We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views and good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 55 Degrees North

55 Degrees North
1 Causeway St., Portrush BT56 8AB , Northern Ireland
028 7082 2811
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 51 Restaurants in Portrush
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
ireland
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful views and good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

The restaurant is good value for money - we had Sunday Lunch which cost £10 each for three courses. The standard of food was good - thai fish cakes, a delicious fish pie and yummy hot sticky toffee pudding with ice-cream. The food is not very fancy or sophisticated, but servings are a good size, the quality is fine and the service was quick and efficient in a very busy lunchtime service. There are gluten free options as well as veggie ones, loads of fish as well as chicken and steak. The views no matter where you sit are gorgeous out across the beach and ocean, and its great for people watching too. Its a bit noisy - it must be the acoustics of the room, but it is bright, tall plate glass windows, snazzy decor and it feels lively. We are regular customers and the evening meals are just as good value.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    357
    214
    113
    82
    94
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“FIRST CLASS FOOD, VALUE AND SERVICE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

My husband and I had dinner with two family members last week. Although the family had been before it was our first visit and certainly won't be the last. Quality food, well cooked and really good value. We had a table by the window overlooking the East Strand and the views are magnificent.
Our choices from the extensive menu were too varied to detail here but everything was delicious. My husband ordered rhubarb crumble for dessert which was offered with cream or ice-cream. His favourite accompaniment however is custard and our waitress Cheryl said she'd enquire of the chef. A short time later his crumble was delivered WITH CUSTARD and it's always the sign of a good restaurant when they are able/willing to fulfil such a request, especially on such a busy evening.
It's always busy even in the early evening, but the staff work at speed, are friendly and never lose their cool. All of the staff were bright and friendly but Cheryl was amazing and worth her weight in gold; always smiling and nothiing was too much trouble for her. We had a wonderful evening and she was the icing on the cake!
It seems there's always a queue so I suggest reserving a table in advance if you don't want to wait for upwards of 35 minutes. Specifically request a window table for the magnificent views. There's a special deal in the early evening: a three-course meal for the cost of the main course - i.e. starter and dessert are FREE.
We're back home in Scotland now but can't wait for our next trip to Northern Ireland for delicious food with ocean views!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Fab food and great views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Delicious meal with stunning views over the Arcadia and beach. We had delicious starters (bruschetta, pate and soup) and then lovely mains. Our steaks were perfect and the desserts we didn't have room for! Will go again next time in the Port!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The view from this restaurant alone should be enough to get you in through the door! My partner and I decided one Sunday evening to go there for our tea, we arrived at opening time at 1700 hrs and saw a large queue already formed at the front door, always a good sign and something I haven't seen anywhere else for a long time.

By 1710 hrs they were turing people away as all the tables were full, again a good sign of the quality of service and food on offer.

The deal we went for was three courses and you only pay for the main course, if you order before 1845 hrs. The menu was varied and you would be hard pushed not to find something that you like.

The staff were all very helpful and professional and although very busy we didn't have to wait too long between courses.

If anyone is unsure what to get for dessert try the chocolate nemeses if it is on the menu, I have never tasted anything like it before, mouthwatering....

People say the Ramore Wine Bar is the place to go to in Portrush but I beg to differ, try 55 North you will not be dissapointed...one thing I would say is book a table.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Evening meal out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Lovely restaurant overlooking East Strand in Portrush. Great food and friendly staff. Not a place to eat if you want a quiet evening out, but stunning views and excellent food make up for the noise!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 55 Degrees North also viewed

Portrush, County Antrim
Portrush, County Antrim
 
Portrush, County Antrim
Portrush, County Antrim
 

Been to 55 Degrees North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 55 Degrees North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.