, was gutted as I love your restaurant and today was a bad experience

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager M, Manager at 55 Degrees North, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank for taking the time to record your experience of dining at 55 Degrees North here on Trip Advisor, we really appreciate you providing us with your feedback. We aim to use customer's feedback to improve all aspects of our service at 55 Degrees North.

Our apologies that you did not enjoy the Dijon Chicken. The information your provided will be passed onto the executive chef, who will use this to direct the kitchen staff's training.

We would like to encourage you to return to 55 Degrees North in the future, please do not let this one experience put you off the restaurant. It appears that you have enjoyed so many of your previous visits.

Apologies once again and we hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Management @ 55 Degrees North
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, NI
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“The best but most frustrating restaurant I know”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

This restaurant is in a brilliant setting, the food is good too however the one component that let's it down is the service. I have expressed this many times to the restaurant to no avail. I would love to see the restaurant get extra staff in as the staff they have are very good but over stretched. If the restaurant read this review then please address this issue and you could be one of the top restaurants on the north coast.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager M, Manager at 55 Degrees North, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, at 55 Degrees North we value our guest's feedback and try to use your comments to improve all aspects of the restaurant.

Firstly, we would like to thank you for your kind comments regarding our amazing view, the good food and the hard working staff. It's great to hear that your enjoy the meals we offer and also the setting in which we are situated.

I would also like to thank you for your comments regarding the over stretched servers. The restaurant is currently getting busier and busier coming into the peak summer season and therefore we are currently recruiting and training new staff members to help share the increasing workload. Hopefully this issue will therefore be resolved soon!

Thanks again for your comments and we look forward to seeing you soon at 55 Degrees North.

Kind Regards
Management @ 55 Degrees North
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 55 Degrees North also viewed

Portrush, County Antrim
Portrush, County Antrim
 
Portrush, County Antrim
Portrush, County Antrim
 

Been to 55 Degrees North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 55 Degrees North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.